ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: Your Life Calling - Reimagining the Rest of Your Life

Updated on November 8, 2015
DeborahDian profile image

Deborah is the author of of Baby-Boomer-Retirement. com and often writes about retirement and topics of interest to Baby Boomers.

Would You Find Meaning in Helping Others or Is There Something Else You Want to Do?

Is there a business you want to start?  Would you like to help others who are less fortunate?  How about joining the Peace Corp or Teach for America?  Jane Pauley's book will inspire you.
Is there a business you want to start? Would you like to help others who are less fortunate? How about joining the Peace Corp or Teach for America? Jane Pauley's book will inspire you. | Source

What Are Your Plans for the Rest of Your Life?

In 2014, the last of the Baby Boomers will turn 50 years old. Baby Boomers are also reaching the traditional retirement age of 65 at the rate of 10,000 a day! Many of these Baby Boomers are feeling healthier and more energetic than earlier generations did when the reached their 50's and 60's. The vast majority of the members of this generation are still enthusiastic and optimistic about the years they have left, and they want to live them to the fullest.

As broadcast journalist Jane Pauley says in her new book, "Your Life Calling: Reimagining the Rest of Your Life," (for sale below) people no longer look at retirement as an exit, but as a door with a hinge.

"Your Life Calling" is an inspiring book that reminds us that it is not too late for us to change the world for the better. Her message is obviously striking a chord, as the book quickly rose to the "New York Times Bestsellers List" after its release.

This is not your typical self-help book full of instructions on how to start a second career or new business. Instead, Ms. Pauley shares a series of stories about real individuals who have made tremendous personal changes in the second half of their lives. Some of them may not have changed the world, but they were able to launch second careers that were successful and satisfying. One person started a foundation; another took a drilling rig to Africa to help people there. Other examples include the story of Gid Pool who decided to become a stand-up comic, Richard Rittmaster, who discovered that it was not too late for him to join the National Guard Chaplain Corps, and Paulie Gee, who decided to open a popular pizzeria in Brooklyn.

Many of the people in her book are individuals who found a meaningful calling late in life ... and went for it. In an interview with Encore.org, a site dedicated to helping people find meaningful second careers, Jane Pauley states that she is "so fortunate to be part of a paradigm-shifting moment."

Read her book and be inspired. Who knows what opportunities are still ahead for you? Don't let retirement be the end of your working life but a door into a more exciting and satisfying future!

Jane Pauley Has Written a Thoughtful Book

Your Life Calling: Reimagining the Rest of Your Life
Your Life Calling: Reimagining the Rest of Your Life

While most people realize they need to do some financial planning for the future, many of them have no idea how they will spend their time, once they stop working. This is your opportunity to do something new and exciting with the rest of your life!

 

More Help in Your Reimagining Your Life

Nearly everyone can find something interesting to do during the final decades of their life, as long as they are in generally good health.

Not sure what would be the best Encore Career choice for you? Here is another to help you make up your mind. It contains so many different choices and opportunities, it is quite possible that there will be ideas in here that you never considered.

In addition, you will learn how to get into their encore careers and really enjoy the final decades of your life.

The Encore Career Handbook: How to Make a Living and a Difference in the Second Half of Life
The Encore Career Handbook: How to Make a Living and a Difference in the Second Half of Life

There are so many more opportunities out there than you have probably ever realized. You can support yourself and make a real difference in the world around you.

 

Listen to Jane Pauley as she explains even more about the focus of her book.

What do you want to do when you reach retirement age?

See results

Share Your Thoughts About What You Would like to Be Doing When You Are Age 50 or Older.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Dave 

      12 months ago

      Unfortuneatly it looks like us Gen-Xers won't have such a luxury, with the retirement age constantly being shifted and our (UK) government looking at filtering pensions (basically so that people who put the most in get the least out and vice-versa) I'll probably still be fighting to pay off University fees and a mortgage x25 greater than my parents'.

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      3 years ago from Orange County, California

      I know from experience that people really need to think about how they will use their time after they retire. Otherwise, they are likely to be bored. This is their chance to really do the things they always wanted to do!

    • Au fait profile image

      C E Clark 

      3 years ago from North Texas

      Lots of people start new careers after retirement so it pays to be thinking about what one would like to do when that day arrives. Ms. Pauley's book sounds like an interesting read and maybe the inspiration for a whole new life!

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      3 years ago from Orange County, California

      Most of people I know who are reaching retirement want to do something meaningful in the next few years. I have known people who, during their 60's, joined the Peace Corps and started a political career. There are so many opportunities available to us!

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 

      4 years ago from Arkansas USA

      I agree with Jane and I'd like to think that re-inventing oneself after retirement is becoming the rule rather than the exception. I'm sure the book will inspire many people. Nice review!

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Interesting review! It does sound like a very good book, especially with the large number of us! We seem to do much better with purpose in our ives, even when retired. This is going on my wish list. Thanks!

    • Brite-Ideas profile image

      Barbara Tremblay Cipak 

      4 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      what a terrific review, and I love the premise of her book - also very inspirational - I'll keep this one in mind for sure

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)