ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Books Like 50 Shades of Grey

Updated on September 15, 2014
Looking for more books like 50 Shades of Grey?
Looking for more books like 50 Shades of Grey?

Best Books Like 50 Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey is a worldwide success, even though there are other books like 50 Shades of Grey that some would say are actually better written.

Not everyone is a fan of the raunchy book series, but millions of women around the world are buying and reading this book!. Some are ashamed to admit that they would read this book, but it's done wonders for other erotic novels. Now people are asking for more books like 50 Shades of Grey. They have a taste for the romance and want more.

Here are five other books like Fifty Shades of Grey to sink your teeth into. They are full of sexy men, steamy romances and people with large bank balances. Hopefully, this will help you get over your Fifty Shades of Grey obsession until Hollywood finally gets around to adapting these books onto the big screen.


5 Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey

Bared To You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia Day

Erotic Books Like 50 Shades of Grey

Set in the upper classes of New York this book is very similar to 50 Shades of Grey. Gideon is the hottest guy man in the city, just like Christian. He has everything Christian Grey has, except for the need to completely dominate. He's always ready to go and but he's not as romantic as Christian. However, Gideon is as jealous as Christian is and some might say more so. He has some stalker like behaviour that would have most women running for the hills.

The female lead in this book series is called Eva and she has experience in the bedroom, unlike Anna did to begin with. However, Eva is unsure of herself as she was raped and is just looking to be able to let herself go in the bedroom and have fun. She finds that ability with Gideon, who seems to have everything but has a need for Eva in his life and bedroom.

Other readers have agreed this is a very similar book to 50 Shades of Grey but is actually better. It's better written as it's by an accomplished writer with numerous awards to her name, and she's written in this genre before. In this case, both her characters are 50 Fifty Shade of Grey and equally messed up.

There are three books in the Crossfire Trilogy with the final book titled Entwined With You due to be released in May 2013. You can pre-order this book by clicking on the image on the right of the book.


Gabriel's Inferno by Sylvain Reynard

Gabriel is Almost Exactly Like Christian

For those looking to read books like Fifty Shades of Grey and not be embarrassed about it, then Gabriel's Inferno may be the perfect alternative for you. Not only is this an erotic novel but it actually has a proper plot with actual important details. Like 50 Shade of Grey it's about redemption and a messed up man just trying to find love and forgiveness. This book is very character driven as it's based on Dante's Inferno.

The main male character is called Gabriel. He comes across as a total rat bag, but on the other hand is very endearing and compassionate. He is also a highly flawed man. He's kind of a dark superhero in that by day he is an upstanding pillar of the community. He is a professor who teaches about Dante and wears expensive suits. However, by night he has other guilty pleasures that involve allowing his passions to run wild with women. Until one day when he puts his whole lifestyle in jeopardy by falling for one of his students, Julia.

Julia is also damaged, but in a different way from her professor. It seems she's loved him from afar for a long time, but is meek and some would say pathetic. She's unable to get over her past ordeals but is drawn to Gabriel.

This book is dark, twisted and has a lot of passion. There are times when Julia comes out of her shell and is able to crack the whip too. This is a very long book which will keep you busy for quite a while. Also there's a sequel in the form of Gabriel's Rapture.


The Sleeping Beauty Trilogy by A. N. Roguelaure (Anne Rice)

Would it surprise you to know that back in the early 80's Anne Rice (author of the Interview With a A Vampire books series) actually wrote a really raunchy trilogy based on the fairy tale of Sleeping Beauty? Well she did and the three books are titled, The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty, Beauty's Punishment and Beauty's Release. These three books are now available as a trinity in a nice box set.

Although the book is based on the original Sleeping Beauty fairytale, it's definitely not Disney approved. Instead of being wakened by a kiss, Sleeping Beauty is wakened by a Prince in a far more probing manner.

The book series is populated with lots of beautiful people and it's all about the sexual education of Beauty. She's a kind of slave in the series, but it's not done in a depraved manner. In fact, it comes over as quite the opposite. There is a lot of game playing like Anna and Christian alluded to but never actually managed to fulfill. in Fifty Shades of Grey.

The Sleeping Beauty trilogy is all about submitting or dominating. It's about surrendering and finding love. Almost every page is steamy and will raise the temperature a few degrees while reading. It's very erotic, but with a lot of romance too.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Books Similar to Fifty Shade of Grey

Beautiful Disaster is an intensely erotic book like 50 Shades of Grey. The lead female character Abby is like Anna, in that she's a student. However, she has a past she is trying to forget. She isn't looking for trouble, but finds it anyway when she meets Travis Maddox.

Abby knows she should avoid Travis, he's the campus charmer and known for being a player. However, he can't understand how it is that Abby is immune to his charms. Travis decides he wants Abby and they make a bet. If Travis wins Abby has to stay a month living in his apartment and living by his rules. He's involved in a fight ring and a lot of drinking. If Abby wins Travis has to be abstinent for the whole month.

Travis is very controlling, just like Christian. And like Anna, Abby knows that being with Travis may not be the best idea. However, it's a very romantic novel with lots of passion. And fans have been waiting eagerly for the second book in the series to be written and it is due to be released in 2013 and is called Walking Disaster.

Beautiful Disaster was from Abby's perspective and the author has told readers that Walking Disaster will be from Travis's perspective.

I think readers of Fifty Shades of Grey might like this, as I was disappointed that the only time we got to hear Christian's point of view was at the end of the third novel, when there's the little snippet telling us how Christian viewed being interviewed in the beginning by Anna. I personally would have loved to have known more of the story from his perspective. I found his voice more compelling than Anna's.

Honor Series by Teresa Mummert

More Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey

There are three books in the Honor Series by Teresa Mummert called Honor Student, Honor Thy Teacher and Honor and Obey.

Like 50 Shades of Grey, the man is the dominant in the story. Except unlike Christian, William struggles to keep it in his pants and also has relations with other women. Emma is his student and he's the history professor. Emma's also really messed up. Just like Christian and Anna needed each other, Emma and William need each other.

Emma lost both her parents and just wants to go home, until she meets her new college professor. The feeling is mutual and he thinks of her while with other women. Once this couple do get together they have issues when someone threatens to expose their relationship.

It's a highly erotic book and William is very protective of Abby, just as Christian was over protective of Anna. Abby is clueless to William's past, as Anna was of Christian's. When these secrets start to reach the light of day, Abby has some tough decisions to make.

Other readers of this trilogy have likened it to Fifty Shades of Grey too and say if you liked that series then you'll love the Honor series of books.



Will You Be Reading Any of These Books Like 50 Shades of Grey?

See results

Which Book Series is Most Like 50 Shades of Grey?

There are lots of ways to meet your new love of erotica, after reading Fifty Shades of Grey. If you are looking for better written content in terms of the grammar then there are even more options. If you are looking for a relationship similar to Christian and Anna's then perhaps Bared To You is your best option. If on the other hand, you liked the romance found in Fifty Shades of Grey, but weren't as keen on the beatings then perhaps you'd enjoy the Sleeping Beauty trilogy more.

You can now take your pick from what I see as the best 5 alternatives to the 50 Shades of Grey books. Perhaps you'd like to explore this world or erotica that has been there but has never been as talked about as it is now. Or perhaps you are a woman discovering that there are novels of a more sexual nature actually for women rather than men. I know in the past we these types of books might have a few hot pages but nothing as explicit as E. L. James brought to our attention.

I hope you enjoy these 5 books like Fifty Shades of Grey as much as I did.

If you have read these books like Fifty Shades of Grey then you could try the other suggestions provided by Good Reads.


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lauryallan profile imageAUTHOR

      Lauryallan 

      5 years ago

      Sorry Lipnancy.

      I'd have to say that Fifty Shades of Grey wasn't exactly the most in-depth storyline. It was mostly about a deeply flawed, but rich, good looking guy, that needed to feel in control to get through life. Christian Grey used this philosophy in every aspect of his life, including his "girlfriends", who were all contracted submissives. That was until he met Anna. He thought she would be the perfect sub to his Dom but she's very inexperienced in this area and they fall in love etc. Eventually you find out Christian's backstory and why he's fifty shades of messed up (hence the name of the book). However, most of the book is about his relationship with Anna and other women in his life....

      If you've read a number of raunchy books then you'll know that there are better choices than Fifty Shades of Grey. All 10 choices above are better than this book. The grammar and sentence structure of the book is terrible, but then again she's made a fortune from it.... I guess that's what happens when something becomes trendy or hits the gossip columns and captures the publics attention...

    • Lipnancy profile image

      Nancy Yager 

      5 years ago from Hamburg, New York

      I have always read raunchy novels. Is that all that 50 Shades of Gray is about?

    • Lauryallan profile imageAUTHOR

      Lauryallan 

      5 years ago

      Thank you Anger4967

    • angel4967 profile image

      Cindy Pierre 

      5 years ago from Nevada

      I also wrote a hub on this but I only highlighted Anne Rice. You have many more great choices. Great hub, even if some women don't want to admit they are or have read these. I am almost done with the last one in the series and not afraid to say it.

    • Lauryallan profile imageAUTHOR

      Lauryallan 

      5 years ago

      lol Roly, maybe you need to buy the appropriate props and leave them around the house. Maybe she needs more of a hint... but I am sure some of these books can help. Of course if you acted like a submissive with the mask and everything that might give her a clue... or it might lead to her running for the hills. I can't imagine what I would do if I saw my partner in some of those submissive get-ups!

    • RolyRetro profile image

      RolyRetro 

      5 years ago from Brentwood, Essex, UK

      Mrs Roly has read all of the "shades" books, and she's not even tried to spank me yet! Maybe she should be reading some of these instead.

      Roly

    • Lauryallan profile imageAUTHOR

      Lauryallan 

      5 years ago

      lol daisydayz, didn't realise you'd written something similar. Yeah we do have completely different options.

      I did a search on the web before writing this hub and didn't see any other hubs listed...

    • daisydayz profile image

      Chantele Cross-Jones 

      5 years ago from Cardiff

      Oh I've written a hub the same as this too! But your choices are mostly different to mine. Maybe we could cross link to both get extra hits? Just an idea.

    • Lauryallan profile imageAUTHOR

      Lauryallan 

      5 years ago

      Thank you carol7777. I have read it and it was good but I wouldn't say it was a readers book... Most of the alternatives on this page are better written, have more of a story line but are still erotic at the same time.

    • carol7777 profile image

      carol stanley 

      5 years ago from Arizona

      Everyone likes a little fantasy in life. So far I have not read the series. I can see its popularity..A new trend comes in and new authors will come out. Like the wizards..very popular. Anyway this is a great and informative hub. So lots of votes and pin.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)