ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

My Review of P.D. Eastman's Children's Book 'Are You My Mother'

Updated on December 11, 2013

On my 4th birthday, my Mom, Gertie, gave me a hardback copy of P.D. Eastman's book 'Are You My Mother.' Although I have few memories of those early years (except a traumatic hospitalization when I was 2), I clearly remember the many nights I'd sit upon my Mom's lap while she read to me. I can still hear the inflection in her voice as she read the pages, using different voices for the different characters. I can still hear us talking about the poor little bird who'd lost her mother (but - ***spoiler alert***, not for long). I can still feel her touch on my head as I turned the pages, smell her light perfume that filled the air.

My Mom read 'Are You My Mother' to me so many times that I memorized the words and could recite them with her as she turned page after page. She though I was a genius - after all, I was 'reading' and hadn't even been enrolled in kindergarten yet.

Part of the beauty of childhood, to me at least, is to have these memories of the warmth and love of sitting on my Mom's lap and being read to. I believe that my Mom sparked my lifelong love of books and reading and knowledge with just that small investment of time during my youth. And, in my Mom's later years, there were many times when I repaid the favor and sat by her bedside and read to her. Those are also wonderful memories.

So, for Christmas this year, why not pick up a few good books for a young child? I like to pick up a selection of books at my local warehouse club and split them among my younger nieces and nephews. They're a bit large for stocking stuffers but they're always a very appreciated gift.

What adult can't recite the words 'Green Eggs and Ham, said Sam I am?' These were, and are, the books that have stood the test of time. They're as appropriate today as they were way back in my day (enough about that).

Photo Gallery

Click thumbnail to view full-size
5 year old little LoriI'm incredibly glad she was my motherMy parents in 1938.
5 year old little Lori
5 year old little Lori
I'm incredibly glad she was my mother
I'm incredibly glad she was my mother
My parents in 1938.
My parents in 1938.

Comments wanted and appreciated!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Ruthi 3 years ago

      Are You My Mother? was always one of my favorite Seuss books too. I can only hope and pray my son will read to me in my older years as much as I read to him in his younger years. Your mom was so lucky to have you for a daughter.

      Sharing this book review with Ruthi Reads Books for Kids on Facebook and @Ruth Reads on Twitter!

    • Amadeus00 profile image

      Amadeus00 3 years ago

      ...heart warming childhood and adult memories through books...

    • shadowfast7 profile image

      Sure Temp 3 years ago

      i remember this book

    • PamMorgan profile image

      Pamela 3 years ago from Bellevue, WA

      I still remember reading this book with my mom as well. It was always one of our traditions to read before bed. Funnily enough, I still fall asleep better if I get the chance to read first.

    • profile image

      TanoCalvenoa 3 years ago

      My daughter loved the "scary snort" (a large bulldozer type thing), and for awhile would point out anything large (like some cranes doing construction) and call them "scary snorts."

    • Linda Pogue profile image

      Linda Pogue 3 years ago from Missouri

      This was my sister's favorite book. If I 'read' it for too long, she was upset. I loved it, too. My kids also enjoyed it at nap and bed time.

    • eilval profile image

      Eileen 3 years ago from Western Cape , South Africa

      Fascinating lens and an awesome story - love Dr. Seuss Books !

    • RazzbarryBreeze profile image

      RazzbarryBreeze 3 years ago

      Hands down one of my favorite Dr. Seuss Books. Loved your lens and Happy New Year to you.

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      haven't tried them, might borrow from library

    • sierradawn lm profile image

      sierradawn lm 3 years ago

      Love Dr. Seuss books!!!

    • profile image

      debbs357 3 years ago

      Dr. Seuss books are great, I just wished I'd have kept all of ours, but with moving from house to house, you loose track of them. Enjoye

    • DLeighAlexander profile image

      DLeighAlexander 3 years ago

      Love the Dr. Seuss book collection. I still have some very old copies of these books. My favorites were Green Eggs & Ham and Go Dog Go, which even still reminds me of exotic hats!

    • profile image

      SteveKaye 3 years ago

      Beautiful, heart warming story. Thank you for publishing this review. I think many adults could also benefit from reading these books.

    • esmonaco profile image

      Eugene Samuel Monaco 4 years ago from Lakewood New York

      A very heart warming story, I loved every word and your pictures. Thanks

    • Susan Zutautas profile image

      Susan Zutautas 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      I love this book. I used to volunteer to help kids learn how to read and this book was one of their favorites.

    • writerkath profile image

      writerkath 4 years ago

      This is such a lovely review and story! My Dad read to me so much, and not only instilled a love of reading, but gave me memories that will last forever. I love your photos, too. Beautiful job.

    • Adventuretravels profile image

      Giovanna Sanguinetti 4 years ago from Perth UK

      I love your photographs. Your mom did you the biggest favor by reading to you every night. That's the ideal! As a teacher I always tell parents that the best way to support their children is by introducing them to good books, read to them every night until they are old enough to read to you. But it doesn't stop there, parents should help their teens to become readers by sourcing great books for them each week. Thanks for this lens. Congratulations on LoTD.

    • profile image

      GrammieOlivia 4 years ago

      We read to our children every night as well, they love books, all of them. My husband would read them backwards and drive the kids bonkers, because they knew that was NOT how the story went, but all of us would break down in laughter! Great memories!

    • RoadMonkey profile image

      RoadMonkey 4 years ago

      I used to read this book to my children from the library. It got taken out quite often, along with Petunia beware! Children just love this book. It was so nice to hear your memories of being read to. I hope my children and grandchildren have those memories too.

    • OhMe profile image

      Nancy Tate Hellams 4 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      Beautiful review! Enjoyed

    • profile image

      getmoreinfo 4 years ago

      I loved these books growing up, such great memories.

    • ComfortsOfHome profile image

      ComfortsOfHome 4 years ago

      My little niece loved this book when she was a toddler. I remember "playing" it with her, going for walks - she'd talk to trees and birds and everything, "Are _you_ my mother?" So cute.

    • profile image

      JustinLCroft 4 years ago

      I'm happy to say that my wife and I have been lucky enough to read Are You My Mother and other classics like Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny to our (brand new!) six week old son. What a joy! It makes me so happy to read to him.

    • maryseena profile image

      maryseena 4 years ago

      Thank God for mothers who find time for such simple things as reading to their children when there are a hundred other 'more important things' needing their attention.

    • profile image

      glowchick 4 years ago

      I love this book! I always made it very fun for my kids, such special memories :)

    • profile image

      DebW07 4 years ago

      I remember this book! Nice review.

    • Craftypicks profile image

      Lori Green 4 years ago from Las Vegas

      My Oldest memorized books so easily when it came time for her to read we had to ask her to read the books backward so we knew she was reading and not reciting.

    • Mommie-Moola profile image

      Mommie-Moola 4 years ago

      One of our family favorites!

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 4 years ago from Seattle, WA

      I remember reading this one a few times :)

    • Virginia Allain profile image

      Virginia Allain 4 years ago from Central Florida

      I don't know how Mom found the time to read to us since there were 6 kids in the family. Somehow, she did and I'm glad. Having a book like this and reading it to your child is so important.

    • Nancy Hardin profile image

      Nancy Carol Brown Hardin 4 years ago from Las Vegas, NV

      You are so right my friend. I learned to love reading because my Mom and Dad both read to me from the time I was little. What wonderful memories this kind of review evokes for me. I read to my kids too, and I so hope they have those fond memories too. Nice review, thanks for sharing.