ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Book Depository Review

Updated on October 3, 2014
Source

My Opinion About Book Depository

I have decided to write a BookDepository review since I've been buying books from them for a while, and I'm quite happy with their service and pricing. First of all, I'll tell you a little about myself and how I've come to choose BD over the other stores.

I live in Lithuania, which is a small country in Eastern Europe. I am a huge fan of fantasy novels - I read them in Lithuanian, Russian and English (original language whenever possible). Acquiring fantasy & sci-fi works in English is a bit of a problem over here - not many bookstores sell them in the first place, and even then they only offer a small selection. Thankfully, there's the internet!

I had been getting my reads from Amazon before. They offer a huge selection and reasonable prices, but their shipping costs were huge. I'm sure they're smaller in the UK or US, but the delivery to Lithuania had cost me as much as the books themselves (Amazon charges both per-package and per-item, basically doubling the cost). Besides, the package used to take more than two weeks to reach me.

This is where I started looking for an alternative, and Book Depository caught my eye due to their advertised "free worldwide delivery". After buying and receiving my first order from them, I said goodbye to Amazon and their overpriced international shipping.

Book Depository vs Amazon

Here's why I prefer Book Depository over Amazon:

  • Free worldwide shipping: only pay for your book, no matter which country you live in. Forget overpriced delivery charges!
  • Competitive prices: Amazon and Book Depository usually offer similar prices. That means buying from BD is cheaper, since Amazon will also charge additional money for shipping. Only in very rare cases where Amazon book price + shipping costs are less than BookDepository book price, I'd order from Amazon.
  • Fast delivery: interestingly enough, Book Depository packages usually reach me in a few days, while Amazon parcels used to take 2 weeks - despite BD offering free shipping and Amazon charging unreasonable amounts for it! Go figure.
  • PayPal support: this is a big one. Amazon only lets me pay with my credit card, while BD allows me to use PayPal, which is much more convenient and secure.

Of course, this is just my personal opinion - maybe you like Amazon just fine. However, switching to BD allowed me to save a lot of money and time, and that's why it's my preferred online book shop now.

Admittedly, BD has no alternative to Amazon's Kindle, which is extremely convenient and completely bypasses shipping charges. That being said, a paperback is often cheaper than the Kindle version, for whatever reason.

Some of the Books I Bought at BD

My humble collection of fantasy paperbacks in English was mostly purchased at BD.
My humble collection of fantasy paperbacks in English was mostly purchased at BD.

Free Shipping at Book Depository

I think I should say a few more words about the free shipping Book Depository offers in my review - after all, it's one of the best things about this bookstore.

First of all, the "worldwide" part includes a respectable list of about 100 countries. So yes, there's still a small chance that BD won't be able to deliver books to your location (make sure to check the list of countries linked above before you start ordering).

Second, Book Depository will send every book you purchase in a separate package. That means if you order, say, 5 publications, you will receive 5 packages as well. They might not even arrive at the same time! I'm a bit puzzled as to why they do it this way, but I guess it's cheaper and is one of the things that allows them to offer books with free shipping.

Finally, they use Royal Mail inside the UK, and Royal Mail Priority Airmail for international shipments. Your hardcover or paperback will be contained in a regular bubble envelope. You can find more information regarding delivery times, etc. on BD's help page.

Review of Book Depository Payment Options

Shopping at Book Depository is rather convenient. You can select your preferred currency and the prices on the website will switch automatically. It will also be the currency BookDepository will charge you in, so you can avoid conversion costs by selecting the same currency as your credit card uses.

BookDepository accepts all major credit cards and PayPal (yay!) as payment options. You can find more information about that on BD's payment help page.

Rate this Bookstore on the Scale of 1 to 5

The Book Depository Poll

See results

July 2011: Amazon Buys Book Depository

Online retail giant Amazon acquired Gloucester-based Book Depository on July 4th, 2011. TBD was Amazon's largest rival in the UK - however, three quarters of its sales were generated by foreign customers (no doubt thanks to the free shipping offer). You can read more about this acquisition on Guardian.co.uk.

Thankfully, Amazon has not introduced shipping charges or made other unnecessary changes to this great online bookstore since then.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      feebiz 3 years ago

      After having used the Book Depository a number of times over the years my latest experience with them has convinced me to not use them in future. I ordered 2 travel guide books + 1 biography a month before going overseas, checking that they were all 'in stock'. The biography arrived in about 1 week and I received a notice that the travel guides had been dispatched. Weeks passed and a few days before I flew overseas I contacted them asking them to refund my money. They were not interested and told me to sort it out myself from my end. Over 2 weeks later and a week after my RETURN from my trip the travel guides arrived. When I contacted them again explaining the situation I again got a brief reply giving me an address for the return but ending with the statement "we are unable to reimburse customers for expenses incurred returning titles to us". Needless to say the cost of shipping this item to the UK from Australia defeats the purpose. My experiences have shown to me that customer service or reliability is not something that the Book Depository value.

    • profile image

      Colin323 3 years ago

      My own experience has been good, but you could also search for books via ABEbooks.com (also now a subsidiary of Amazon!), as you can offer find cheaper deals from smaller book sellers, who will use the mail services of their countries, which are usually reliable and quick, to send the books to you.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I am so happy for having BookDepository! Thanks to free international shipping, now I can buy so many books! Since December 2012, I ordered some 15 items from BookDepository and I am very happy with it. There were two mistakes but they were solved. Once they sent damaged and paperback instead of hardback book, they answered they actually didn't have hardback so they returned the money and said I can keep the paperback edition. Second time, I ordered paperback book but it came as AudioCD. Then I checked on their website and saw that the book in the meantime became unavailable in paperback so I didn't want to write to them anything, but I assume they would send me back the money. I didn't write to them because I didn't want to wait as I was curious to read the book so I tried the audioCD. I never listened to the book in audio and I thought let me see how it works. I found it not convenient for me as I couldn't highlight or find back some passage ... so next time I would insist on paperback. But, I am very satisfied and all these minor issues were solved, they responded quickly and offered solution not damaging the customer.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      At this point I am pretty sure The Book Depository is A DISHONEST COMPANY, as I never received my item, and I am not sure if you have sent them! One of the books has never arrived. I am a good payer, good client, I have bought several itens from you in the past and I paid immediately, no delays, so WHY CAN'T YOU DO THE SAME, and SEND MY BOOK NOW? You don't have any other excuses. I paid for the order BDA-324-16961244099 on April 4th!!! If you were honest you would send me the missing book or reimburse my money immediately!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      "The Book Depository is awful store .

      March 20th, morning , I ordered two books but while waiting for showing up order conformation site, something wrong happened ...... over 5 minutes I waited but finally my PC was frozen. Later I ordered again.

      I was afraid that I might order same books twice and asked customer support to make sure and cancel one order if there are double orders. Customer support just sent cancellation notification about order BDA-010-04761169689 and never mentioned another order BDA-809-93761266545 active.

      I checked my order history and knew there was BDA-010-04761169689 cancelled. Still now BDA-809-93761266545 has nat came up in my order history,

      Later I ordered same books at Amazon com (I live in California , USA).

      Next morning, on 21st, I got notification about order BDA-809-93761266545 and they said to me that ''Nineteenth fashion in detail' was dispatched (shipped ) and I could not cancel this ... I have to receive it and return it from SF USA to England. After they receive this , they will refund book fee on my credit card . Also they don't pay returning cost from SF, USA to England.

      Many times I asked why this happened, why my order history can not show up order BDA-809-93761266545, why I need to pay returning cost from USA to England even though I have no way to know order BDA-809-93761266545, Customer support just said that they can not assist this case any more.

      Also I read another review, same double order happened and he returned one book from Australia to England, it past 6 months, they continued to say ''they have not received it yet and they can not refund him". Finally he gave up collecting refund !!

      I am so afraid that same case will happen and I can not get refund about book at all.

      I am still thinking that book Depository must pay refund book and returning cost from USA to England.

      Customer support and this Book Depository was so awful !!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I have been using BD for about three years now, when I see a title I am interested in I always visit BD, Fishpond and Mighty Ape to compare pricing, BD constantly come out on top for being the cheapest, I have also had one order go missing, after emailing them I had virtually an instant response, an apology and my money refunded in full no questions and no hassles, I will gladly continue to support them.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Australia

      Same here. So many orders placed with them on the basis of a "Usually shipped within 48 hours" - I have waited 6 says for the current order and it is still not processed; a previous order took 10 days. Lousy customer service. Use Aamazon!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I will never use them again. I ordered some medical textbooks from them through amazon -- part a and part b. They sent half the order and never gave a straight response as to why I never recevied the second order. I spent over 600 dollars on board review books and they tried to say that the title was wrong and the 600 dollars was for only part a (even thought the order said part A and B). they said I could return part A for my money back. I spent 66 dollars in shipping to mail part A back. still hoping for my refund. customer service was shady to me and never gave a straight answer. I would not recommend using this site for anything of value.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Never never use them. Terrible terrible service. No delivery for over a month, customer service rude and helpful. still trying to get a refund, will go for my lawyer next...

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Terrible service, ordered a music book, they indicated that 10 were in stock.

      Was informed thatn the order would be delivered on10 January 2013, on the 7th Jan order was 'Pending Despatch'.

      Got an email on 8th Jan telling me that the book was out of stock.

      Avoid this seller.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Ordered a cookbook in good time for Christmas present. It was advertised as in stock with dispatch in 2-3 days. Their tracking soon showed it as 'Pending Dispatch', but over a week later nothing had changed.

      On contacting them I was told that their had been a problem with their supplier (on an in-stock item!) but this was being addressed and they hoped to dispatch in a couple of days. I was promised a call back which never materialised and the tracking status remained unchanged after 3 more days. I cancelled the order and am now relying on another company.

      They are still advertising the book as in-stock with 2-3 day dispatch on both their own web site and Amazon Marketplace.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Just to update.

      They answered me next day that they have difficulty obtaining the book from their supplier. As they couldn't say when they would eventually be able to send the book (I answered that I would wait a month or so), they refunded me for the book. Now I am waiting for 2 other books that I ordered previously and which were dispatched. Hopefully they will arrive. Must say after reading many negative reviews on other sites too (mostly about unresponsive help mail) I was afraid I won't get any answer, but I am glad I did!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: One of their customer service people reported the same to me, whereas NZ Post told me they'd had many enquires from Book Depository customers awaiting missing/late orders and this suggested a delayed shipment.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I've used Book Depository for a few years now and, until recently, have been extremely satisfied. Comparatively low prices, free and fast shipping (great as I live in New Zealand), and no hassle refund/replacement on one occasion when book arrived damaged. In the last couple months, however, 6 of the 10 books I've ordered have not materialized a month or so after placing the order. Still, in their favour, they quickly offered a full refund/replacement and an apology.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I ordered the book on 6 Dec 2012 and still it is in 'Processing' status, although it was written that it was in stock and usually dispatched within 48h. I sent email to help@bookdepository.co.uk yesterday and they didn't answer yet, although it passed more than 24h. I sent another email today, I am afraid I will get no answer :( Is there some other email or contact info that I can try to contact them ?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Scotland

      Terrible delivery time to NZ-Oz is usually about a week.

      Record to date is two months for a replacement book.

      Currently there are books on their way to my young grandson in the Hokianga seven weeks to date in transit and now pointless as they were for getting a good school report-six weeks is a long time for a 6 year old.Worst is that Book Depository blame NZ post for a backlog wheras they tell me there is no backlog!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I am so disappointed with the quality of customer service at Book Depository. This is my on-going saga with them: I had ordered a pre-order release of a book for USD6.74 which I paid for via Paypal. The book was scheduled to be released on 27 Nov 2012 so when 30 Nov rolled around with no news from them, I emailed help@bookdepository.co.uk to enquire on the status of the book. On 1st Dec, someone from Book Depository emailed back and informed me they had successfully cancelled and refunded me as I had requested!There was no such thing, as I merely enquired on the status!! Meanwhile I had received an automatic email notification that the book I had ordered had been released and was on its way to me.I quickly replied the customer service advisor, telling him/her NOT to cancel my order and refund me..I just want the book! But according to Book Dep, it was too late; the order had been cancelled and if I want the book I have to order it again!! But the new price for the released book is USD8.02 so I asked whether they could honour the original USD6.74 since the mistake was theirs. Also, where was the USD6.74 gonna be refunded to i.e. my Paypal account or to my credit card attached to the Paypal account? Iâm then told that their âservice providerâ is unable to refund me so they will send a cheque. BUT, a USD6.74 cheque will incur a loss for me after undergoing rate conversion and bank charges (I reside in Malaysia) so a cheque sent to me all the way from the UK (if it even arrives at all) is not feasible to me financially, so I request they just keep the USD6.74 and send me the book.And book depository cannot even do a simple thing like that! Why canât they just take the USD6.74 which is already in their hands, and send me the book?

      Also, I honestly cannot understand why they can't possibly do a refund via Paypal if they can accept payments with it...

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hey, I am quite surprised to read this as I have never had any problems with BD at all. I live in Latvia, have been using BD service for years. I did not receive the book once but after my email to BD they did send it for once more and the book reached me safe and sound. Dunno, my experience with pre-orders is flawless also. So, I am quite happy with BD.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      how can you even compare for a start you can get super saver free delivery on amazon, its cheaper, deliver faster and some people are saying the books from dp are second hand when they ordered new

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I ordered on Oct. 11th 2012 , I locate in Shenzhen China. I have not received my book till now and informed BD service staff by mail from planned arrival day Oct. 25th to now.

      I try to get the contact or status within China but BD failed. And yesterday, the service staff did not reply the status. I doubt BD 's delivery quality and distribution control capability for China customers. Hope my order can arrive me soonest.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I find it hard to believe some of the criticisms I have been reading here. I have been using the Book Depository since early in 2008 and a quick check of my history has just given me a total of more than 40 books and audio books that I have purchased, many of them per-orders. One very single one has arrived in good condition, in a very acceptable time frame and for a price that is just fantastic compared to the extortionate prices charged for books here in Australia. On the few occasions I have needed to deal with their customer service people I have found them to be efficient, prompt and friendly. I have happily recommended them to many friends and family and have never heard of them having any issues either. I was sorry to see the original company swallowed by Amazon because less competition is never a good a thing but so far there does not seem to have been too much difference in how the Book Depository operates. Their prices are slightly higher than Amazon but the free shipping more than offsets that cost. Ic old not be happier with the serve I have received from em.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      They are good when you order a book when it is in stock but when you pre_order it it never arrives. I pre_ordered Star Wars the Sith Hunters and they never confirmed it. They took my money out and left me with nothing. Never pre_order.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I order a book from Book Depository on 25AUG2012 and as of yet have not received it. I emailed them they told me they do not keep tracking or shipment numbers to let the customer know when they will be reveiving there merchandise. I rate them very poorly in custormer service. I had to go to my bank to do a claim. Somebody by the name of Muhamad email me and I have not heard from him since. I hope this is not a fraud company. I will never order from them again. As you know word of mouth can cost you customers so I will let all my friends know not to order from The Book Depository.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have already told them I will no longer be buying from either anthing to do with Amazon or Book Depository. They had a book at 1 only price plus delivery. I ordered 10, but they charged 10 times 1 plus delivery. A small A2 parcel cost over $120. That was ridiculous. Most companies overseas have a standard ordering system and then change it to suit the order......A RIPP OFF...ten items at $7 that then cost $25 to sell......just half a brain would have worked out to look after your customer.......I have already found elsewhere to go, and after years of buying from here....IT IS OVER. This is a "grab and go" mentality with the economy......let see who is still standing....I can't wait.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hi, I have a question I want to send a book to the UK from the Book Depository however I am using paypal to pay and my address is in the US. They won't let me add a new address for anywhere other than the US. If you know of a way to do this or what im doing wrong please let me know.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I ordered from TBD because they offered a cheaper price than Amazon along with free shipping. My book arrived twelve days later, which was what they had told me it would take. I'll probably buy from them again.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      The Book Depository is owned by Amazon Books for those of you who are unaware of this. My personal experience of the Book Depository is that it has the lousiest cutomer service I have received in a long time. It makes no apology for missing in the post orders, orders which never appear in its tracking system, and I am fed up with them!! The trouble with companies which seem to good to be true is just that! be careful, I am still waiting for my order weeks later.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      My order is still not dispatched. By reading this comments probably I'll look for another store and cancel my order with TBD

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      i live in Australia and use the BD every now and again. its pretty great. the items always arrive, usually in about 10 days after it has been dispatched. very fair prices and the free delivery is great.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      They are OK but they dispatch my child's books last and they take two and a half weeks to get to my house at least. They sent a book that was severely damaged and my child was very angry. Overall they are okay.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I was happy with the pricing and shipment myself for several orders, until I had to cancel one order. I sent them an e-mail to which they never replied. They sent my the order and charged my credit card, as if I had told them nothing.

    • Spiderlily321 profile image

      Spiderlily321 5 years ago

      I love buying books from the book depository.The books are priced reasonably, come quickly and I love that they offer free shipping.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      i frequently use BD when I stay abroad. I generally receive the book within a week or two. They once sent me a damaged book - I notified support and they instantly sent me a new one. No complaints. Prices are sometimes higher than Amazon, but the free delivery normally makes it worth it.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I ordered my book on the 20th of February and guess what? it still hasn't arrived

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have ordered more than 20 books from TBD, all arrived in 11- 30 days range. The fastest is the one I received about 2 weeks ago, arrived 11 days after being shipped.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Hey, im from indonesia also. Im still waiting my books to arrive. I've been waiting for 3 weeks and the books still hasn't arrive. Btw, ur friend really received the books right? Cause, im freaking out now. Thx a lot

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      book depository is AMAZING. why is it so cheap? they ship all the way to australia (where i live) for free, & all the books are 1/3 - 1/2 cheaper than they would be if i bought them in book stores or online (including amazon.com, which is v expensive).

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Re:Book purchased from The Book Depository Ltd via Amazon was £8 more expensive!?

      The above comment is inaccurate, the book puchased had a more expensive binding-Mea Culpa.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Book purchased from The Book Depository Ltd via Amazon was £8 more expensive!?

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have read so many bad things about The Book Depository that I had quite a prejudice against them when I finally had the courage to give it a try, as being a Mid-Eastern European (Hungarian), it seemed much less expensive than Amazon.

      So I'm here just to say that I'm 100% contented with their service, my books arrived much before I'd expected (ordered 2 books at 9 Feb, and they arrived yesterday and today (21 Feb) in separate, bubbly-inside envelopes, in perfect condition. It seems way easier to send books this way than sending them together in heavy packages. And I didn't have to pay almost the same amount of money for the delivery as the actual price of the book (because that is the case of Amazon and Europe - and they don't even ship some of the books to Hungary). So I'm gonna stick to The Book Depository from now on! Also, thanks for the review, which made me decide to try TBD. ;)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @Rocking2000

      "The great Bruno", I like that! My dear "friend", The information about the type of book should be in the description of the book - RIGHT HERE : Halo: Primordium: Book Two of the Forerunner Saga (Halo) (Hardback) --- IF IT'S a HARDBACK IT SHOULD SAY HARDBACK, JUST LIKE IN THE BOOK DESCRIPTION THAT I BUT THERE. AND IF ITS A PAPERBACK OR A MASS MARKET, THIS INFORMATION SHOULD BE IN THE SAME PLACE AS (HARDBACK), BUT THEY DON'T DO THAT, WHEN ITS A MASS MARKET THEY JUST LABEL IT (PAPERBACK) INSTEAD OF MASS MARKET. Telling me that I need to go see this information in another place beside the THE BOOK DESCRIPTION IS JUST STUPID!For example, in Amazon this information IS NOT HIDDEN IN THE FULL BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATA OR IN ANY OTHER PLACE! this is from Amazon: The Lies of Locke Lamora [Mass Market Paperback] DON'T YOU SEE THIS INFORMATION ON THE BOOK DESCRIPTION!!!!!!!???? THEY SHOULD DO THE SAME!!, BUT THEY RATHER HAVE COMPLAINTS, THEN CHANGE THE WAY THEY DO BUSINESS, AND MISLEADING

      CUSTMERS!! ITS JUST THAT EASY TO PUT THAT INFORMATION ON THE BOOK DESCRIPTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      THEY ALWAYS REPLY TO MY EMAILS, AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD REFUND ME IF I SEND THEM THE BOOKS BACK, BUT THIS IF FINANCIAL IMPOSSIBLE, BECAUSE OF THE POST OFFICE CHARGES IN MY COUNTRY ARE VERY HIGH, JUST LIKE IN OTHER COUNTRYS!!! DO YOU GET THIS Rocking2000???????!!!!!!!!!! AND ONE MORE THING -- âthe great Brunoâ???????REALLY???, YOU ARE JUST AN EDIOT (Rocking2000)!!!

      PS: they really need to change the way they pack book too, because some of my books got here with the edges torn and ripped, and also in two books was missing ink in the covers!

      THEY HAVE GREAT PRICES, BUT THEY NEED TO CHANGE ALL THIS TINGS THAT I SAID!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      TBD is a great site and they are not trying to rip anyone off unlike some other sites, interesting to see the great Bruno blasting the book depo but probably never took two second to Wiki or look up mass market paper backs, I have ITS STILL THE FULL BOOK! and where else would detail info be than "full bibliographic Data"!? Anyway never had too much problems with them and considering they offer cheap books and free delivery is anyone expecting miracles? Anyone who has still not got their refund should maybe contact them, they were more than accommodating for me in the past and also mention any repetition in answers it will be sorted! They also offer an apology in some cases with my friends they have had 10% off the next order. You would miss it if it wasn't there.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      When I first saw their site with neat prices and Free Shipping I was so exited. However, I did some research and found out that they don't have so much of a good feedback. I sent an enquiry a minute ago. I might place an order (16 Euros)

      I hope I won't get a wrong book (format), or even worse - empty handed.

      I hope that Greek guy/gal got 120-and something Euros back.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Here I am Again, I already got all the books, but its to expensive to send them back to the book depository, so I got F*******ed.I can't get my money back, and I can't get the normal size books.

      Tanks Book Depository!! :-((((((

      HIDDING THE INFORMATION OF THE BOOK SIZE IS NOT THE WAY TO TREAT CUSTMERS!!!

      WARNING: IF YOU WANT TO BUY FROM THE BOOK DEPOSITORY, ALWAYS CHECK THE FULL BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATA, TO SEE THE SIZE OF THE BOOK. OR YOU WILL GET F***** LIKE ME!!!!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @ Chris Thorn - You are right, I had the same problem! after contact them, one of their employees told me that they have different book formats and I had to see it in this place:

      --See: Full bibliographic data -- inside that is this:

      Physical propertiesFormat: Hardback

      Number of pages: 528

      Width: 160 mm

      Height: 229 mm

      Thickness: 46 mm

      Weight: 680 g

      They should have this information on the description of the book, like this:

      Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices (Cloth)) (Hardback) --If is a MASS MARKET POCKET OR A POCKET BOOK, this information should be right THERE!! NOT HIDDEN IN THE Full bibliographic data!

      this book that I put there as the right size ITS A NORMAL BOOK.

      ALLMOST ALL THE BOOKS THAT THEY HAVE FROM 3 EUROS UP TO 10 ARE MASS MARKET POCKET BOOK = SMALL BOOK SIZE!!!! THAT'S WHY THE PRICES ARE SO LOW!!!

      ONE OF MY BOOKS FROM THE FIRST ORDER IS STILL "MIA" THEY WHERE SHIPPED IN THE SAME DAY, SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S THE PROBLEM IT THIS ONE!

      WAITING FOR ALL THE BOOKS TO SHIP THEM BACK!! AND BUY THE NORMAL SIZE BOOKS.

      SEE THE EMAIL THAT I SEND TO THEM AND THE REPLY:

      Tanks mr James I really hope that you can put forward the idea to put standardised sizes of the books in the description, and I hope that they accept!!!

      Your store never had this problem before??

      I will waint for the rest of the books and the return them to your store to be refunded and be able to buy the book in the normal size.

      Is it normal for books that were shipped in the same day to arrive in different dates?

      do you know the size for normal books(the standart edition)? I don't want to make the same mistake twice!

      tanks for all your help.

      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Date: Wed, 18 Jan 2012 21:43:50 +0000

      From: contactus@bookdepository.co.uk

      To: sesimbraathome@hotmail.com

      Subject: Re: Contact us form post: I have received the wrong book

      Dear Bruno,

      Unfortunately different website have different formats of how they put up their information, Amazon for an example you will need to check the biography in order to see what language the title is in. I will put forward the idea to see if we can put standardised sizes of the books in the description, however as I said below this is difficult as different titles come in different sizes, weight and formats.

      On further inspection I can confirm this is not a "Pocket" sized title it is what is called Mass Market Paper Back. Please note that no content has been omitted (left out) from the title, however Mass market paperbacks tend to have cheaper paper, no (or very few) illustrations, smaller print, and a smaller page dimension.

      Unfortunately we are unable to offer exchanges, however you are welcome to return the title to us at:

      Returns Department

      The Book Depository Ltd.

      Goodridge Business Park,

      Quedgeley,

      Gloucester

      GL2 5EB

      Please include the packing slip as this provides all the information needed to process your refund and also a brief note explaining the reasons for your return. I am afraid that we are unable to reimburse customers for expenses incurred returning titles to us.

      I hope the above information helps you.

      Kind Regards,

      James Hoddy

      Customer Advisor

      On 18/01/2012 20:15, Night Night wrote:

      the ISBN is: 978-0-451-21084-5

      I went to see what you where you talking about, when you said "bibliographic data", and I never iven seen that because i tought all the books where in the normal size, like we have here in Portugal, when its a different book size they say it just next to the book! Like -- paperback, pocket paperback or hardback! and I never saw that in the books that I order!

      I never expected that to be "hidden" in the bibliographic data, I think it should be in the title like this: The Gunslinger (Dark Tower (Paperback)) (Paperback) IF the book is a pocket book would be simple to do this: The Gunslinger (Dark Tower (Paperback)) (POCKET Paperback), so that would be missleading?

      You have in the site the says: Filter your search: price range ---Availability-----Format --- in the FORMAT there's nothing saying POCKET BOOK!

      what is the normal book size??

      Now I saw that all the books are in the same size, so now what can I do?? throw them away? because I can't read half the book, this pocket books have the story is cut in half or more.

      tank you.

      I HOPE THIS WILL HELP OTHER PEOPLE, IF YOU WANT TO BUY FROM THEM ALWAYS CHECK THE : Full bibliographic data! TO SEE THE SIZE OF THE BOOK! OR YOU WILL GET F****

      WILL COME BACK AND TELL WHAT'S GOING ON WITH MY ORDER.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Terrible terrible service. My books came... I ordered two Raymond Feist hardbacks. What I got was two books 11cm tall. 11cm! They were books for gnomes, obviously. Sending them back. Book Depository is sh*t as sh*t can be in my opinion.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I hope tbd will give you the right book. :(

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Like I said here I am! but with BAD news!!!!, two of the 6 books that i order arrived today, one of them was the complete wrong book, its a POCKET SIZE BOOK, and I never ordered a pocket size book!!! When someone orders a book they expect to be in the normal size, NOT A LITTLE BOOK WITH A REDUCED STORY! Pocket size books are for people that donât want to read!!!!! and STEPHEN KING DOES NOT WRITE POCKET SIZE BOOKS, as we all know, the books are always very big!

      Now im thinking that the reason that the prices are low is because they are not the real versions of the books, but a SMALL POCKET VERSION! that no one in their right mind wants to read it!!!

      People go there to by real books, and they sell them SMALL PIECES OF CRAP! Shouldnât they say that is a POCKET SIZE BOOK, SO PEOPLE CAN CHOOSE THE RIGHT BOOK FOR THEM??????!!!!!

      IM REALLY DESAPPOINTED WITH THIS STORE!!!

      NOW I HAVE CONTECTED THEM, and ask what they are going to do about this! Are they going to help and give me the right books or should I throw this pieces of crap in to the garbage and buy the real books from a real store!

      I have 76 books in my wishlist, can any of you imagine if I hand buy a lot more books, like I wanted??!!! I just thought that I should wait to see if the books would come in the right condition and then by more.

      NOW I DONâT THINK THAT I AM GOING TO BUY ANYMORE BOOKS FROM THEM.

      Waiting to see if they will do anything about this!

      f****** this store!

      Im so disappointedâ¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦..!!!

      Will come back to say something about this, and to see what they do!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I'm from Indonesia, and shipping is killing for me. So i'm glad to found tbd. I bought 2 book yesterday and waiting. I ask my friends who already try bought from tbd. She said it took 5 week to arrive in Indonesia safely. I don't mind if the shipping took a long time. As long as is arrive anyway :D

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I've order from the Book Depository 6 books on January 07 2012, a couple of days later I didn't see any changes in the order, so I contact them and ask why was the order still (Processing) and not shipped. They contact me in the same day, and told me that one of the books as unavailable and ask me if I wanted to be refunded for this book, and they did refund me to my Paypal account. See their email:

      Date: Tue, 10 Jan 2012 16:04:09 +0000

      From: orderquery@bookdepository.co.uk

      To: sesimbraathome@hotmail.com

      Subject: Re: Contact us form post: I have not received my order

      Dear Bruno,

      I am terribly sorry for the delay in dispatching your items; we have had some difficulty in obtaining stock from our supplier in the usual time period. We hope to have this shipped to you as soon as possible.

      If you do not wish to continue with your order, please advise and we may be able to cancel this providing it still hasnât been dispatched.

      I'm afraid that 'The Stand' is currently unavailable, we are able to cancel and refund you for this, if you wish?

      Kind Regards,

      Annabel Mander

      Customer Advisor

      On 10/01/2012 12:36, help@bookdepository.com wrote:

      www.bookdepository.com | Find a book

      Free shipping worldwide

      Your account

      Online help

      Contact us

      Terms and conditions

      Coming soon | Bestsellers | Reviews | Offers

      Contact from a website

      Order number:

      bruno ferreira has contacted us regarding I have not received my order with the following message:

      I know that for europe is 7 to 10 days, but i don't see any changes in my Order No. BDA-005-0099821941, it says processing, did you get the money that I send by paypal? In other sites I see things like dispatched, and I don't see it yet in your site, so I don't know what's going on! help!

      tanks.

      AS YOU CAN SEE BY THE EMAIL, I DINT HAVE ANY PROBLEM YET.

      FOR ALL PEOPLE, DON'T WAIT A LONG TIME TO CONTACT THEM IF YOUR BOOK DIDN'T ARRIVE YET, GO TO THEIR SITE AND SEE IF THEY CHANGE YOUR ORDER FROM PROCESSING TO SHIPPED, IF NOT CONTACT THEM AND ASK WHY! DON'T WAIT MORE THAN 2 DAYS AFTER YOUR PAYMENT.

      Now im waiting for my books to arrive (shipped on 11 january) they say that for europe is 7 to 10 working days, and I live in Portugal, so I hope to get my books on the 24 th (10 working days). when they arrive I will come back and comment on the condition of the books and the time it took to arrive.

      See you soon, I hope! :-)

      See you soon.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I've ordered a calendar from Book Depository on December 07, 2011. And I'm still waiting for it to come...first it was out of stock (they didn't bother to inform me on that), now I should contact my local sorting office to see if they're holding it (I bet they are)...Even if it was a book, that would be unacceptable, but who needs a calendar (and btw a gift) in February? BD provides such a lousy service, I will never ever order anything from them again!

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I've ordered lots of books from the Book Depository since I came across them online back in 2009.I loved their free shipping and their books usually come in around 2 weeks to my location (Australia). The one time something was really really late,I contacted them and received an offer of a replacement.When the item finally showed up there was a sticker on it saying it was opened by customs (so it wasn't the BD's fault).

      I really happy with their pricing,its a lot lower than the price of books at my local book store (about half or sometimes a third of the price).It's even cheaper for pre orders (compare Amazon pre order price and BD pre order price).In my experience,pre orders usually arrive within a week of their release date and sometimes earlier since BD receives them in advance from the publishers.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I have my fair share with this company as well..I really like their free shipping worldwide service, which save my money on shipping a lot but unfortunately some of the books that I bought came in quite poor condition, as as new as they described..In a nutshell, it is 50-50 gamble when you purchase books from them..you may have to wait quite a while for your books to arrive, or it may be lost during transit or if you do get it, the quality may varies..

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I am quite surprised to see so many negative comments mentioning late shipping/lost deliveries/different books delivered.

      Over the course of last two years I have ordered total of 44 books from Book Depository, and each and every one has been delivered within week (Czech Republic), without any damage. Yes, their review system is pretty void space, so I am checking the reviews on Amazon, though.

      Given the shipping cost of Amazon, I do prefer BD anytime when I can choose.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I have twice ordered books that came from the Book Depository. Both times were disasters. The first time, the book took well over a month to arrive; the second time, the book I received bore no resemblance to the one I ordered. I will never order from this organization again.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Book Depository is a pure fraud organization. I ordered "Nikon D5100 for Dummies" (order no BDG-812-4828117310) and waited for nearly one month. They have a few automated replies like "should have reached by this time", "please inquire in the post office", "please wait for two more weeks" and keep on cycling the same. I have four replies mentioning "I confirm that the book was dispatched on 19th Sep". Today, after wasting a full month of waiting, I get an intimation of refund apologizing that the book could not be sent because it was out of stock. The worst fraudulent organization I ever came across in my hundreds of on line shopping experience. It is run by a bunch of pure liars who have no respect for customers time and money.

    • carny profile image
      Author

      carny 6 years ago

      @anonymous: From what people are saying, it seems that delivery in Europe is much more reliable than to US or other regions (no surprise, seeing how BD is based in the UK). The main problem is that they send their books via regular, unregistered mail, so if they get lost, there's nothing you can do as there are no tracking numbers assigned to the orders.

      I've bought a total of 28 books from them. 26 arrived without problems. 1 didn't arrive, but I didn't contact BD since I thought the crappy postal service of my country were at fault (they probably were, lots of packages disappear here when it's really busy during Christmas). And in the final case, a piece of cardboard arrived with an apology from Royal Mail about damaged item (lol?) so I contacted BookDepository, and they sent me a replacement (which I got without problems).

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I live in Russia, but originaly I'm from Australia. Although I've lived in Russia (Moscow) for about 6 years now and can speak and read perfectly in russian (I'm half russian), I still prefer to read my books in english. I don't know, I guess I just enjoy it more.

      Not long ago my dad told me about book depository! I was very excited, since getting english books in Russia is real tricky and you don't get much choice. But then when I was looking at the countries they deliver to it seemed Russia wasn't on the list. They deliver to Ukraine, but not Russia..

      Whenever I'm overseas I always order books from BD, but its always so frustrating to take them all back to Russia in a suitcase.

      Does anybody know the reason Russia isn't somewhere BD delivers to?

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Just bought 5 books from BookDepository, are they really that bad? Cause I spent hundred dollars and will definitely freaked out if the books didn't arrived.

    • profile image

      dhollist 6 years ago

      @anonymous: Rhonda, if it's only been 15 days you haven't seen the worst of it yet. My order took 6 weeks and an e-mail to the Managing Director of TheBookDepository. I wish you luck, but regret recommending this company to friends after my first order, which went like clockwork. Something has changed, and not for the better.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I ordered a book from Book Depository almost a month ago. At the same time I also order other items from Amazon.com. Every item that I order from Amazon.com showed up at my shipping address in as little as a week, but I am still waiting on the book that I ordered from Book Depository. The standard shipping says 14 business days M-F, but the day it said it was shipped was a Saturday. The shipped date was also questionable, 09 June 11. This to me is June 11, 2009. I ordered this book June 6, 2011.

      I am not impressed with this company.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      In the past, I've had good service. Today I placed an order for an ebook because the web site it was in pdf format. The download was a small acsm file, which requires Adobe's Digital Editions. This means I can't read the book on an Android device. I thought it best to point this out as there are no refunds after the ebook (or acsm file) is downloaded. The person on the chat service didn't want to acknowledge that the site is misleading. Just thought it was worth pointing out.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I ordered a book. They sent the wrong book. I have contacted them 3 separate times about it. On the third attempt, I gave them all the appropriate ISBN information and their reply still said "please tell me the ISBN of the book so we can sort out this problem" - the exact same response I got the first two times.

      Poorest customer service I have EVER experienced, and I shop online a lot.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      @anonymous: These people are a rip off. I ordered a book 11 days ago and have yet to tech my book. I am going to write the BBB. Asap.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      @anonymous: I cancelled an order with @bookdepository 5 months ago, and I still haven't received my refund. Ridiculous. Never shopping with them again.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      @anonymous: Did you check in case you didn't register the address correctly? Seems fair enough that the company shouldn't have to cover for your mistake in my opinion.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      The Book Depository are fantastic! Free postage (which is usually pretty quick), and customer service have always been very helpful and accomodating when a book doesn't arrive.

      I'm a happy chappy and use them whenever possible!

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I found out about The Book Depository around 2 years ago and I bought so many books from them and I'm super happy with the prices, the service and the fact that the books arrive very fast.

      I live in Israel and shipping from other online book stores is just too expensive so the fact they offer free shipping and great book prices is great for me- if I pre order a book most of the time the price is even lower than on Amazon!

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I also ordered some books from BookDepository for the first time on October 2010.

      At early November, and while my books never arrived, they said that a full refund of 137.5 euros will appear in my account shortly.

      Shortly became FOREVER, so at January 10 of 2011 after I managed to find aphone number of them at last(!!!),some representative called Lu reassured me that they would send a cheque shortly (AGAIN!).

      Then on February 17 after I wrote them that if I don't get my cheque until the 25th, everyone on the web would hear my story, they replied that they would immediately contact their accounting department in order to send the cheque ....guess again....SHORTLY!

      I really hope they will clear my issue eventually and save me from 137.5 euros of expenditure, which -believe me- in Greece especially is a large amount of money!

    • profile image

      dhollist 6 years ago

      My partner and I ordered 2 books from The Book Depository the first week of December and did not receive them in time for the start of his next academic semester in the second week of January. Responses from BD customer service were excruciatingly slow, and they couldn't provide any information except a link to a Royal Mail website that explains that shipping could take longer during the holidays. After 5 weeks of waiting, we finally demanded a refund and paid the full price for the books at the University bookstore.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Didn't receive the book after two months. They can't provide a tracking # or even the method of shipment. Turns out they sent it without my street address and fail to see how that is a problem. Also fail to see how that is their fault. They refuse to re-send the book or to give a refund. Horrible customer service. I've seen other comments/reviews with the exact same scenario. They are obviously choosing to rip off a percentage of their customers to appear they are offering good prices to everyone else.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      It should be 'negative' not positive reviews for my last post. BD people try to 'neutralize' negative reviews by pretending to be a happy customer, or just to push down negative reviews.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Hi, I just want to comment that BD delivery sucks. It's slow and books tend to come damaged since they only used bubble wrap.

      It's definitely cheap, but customer service and book quality left much to be desired. And one thing: I noticed that some people are employed by BD to post glowing reviews about the company.

      If you Googled reviews about BD (like I did) and found a positive blog post, you can be sure to find someone defending BD eventough it is just a small blog.

      Coincidence? Or just simple dedicated BD staff doing a good job. Your guess!

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      If you live in the U.S. they are a horrible option. I ordered on December 8. The book was finally shipped on December 13 and it is December 24 and it still has not arrived. Stick with Amazon, for the extra pennies the book would have cost, I would have had it at least 10 days ago.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I tried the Book Depository this year. Their advertising was fraudulent. The book I ordered was said to be in the US in both Delaware and California and shipping was by UPS. When I got to checkout, all of a sudden the shipping was US mail. It was December 6, so I figured,ok, I'll have it by Xmas if it is being mailed from Delaware. Here I am on December 22, and not a sign of it. Come to find out it was shipped from the UK! So it is probably sitting at Heathrow along with all the people who can't get out. I had emailed them and asked where it was being shipped from and they were evasive until I persisted, and finally told me. If they had been honest from the beginning, I could have ordered from an outlet in the US, and had the present for Xmas. I will never buy from them again. Honest book outlets tell you up from where it is being shipped from, especially at Xmas. I cannot believe they are an Amazon bookseller!

    • FlynntheCat1 profile image

      FlynntheCat1 6 years ago

      I think they're fine - the only points I'd add are that there isn't much in the way of a review on the site, so you'd still want to either know what you're after or doublecheck on Amazon (basically, make sure you have the right ISBN and look for that!) and that Amazon does let you pay via Paypal - you just have to have a registered credit card, and then pick Paypal at the end.

      But yes, Amazon shipping. Uuuurgh.

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      @anonymous: This stinks of a cover up! As if the same Matthew as below posted this! Sounds like Book Depository are trying to cover their tracks...

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      I like shopping with the Book depository and would recommend them to family and friends.

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      I love Book Depository, it's very reliable and so cheap! It's even cheaper than buying the books here in Australia. I've only had minor issues with them, e.g. sometimes the books will come a couple of days later than expected, the cover of one hardback I ordered was slightly creased from delivery and one book had a different (but better!) cover than the one I ordered.

      However, I've bought 14 books from them so far and I really appreciate their straightforward site, friendly service and their products (BOOKS!). :) It's a big thumbs up for me.

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      The issue with "The Book Depository" has been resolved.

      I encourage folks to shop them, and the moderator may remove my remarks below.

      Thanks,

      Matthew

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      @anonymous: Paypal will 'associate' with anyone who will open up an account. Your experience with Paypal must be limited if you think they only side with the seller if the customer is wrong. Once Paypal knew that it was an electronic download, they will not go any further. They did not want me to send them the information/links regarding what I had learned. Paypal may be more helpful if you order a 'physical' item, but if its a digital item, your out of luck. Think about it a second... who does Paypal get their money from? They make their money from the seller, not the customer. I was told by Paypal that the the case was 'closed' they would be monitoring the company for fraud.... which i take as meaning they won't be doing anything.

      On a positive note, the author of the e-book (who has never received a penny from this company for the digital sales of her books) sent me a usable .pdf copy of the book. I'm now just concerned that she be paid for her hard work writing her books and not be taken advantage of by a company selling her books and not paying her.

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      @anonymous: Matthew, how was the e-book illegal? PayPal only associate with legitimate companies, and in my experience, will only side with the seller if the customer is clearly in the wrong? There has to be pretty damning evidence for them not to give the customer the benefit of the doubt in all of the cases I've seen. Sure you didn't just goof up?

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      I purchased an e-book from them. I talked later with the author and publishing company and discovered that "The Book Depository" sold me an illegal, pirated copy of the authors work. I filed a dispute with Paypal, but they only seem interested in getting their cut of the money. I offered to send proof, but neither company was interested. Find a legal and legit company to give your money too!

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      I had a similar issue to Neville. Purchased several copies of an Enid Blyton children's book set for my daughters and received something quite different from those advertised. Main character's names had changed and the text had been sanitised for 'modern' children (apparently). Completely different to what was advertised, and both frustrating & disappointing since I'd been hunting the original text versions down particularly. Book Depository did not want to know and don't seem too concerned about updating their descriptions either. So never again for me too - the savings I could make will never add up to the money I spent on six books I was sent that were quite different to what Book Depository advertised. And if you can't trust their book descriptions, how on earth can you know if what you are paying for is what you are going to get?

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      Ordered an ebook version of WordPress for Dummies 3rd ed but Book Depository site switched it to the 2nd ed ordering page without any obvious indication that I was ordering the second edition. They would supply the 3rd ed, or refund nor even credit the payment to the 3rd once the 2nd ed was downloaded. Very poor service and a gross misrepresentation on their part. Will never use them again - so they have lost any future value from me - all for the sake of them sticking to their guns for 10 quid.

    • indigoj profile image

      Indigo Janson 7 years ago from UK

      Great to see this glowing review of The Book Depository. I used to use them a lot and never had cause for complaint, and would definitely use them again. This lens is going to be helpful for those yet to try them.