ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

American-Historical-Fiction

Updated on June 27, 2013

One Of The Greatest Gifts Ever Offered to Me

I have always read books ever since I can remember. I can remember when I was first introduced to the Historical Novel. I was in high school and supposed to read "Catcher in the Rye" but my mother put her foot down because of the sexual innuendos in the book. So my teacher gave me another book to read and write a book review on while the rest of them continued to study "Catcher in the Rye". The book she gave me was "Rebecca" by Daphne du Maurier. It was such an interesting book that I couldn't put it down. From then on, I was hooked on American historical novels. When I wanted a good book to read, I would look for the woman running away from something on the front cover.

Photo appears courtesy of Creative Commons by wikipedia

If not, why not?

Romance Books
Romance Books

Do You Read Historical Novels?

See results
Anne Frank - http://moyer-girl.livejournal.com/tag/anne%20frank
Anne Frank - http://moyer-girl.livejournal.com/tag/anne%20frank

Reading A Great Hobby

Reading Builds Your Mind

When I told my mom years later what book the teacher had given me in place of "Catcher In The Rye", she informed me that she would have refused to let me read "Rebecca" also had she know. Thank goodness she didn't find out. I found a whole new world of reading because of this one book.

I didn't realize it at the time but by reading these books, I was also building up my vocabulary and the knowledge in my brain. While in my last years of college, I went and took clep tests to get rid of some of my credits so I wouldn't have to take the classes. I aced Biology and they wanted me to change my major to Biology. I told them no way. I did very well in fine and applied arts. Really a surprise to me because I didn't think I knew that much in this area. I did well in the other clep tests also.

Apparently, I had learned all of this information from all of the American historical novels that I had read. I not only had great reading, I was learning at the same time and didn't know it.

My sister-in-law told me one day that the words that she was studying in college were in these books. I told her "no way" and she showed it to me. I couldn't believe it. I looked in the book I was reading and sure enough there were high level words in it. I had never realized this.

Photo appears courtesy of Creative Commons by Joyce Moyer Hostetter

Fallen Grace - By Marie Hooper

Gone With The Wind Book Cover
Gone With The Wind Book Cover

This is a story of 2 orphans who came from respectable families in Victorian London and how they survive. Another Dickens type novel.

Photo appears courtesy of Creative Commons by The Fourth Musketeer

Recommended Historical Novels - These are the books shown in the modules above

Book Reviews - To let you have a little information on the books

American Historical Novels

Where else can you get enjoyment and learn at the same time?

Kindle Historical Novels - Why Don't You Read One Today

Dragonflight by Anne Mccaffrey
Dragonflight by Anne Mccaffrey

Have You Ever Listened To Audio Books?

I have and it is great

When I was driving the semi truck with my husband. There was a lot of boring time spent behind the wheel. To alleviate this boredom, we started buying books on tape to listen to while we drove down the road. You can't imagine how great that was. My 10 hour shift would go by quickly listening to Anne Mccaffrey audio books about her dragons and other subjects. My husband would get his type books and I would get mine and it helped us to pass the time while the other was in the sleeper.

Photo appears courtesy of Creative Commons by Dragons, Heros and Wizards Blog

What Is Your Opinion On Historical Novels? - I value your opinion

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @TapIn2U: Thank you, Sundae. Yes, I love reading books and it is getting harder. I have to read large print books now. LOL

    • TapIn2U profile image

      TapIn2U 

      7 years ago

      So much to learn from! Reading is a great hobby - that much I agree! I am a big fan of books of all sorts and I just can't get enough of reading! If only I could read 24/7, I would! Fantastic lens! Sundae ;-)

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @ChrissLJ: The only reason I added J.D. Robb was because of her other writing name of Nora Roberts. Since I knew they were one in the same, I included it. I will have to check into the ones you are talking about since I am not sure I have heard of them. I agree with you about Stephenie Meyer. I have changed that one out for something else. Will probably change out J.D. Robb also.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @pimbels lm: Most of the ones that we read were boring and complicated or at least to my mind. They hadn't captured my mind for reading their type of books until "Rebecca"

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @MelRootsNWrites: I think my reason for liking them so much is they take me away to another time and I can get lost in the character and their problems.

    • ChrissLJ profile image

      ChrissLJ 

      7 years ago

      Adding books by J.D. Robb and Stephenie Meyer to a historical fiction list might be stretching it a bit, but I do love the genre. One of my favorites is "The Secret History of the Pink Carnation" series by Lauren Willig. It takes place where Baroness Orczy's "Scarlet Pimpernel" left off. For medieval Scottish romance, can you get any better than Garwood's "Wedding" or "Bride?" For kids, Spinelli's "Milkweed" is a good read-alike to "Diary of a Young Girl."

    • pimbels lm profile image

      pimbels lm 

      7 years ago

      We didn't had to read them in school, but I always loved reading. Our school books were boring and complicated.

    • MelRootsNWrites profile image

      Melody Lassalle 

      7 years ago from California

      I love historical fiction too. I think it fits in with my interest with genealogy. I can get a feel for different time periods and how people might have acted and believed.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @happynutritionist: I know, I was the same way. Just like when we were told no...we wanted it all the more.

    • profile image

      happynutritionist 

      7 years ago

      I absolutely love historical novels, they are almost the only type I read or listen to. I too was not allowed to read catcher in the rye...which made me want to read it all the more...I didn't really like it when I finally got my hands on a copy. Amazing the things they make you read in school sometimes.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @NoYouAreNot: I agree with you totally. If I could have learned history through historical novels, I might have made a better grade. LOL

    • profile image

      GiftsBonanza 

      7 years ago

      I love reading too, but must admit I haven't read for a long time - which was when I was on holidays from work. Thanks for reminding me I need to start reading books again!

    • NoYouAreNot profile image

      NoYouAreNot 

      7 years ago

      I love historical novels. I also have read Rebecca and Anne Frank's Diaries. I am absolutely 100% positive that a well-researched and well-written historical novel will teach history much more effectively than most history courses. In fact, history is a fascinating subject, and yet somehow school manages to make it so boring!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @GiftsBonanza: So happy to remind you. I have to remind myself once in a while to push away from the computer and read a real book once in a while.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @dwnovacek: I hope to share more of my love of books in the future.

    • dwnovacek profile image

      dwnovacek 

      7 years ago

      We are kindred spirits my love! Reading has been my passion since I first learned how, and I adore historical fiction. Thanks for sharing!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @spritequeen lm: I know exactly what you mean. To get all I get done, I tend to rob from other things I need to do.

    • spritequeen lm profile image

      spritequeen lm 

      7 years ago

      I LOVE reading! (Just wish I had more time to do it!) Thanks for sharing - great page!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @jmsp206: Glad you liked them.

    • jmsp206 profile image

      Julia M S Pearce 

      7 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      Some great book choicessss here,some of my favorites.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      7 years ago

      @Brookelorren LM: Thank you. I try.

    • Brookelorren LM profile image

      Brookelorren LM 

      7 years ago

      I love books of all types, including historical novels. Great job here. :-)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)