ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review - Fire Pool by David E Owen

Updated on March 15, 2017

Fire Pool

If you are interested in how a published author starts out in imagining the book, check further down this article for the "Imagining A Book" section. This section covers Book 1 of The Prophecy Stones, a trilogy which then became a quartet, by David E Owen. The Prophecy Stones control the ancient Elements: Fire, Water, Earth and Air in the world of Mundo a large landmass split in two by a giant range of mountains a thousand miles long. There is something special about this ancient mountain range for it calls people to the world of Mundo - people called "Arrivers" and in this world they have magical powers.There is already unrest, for the original inhabitants - the "Belongers" - have no such magical powers and resent the Arrivers' powers.

As the book opens, the ancient protectors of the Prophecy Stones are losing their powers and the evil and wicked Lord Mool is on the move, along with the one who betrayed the Protectors and who wants to gather the powers of ALL the Prophecy Stones into one set of greedy hands.

Only one person - Nesta - ten years old and a powerful, though untrained wielder of magic, stands between the Prophecy Stones and those who would pervert their powers. She is joined by a failed soldier and two creatures, the beautiful Wireni and the powerful Huffer. On the opposing side is the betrayer, turncoat soldiers and the evil skyke and umbra.

Books 2, 3 and 4 in this series are also now available and David E Owen has since written another novel, Evolvere, a thriller that involves a new virus from a Martian meteorite!

Your Reading Preferences?

What do you like reading?

See results

The City of Rant

The City of Rant
The City of Rant | Source

What is Fantasy?

Carl Jung, the Swiss Psychologist had some things to say on Fantasy, "All the works of man have their origin in creative fantasy. What right have we then to depreciate imagination." and
"Without this playing with fantasy no creative work has ever yet come to birth. The debt we owe to the play of the imagination is incalculable.", quotes obtained from

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/c/carljung157289.html#YGRDVQLlUMVpvAxj.99

Fantasy is one form of fiction writing that often uses events and abilities outside our known ones in this world, including magic and different laws of physics. Some famous fiction writers include Tolkien (Lord of the Rings) Terry Pratchett (the DiscWorld series - also totally hilarious) JK Rowling (Harry Potter) C S Lewis (Narnia series) Lewis Carroll (Alice in Wonderland) Lloyd Alexander (Chronicles of Prydain) and Terry Brooks (Shannara series).

All of these writers include some kind of supernatural phenomenon in their works, such as talking animals, magical abilities, dragons, fairies, wizards, witches, elves and while all of these authors may write at different levels, their books can be enjoyed by anyone of any age because the stories they write contain truths that apply to this world and life as much as to their fantasy universes.


Imagining A Book

If you are interested in writing your own fantasy novel or even if you are just interested in finding out how an author thinks up their story, you may be interested in how this author, David E Owen first imagined THIS Novel.

He was a teacher and he used imagination with his students to help them with their writing. He describes the process on his web page for the novel as, "It all started through asking my classes to close their eyes and imagine scenes as I described them aloud. These included the students and their school chairs rising up through the classrooms above ( I was based in a block with many floors ...). As they rose, still seated, I asked them to notice the look of shock on other students' faces, feel the wind in their clothes and hair as they ascended out of the block, and visualise the landscape ahead of them,....

From such beginnings, we moved on to visit other planets where few humans lived but strange creatures lurked, and so, ... the world of Mundo was born." You can read the rest of this information and more on his web site at http://prophecystones.co.uk/


The Prophecy Stones

The Prophecy Stones was imagined as a trilogy and then became a quadrilogy or a quartet. Book 1 is available either as a Kindle book or as a paperback published by Austin & Macauley. Books 2, 3 and 4 are available in a Kindle edition. All are fast-paced page-turners and are suitable for anyone from teens upward. As an adult, I enjoyed this book and I would class it in the same area as that of Philip Pullman's works (His Dark Materials) and even Eoin Colfer's Artemis Fowl books. If you have read and enjoyed either of those, you will enjoy this series too, although the Artemis Fowl books would be classed more as funny, whereas the Prophecy Stones are more of a serious read, like Philip Pullman's work.

Are you convinced?

You have quite a bit of information about Fire Pool, Book 1 of the Prophecy Stones, a Fantasy series.

Has this description helped you make a decision on whether or not you want to read Fire Pool?

See results

Fire Pool - Three books available

You can read Fire Pool for yourself, either as a paperback or in the Kindle edition. The three books are "FirePool", "Light Seeker" and "Dark Betrayer".

Prophecy Stones: Part One - Fire Pool
Prophecy Stones: Part One - Fire Pool

The first book in the series - introduces Nesta and her helpers. Thrust into something she doesn't understand, Nesta has to learn to use her great power to save herself and her world.

 

The new novel - Evolvere Thriller

Have you read Fire Pool?

Have you read the Fire Pool book? It's a good read. What else might you want to read about it to know whether or not you would like to buy it?

Your thoughts on Fire Pool

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Yes, I read this book on my Kindle and enjoyed it very much. I have also read Light seeker, so am waiting for book 3 to be published.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 years ago

      @anonymous: Yes, me too. I have looked at the web site and it appears that it is nearly ready!

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      No telling the truth have not read it but I like the story description so it will stick in my memory. I don´t have a Kindle yet. Liked reading this very much though. Have a great week ahead.xxx

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 years ago

      @anonymous: Thank you for visiting. I hear book 3 is due out soon, so waiting for that!

    • Nightcat profile image

      Nightcat 3 years ago

      This sounds wonderful and reminds me a little of the Skulduggery Pleasant series. Alas, I do not own a Kindle, but this is very tempting. Great lens!

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 years ago

      @Nightcat: Thank you. My Kindle is one of my favourite "toys". I love reading but as I am currently studying, I can add PDFs to the Kindle and work while on the train, as the Kindle is so easy to carry and read. Thanks for visiting.

    • profile image

      TanoCalvenoa 3 years ago

      I like the name "Lord Mool." Good bad guy name.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 years ago

      @TanoCalvenoa: Yes, it's a great name, isn't it? I don't know how some people just pick the "right" name for their characters, it must be a knack they have. Thanks for visiting.

    • profile image

      seahorse60 3 years ago

      I haven't read the book but you've told me just enough to whet my appetite. I'll go check it out thanks!

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 years ago

      @seahorse60: Thanks very much for visiting. I just heard recently that the 3rdbook has now been published. I must add it to the lens.

    • smine27 profile image

      Shinichi Mine 3 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      I am intrigued.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 years ago

      @smine27: I certainly hope so! There is sale pricing on the complete trilogy until Boxing Day (I think) but only on the complete trilogy (not the individual books), according to the author's last post. Thank you for visiting and posting.

    • TreasuresBrenda profile image

      Treasures By Brenda 3 years ago from Canada

      I'm not sure that Fire Pool is my kind of story but I know a few other people who might be interested.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 years ago

      @TreasuresBrenda: Thanks for reading. The author had an offer on a few days ago, not sure if it is still available.

    • profile image

      SteveKaye 3 years ago

      This is the first time that I'm hearing about this book. It's fascinating that so many great quests against monstrous evil are taken on by small people who find a way to triumph.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 years ago

      @SteveKaye: Thanks for visiting and commenting. He has a new book being published soon - Evolvere.

    • Craftymarie profile image

      Marie 2 years ago

      This is exactly the kind of book I do like to read - it's going on my growing reading pile!

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      @Craftymarie: Thank you for reading and commenting. I hear he has another book due out next week.

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 2 years ago from Seattle, WA

      I haven't read it (and was unaware of the author) but am adding to my reading list. Thanks!

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      He has now written a fourth book too but that one is a thriller.

    • smine27 profile image

      Shinichi Mine 2 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      You just reminded me I have to pick this one up.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      Thanks very much. Hope you enjoy it.

    • Randall Guinn profile image

      Randall Guinn 2 years ago from Pinellas Park, Florida

      As soon as I finish reading the couple I have, I will get the first book. It sounds interesting. I have always enjoyed reading about things that do not happen in everyday life.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      It is certainly interesting. I enjoy science fantasy.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 2 years ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      A great review here and sounds a wonderful idea to read these books. I will have to go to those links thank you.

    • anglnwu profile image

      anglnwu 2 years ago

      I've not heard of this book but that's probably because I'm not a fantasy book person. Good review.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      Thank you for reading the hub.

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 2 years ago from England

      Hi, I love Carl Jungs quote, and yes he was so right! this sounds fascinating, I hadn't heard of this book before, but its my kind of reading, so thanks, I will definitely look out for it, nell

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      Thank you, glad you enjoyed the review

    • kalinin1158 profile image

      Lana ZK 2 years ago from California

      Interesting! I do prefer to read factual books though, just because reality is so much stranger than fiction, in my experience :)

    • peachpurple profile image

      peachy 2 years ago from Home Sweet Home

      I love wind in the willows, prefer kids story books

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      Yes, Wind in the Willows is classic. I prefer young adult books quite often, myself. I like science fantasy or magic, like Harry Potter

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 2 years ago from The Beautiful South

      My son talked me into reading fantasy books and I really love them; or many anyway. I don't like them to get too out there to make me lose track, lol. Watership Down was the first I ever read.

    • Au fait profile image

      C E Clark 2 years ago from North Texas

      The Harry Potter books are my favorites of all. I used to enjoy reading Catherine Cookson, but while I was avid reader of fiction a few years ago, it has gotten to where I can't concentrate on it. I must have non-fiction. How to, history, or current events, something along those lines.

      Very interesting to learn about these books just the same. I wish you well with your Ph.D. Voting this review up and useful.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      Thank you very much

    • suzettenaples profile image

      Suzette Walker 2 years ago from Taos, NM

      I haven't heard of this author or his books until reading this. They sound interesting and I will be looking into these books to read. Thanks for sharing your review of them with us.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      Thank you for reading and commenting.

    • Mel Carriere profile image

      Mel Carriere 2 years ago from San Diego California

      Sounds like an interesting read. I have read Tolkien, CS Lewis, and new Game of Thrones series, so I guess you could say I like fantasy, although I just like good books, period, regardless of genre. Great hub!

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      Thank you very much. I haven't seen a new book from this author recently, just waiting for his next!

    • ladyguitarpicker profile image

      stella vadakin 2 years ago from 3460NW 50 St Bell, Fl32619

      A interesting and enjoyable hub. Have a great day.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      Thank you very much

    • mary615 profile image

      Mary Hyatt 2 years ago from Florida

      Thanks for the review. I'm undecided as to whether or not I would enjoy this book. I go more for non-fiction, do-it-yourself", and self-help books.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 2 years ago

      We all have our favourite types of books. I just love fantasy, magic and science fiction. But I also like non-fiction and self help books too.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 2 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      Thank you for the introduction to these books. The series sounds very interesting!

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 23 months ago

      Thank you for reading. I have heard that there is going to be a follow up to the FirePool trilogy. What does that make it? A quadrology?

    • Larry Rankin profile image

      Larry Rankin 21 months ago from Oklahoma

      Sounds like a compelling tale of fantasy. I'll have to give it a read.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 19 months ago

      Thank you for reading and commenting.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 17 months ago from Olympia, WA

      Thank you for the review. I'm always looking for good thrillers.

    • ladyguitarpicker profile image

      stella vadakin 17 months ago from 3460NW 50 St Bell, Fl32619

      Sounds like something that my grandson would read. He loves books on fantasy. Thanks for the article.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 16 months ago

      Thank you for reading.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 16 months ago

      These books are definitely in teh fantasy area and I enjoyed them.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 5 weeks ago from Olympia, WA

      I'm going to the library today in search of this book. It's time I delved into the fantasy genre once again, and I remembered this review. Thank you again!

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 5 weeks ago

      Thank you very much. I recently found some old fantasy stuff that I wrote many years ago and the stories have now started running through my head again. Maybe I should find time to publish some of it on Hubpages!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 8 days ago from Olympia, WA

      Just checking in to see if you had written something new and I had somehow missed it. Still, it was good to read this review again. Heading to the library soon; maybe I'll find this book there.

    • RoadMonkey profile image
      Author

      RoadMonkey 3 days ago

      Thanks very much Bill. I really ought to post a few more articles here. I am hoping this author will produce another new book later this year. I think there is one partially written but I don't know when it will be published.

    Click to Rate This Article