ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

American-Historical-Fiction

Updated on June 27, 2013

One Of The Greatest Gifts Ever Offered to Me

I have always read books ever since I can remember. I can remember when I was first introduced to the Historical Novel. I was in high school and supposed to read "Catcher in the Rye" but my mother put her foot down because of the sexual innuendos in the book. So my teacher gave me another book to read and write a book review on while the rest of them continued to study "Catcher in the Rye". The book she gave me was "Rebecca" by Daphne du Maurier. It was such an interesting book that I couldn't put it down. From then on, I was hooked on American historical novels. When I wanted a good book to read, I would look for the woman running away from something on the front cover.

Photo appears courtesy of Creative Commons by wikipedia

If not, why not?

Romance Books
Romance Books

Do You Read Historical Novels?

See results
Anne Frank - http://moyer-girl.livejournal.com/tag/anne%20frank
Anne Frank - http://moyer-girl.livejournal.com/tag/anne%20frank

Reading A Great Hobby

Reading Builds Your Mind

When I told my mom years later what book the teacher had given me in place of "Catcher In The Rye", she informed me that she would have refused to let me read "Rebecca" also had she know. Thank goodness she didn't find out. I found a whole new world of reading because of this one book.

I didn't realize it at the time but by reading these books, I was also building up my vocabulary and the knowledge in my brain. While in my last years of college, I went and took clep tests to get rid of some of my credits so I wouldn't have to take the classes. I aced Biology and they wanted me to change my major to Biology. I told them no way. I did very well in fine and applied arts. Really a surprise to me because I didn't think I knew that much in this area. I did well in the other clep tests also.

Apparently, I had learned all of this information from all of the American historical novels that I had read. I not only had great reading, I was learning at the same time and didn't know it.

My sister-in-law told me one day that the words that she was studying in college were in these books. I told her "no way" and she showed it to me. I couldn't believe it. I looked in the book I was reading and sure enough there were high level words in it. I had never realized this.

Photo appears courtesy of Creative Commons by Joyce Moyer Hostetter

Fallen Grace - By Marie Hooper

Gone With The Wind Book Cover
Gone With The Wind Book Cover

This is a story of 2 orphans who came from respectable families in Victorian London and how they survive. Another Dickens type novel.

Photo appears courtesy of Creative Commons by The Fourth Musketeer

Recommended Historical Novels - These are the books shown in the modules above

Book Reviews - To let you have a little information on the books

American Historical Novels

Where else can you get enjoyment and learn at the same time?

Dragonflight by Anne Mccaffrey
Dragonflight by Anne Mccaffrey

Have You Ever Listened To Audio Books?

I have and it is great

When I was driving the semi truck with my husband. There was a lot of boring time spent behind the wheel. To alleviate this boredom, we started buying books on tape to listen to while we drove down the road. You can't imagine how great that was. My 10 hour shift would go by quickly listening to Anne Mccaffrey audio books about her dragons and other subjects. My husband would get his type books and I would get mine and it helped us to pass the time while the other was in the sleeper.

Photo appears courtesy of Creative Commons by Dragons, Heros and Wizards Blog

What Is Your Opinion On Historical Novels? - I value your opinion

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @TapIn2U: Thank you, Sundae. Yes, I love reading books and it is getting harder. I have to read large print books now. LOL

    • TapIn2U profile image

      TapIn2U 6 years ago

      So much to learn from! Reading is a great hobby - that much I agree! I am a big fan of books of all sorts and I just can't get enough of reading! If only I could read 24/7, I would! Fantastic lens! Sundae ;-)

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @ChrissLJ: The only reason I added J.D. Robb was because of her other writing name of Nora Roberts. Since I knew they were one in the same, I included it. I will have to check into the ones you are talking about since I am not sure I have heard of them. I agree with you about Stephenie Meyer. I have changed that one out for something else. Will probably change out J.D. Robb also.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @pimbels lm: Most of the ones that we read were boring and complicated or at least to my mind. They hadn't captured my mind for reading their type of books until "Rebecca"

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @MelRootsNWrites: I think my reason for liking them so much is they take me away to another time and I can get lost in the character and their problems.

    • ChrissLJ profile image

      ChrissLJ 6 years ago

      Adding books by J.D. Robb and Stephenie Meyer to a historical fiction list might be stretching it a bit, but I do love the genre. One of my favorites is "The Secret History of the Pink Carnation" series by Lauren Willig. It takes place where Baroness Orczy's "Scarlet Pimpernel" left off. For medieval Scottish romance, can you get any better than Garwood's "Wedding" or "Bride?" For kids, Spinelli's "Milkweed" is a good read-alike to "Diary of a Young Girl."

    • pimbels lm profile image

      pimbels lm 6 years ago

      We didn't had to read them in school, but I always loved reading. Our school books were boring and complicated.

    • MelRootsNWrites profile image

      Melody Lassalle 6 years ago from California

      I love historical fiction too. I think it fits in with my interest with genealogy. I can get a feel for different time periods and how people might have acted and believed.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @happynutritionist: I know, I was the same way. Just like when we were told no...we wanted it all the more.

    • profile image

      happynutritionist 6 years ago

      I absolutely love historical novels, they are almost the only type I read or listen to. I too was not allowed to read catcher in the rye...which made me want to read it all the more...I didn't really like it when I finally got my hands on a copy. Amazing the things they make you read in school sometimes.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @NoYouAreNot: I agree with you totally. If I could have learned history through historical novels, I might have made a better grade. LOL

    • profile image

      GiftsBonanza 6 years ago

      I love reading too, but must admit I haven't read for a long time - which was when I was on holidays from work. Thanks for reminding me I need to start reading books again!

    • NoYouAreNot profile image

      NoYouAreNot 6 years ago

      I love historical novels. I also have read Rebecca and Anne Frank's Diaries. I am absolutely 100% positive that a well-researched and well-written historical novel will teach history much more effectively than most history courses. In fact, history is a fascinating subject, and yet somehow school manages to make it so boring!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @GiftsBonanza: So happy to remind you. I have to remind myself once in a while to push away from the computer and read a real book once in a while.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @dwnovacek: I hope to share more of my love of books in the future.

    • dwnovacek profile image

      dwnovacek 6 years ago

      We are kindred spirits my love! Reading has been my passion since I first learned how, and I adore historical fiction. Thanks for sharing!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @spritequeen lm: I know exactly what you mean. To get all I get done, I tend to rob from other things I need to do.

    • spritequeen lm profile image

      spritequeen lm 6 years ago

      I LOVE reading! (Just wish I had more time to do it!) Thanks for sharing - great page!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @jmsp206: Glad you liked them.

    • jmsp206 profile image

      Julia M S Pearce 6 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      Some great book choicessss here,some of my favorites.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile image
      Author

      Grandma-Marilyn 6 years ago

      @Brookelorren LM: Thank you. I try.

    • Brookelorren LM profile image

      Brookelorren LM 6 years ago

      I love books of all types, including historical novels. Great job here. :-)