ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: Rebooting my Brain - How a Freak Aneurysm Reframed my Life

Updated on May 8, 2017
DeborahDian profile image

Deborah Dian, a published author and voracious reader, often shares books with her friends and family. She loves to write reviews!

The Human Brain is Still Mysterious to Us

There are many mysteries surrounding brain aneurysms ... what causes them and what causes them to rupture.  When it does happen, the results can be devastating.
There are many mysteries surrounding brain aneurysms ... what causes them and what causes them to rupture. When it does happen, the results can be devastating. | Source

Our Daughter's Aneurysm Changed Our Lives

My husband and I are the parents of four energetic, active adult daughters in their 30's and 40's. Together they have presented us with six wonderful grandchildren ranging in age from infants to late teens. While we worried from time to time about different problems our daughters might encounter in life, one issue that never crossed our minds is that one of them could be struck down by an aneurysm.

Recently, my husband and I were relaxing at home on a peaceful, Sunday afternoon in Southern California when we received a call from one of our teenage granddaughters, telling us that her mother had collapsed with a brain aneurysm in the Northern California town where they live and she was in the community hospital, waiting to be transported by helicopter to another hospital where they could perform surgery on her brain.

We grabbed some clothes, locked the door of our house, and began driving to Northern California, not knowing initially what city we needed to head towards.

The good news is that our daughter survived her surgery. In many ways she seems fine. However, we do not yet know what gaps she may have in her memory and what other issues she may have to overcome in the coming months. Right now we are just relieved that she survived.

Because of the aneurysm our daughter experienced, it was with great interest that I read this book by Maria Ross, who also nearly died from a brain aneurysm. The damage to Maria's brain appears to have been much more serious than the damage suffered by our daughter, as far as we can tell. However, this fact makes it even more inspiring that Maria has recovered so much of her former ability.

Her book, "Rebooting My Brain: How a Freak Aneurysm Reframed My Life," has helped me understand what we still may have ahead of us in the coming months with our own daughter. Maria's story is very encouraging and inspiring and filled me with hope. I highly recommend this book for anyone who many be going through a similar situation in their own family.

It has been rated an average of 4.5 stars out of a possible 5 stars by 125 people who have reviewed this outstanding book. I would also rank the book 5 stars, because I found it so encouraging and helpful when I read the book.

Our daughter survived her aneurysm. Not everyone is that lucky, but it was encouraging to read a book which helped us better understand what our daughter was experiencing.

An Amazing Book About One Woman's Experience After an Aneurysm

Rebooting My Brain: How a Freak Aneurysm Reframed My Life
Rebooting My Brain: How a Freak Aneurysm Reframed My Life

An aneurysm can strike anyone, at any time, without warning. This survivor's experience is inspiring and thought-provoking.

When one of our daughters was struck by a brain aneurysm, it helped us tremendously to read this book so we could better understand what our daughter was experiencing.

 

You May Want to See These Related Videos about Brain Aneurysms - It Can Happen to Anyone

Learn more about brain aneurysms and the types of therapy that may be necessary afterwards. The videos below were made by the author of the book and helped us understand our daughter's experience.

If something like this happens to someone you love, you will want to get as much information as possible, as quickly as possible.

Another Video by Maria Ross

Hear more in this video interview with Maria Ross, the author of "Rebooting My Brain."

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      3 years ago from Orange County, California

      For those who have been following this article about the aneurysm our daughter experienced, I thought you would all like to know that our daughter's second brain surgery was successful. Although she still has some headaches, they seem to be fading away. Otherwise, she is doing quite well.

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      4 years ago from Orange County, California

      Our daughter will now be having her second aneurysm surgery in a couple of weeks. The surgeons had originally planned to wait at least six more months but, without explanation, changed their minds and said they needed to do it right away. That has been a scary development. We are praying that she gets through this surgery as well as she did through the first one.

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      4 years ago from Orange County, California

      I'm so glad that your mother was able to recover after going through that terrifying experience. Our daughter did not lose her memory. However, she has another aneurysm that will have to be coiled in another six or nine months. They want the artery to recover from the first surgery before they treat the second one. I hope the second surgery goes as well as the first one did.

    • Linda Pogue profile image

      Linda Pogue 

      4 years ago from Missouri

      I'm not sure. It has something to do with the part of the brain that was affected by the aneurysm. Mom recently told me that for the first few weeks, after she came home from the hospital, she did not know anyone in the house. Since she was not able to talk at that time, we didn't know it, either. So when she was scared or acted scared, we didn't know what to do for her.

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      4 years ago from Orange County, California

      Thank you for sharing your experience with brain aneurysms. Now that you mention it, our daughter does seem more serious and subdued. The same is true for a friend of mine who had a brain aneurysm a couple of years ago. I wonder why that is.

    • Linda Pogue profile image

      Linda Pogue 

      4 years ago from Missouri

      My mother had a brain aneurysm in 1971. After she relearned to walk and talk, we learned that she did indeed have gaps in her memory. Her personality changed, too. She is much more down to earth and more serious than before. I am glad your daughter's surgery went so well. I hope she has a full recovery without lasting aftereffects.

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      4 years ago from Orange County, California

      @Heidi Vincent: Thank your for your good wishes for our daughter. Yes, her surgery went well and she is back on her feet again, only five weeks after getting out of the hospital. We are so relieved. I think a lot of prayers saw her through this tough time.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image

      Heidi Vincent 

      4 years ago from GRENADA

      I am glad your daughter's surgery went well and I wish her a speedy recovery.

    • Wednesday-Elf profile image

      Wednesday-Elf 

      4 years ago from Savannah, Georgia

      Sounds like a very interesting and helpful book. I hope your daughter has a full recovery.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)