ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Books Like Divergent

Updated on August 14, 2014

More Books Similar To Divergent

If you've read Divergent, the popular distopian trilogy by Veronica Roth, you will be definitely looking for more books like Divergent and The Hunger Games. Wait. You haven't read The Hunger Games? Well there's already one series for you to get started with. In fact I came across Divergent when I was looking for more books like The Hunger Games in the first place.

Divergent is a dystopian fiction trilogy which right now has 2 books published (Divergent and Insurgent), with a third one to come out later this year, with the title Allegiant. So while waiting for this third novel to be published, I've started looking for some other books that would quench my thirst for similar fiction that I enjoy reading right now.

Shown above: Cover of Divergent

I hope you will find something new in the books that I have listed below. I truly loved reading them and if you haven't given them a try, I highly recommend each and one of them. And don't forget to let me know in the Guestbook section below if you've read something else like Divergent and I haven't mentioned it anywhere, so I can also read it, along with other readers who are looking for the same.

The Hunger Games Trilogy

Now people usually do it the other way around - they first read The Hunger Trilogy, then look for similar books to satisfy their cravings for dystopian young adult fiction, and then they discover Divergent along the way. But if you're one of the few who has started it backwards, then please read The Hunger Games, and while you're at it, also watch the movie (the second movie is set to also come out this November, woohoo!).

The Hunger Games Trilogy Boxset
The Hunger Games Trilogy Boxset

The Hunger Games trilogy is set is a very dark dystopian world where the joys of living are very few and usually being brave just brings you death.

It is also a story about hope, love and fighting against evil forces and prevailing even when things look like they would collapse. It is such a great series and I honestly don't think I've ever read another young adult dystopian fiction that can even come close to it. Not even Divergent.

 

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Official Trailer

I'm so looking forward to see the second movie. This trailer is simply awesome!

Do You Like To Read Dystopian Novels?

See results

#1 The Hunger Games, of course

Delirium
Delirium

Delirium

by Lauren Oliver

Delirium is the start of another young adult (YA) dystopian trilogy which you can read right now if you are like me and want to have all the books in the series available.

The third books, the conclusion to the series has been published earlier this year, so you can go ahead and get all 3 books to read them back to back without any one year interruption between them.

The main storyline is about Alex and Lena, two teens who are fighting to keep love from being totally erased. Yep, indeed. The evil government believes that love is nothing but a sick disease which should be removed from the society. Can you imagine teens without love when their hormones are nothing but raging at that age?

With as silly of an idea as this, the author has really make it all work. The trilogy is being made into a movie (just like The Hunger Games and Divergent) to come out in 2014 because it's so good. I can't wait!

Delirium Stories

Delirium Stories: Hana, Annabel, and Raven (Delirium Trilogy)
Delirium Stories: Hana, Annabel, and Raven (Delirium Trilogy)

While Delirium is a trilogy, there are a few short novellas that the author has written about 3 characters featured in the books, Hanna, Raven and Annabel. If you liked the series, it's only about $5 or 6 at Amazon to get all the short additional novellas , they're a fun read and enhance the series quite well.

 

Should Dystopian Novels Be Made Into Movies?

There is this growing trend of taking popular dystopian young adult fiction and turning them into movies. While The Hunger Games is a great example of it, there are also people who are against them, saying that the movie will just belittle the book. What do you think?

Legend trilogy
Legend trilogy

Legend

by Marie Lu

Legend is another young adult dystopian trilogy with currently 2 books published and a third on one the way this year.

The story is about June, a wealthy teen of 15 who was born in the Republic, which was once the old United States. The Republic is at war with the neighbors and June has a bright future ahead in the military.

Day is a suspected criminal who is said to have killed June's brother, which brings June to try to track down the killer. This starts a story of love, war and betrayal, akin to the old Romeo and Juliet, except it is set in a very futuristic dystopian world.

It is a great series that is well worth reading. I did like The Hunger Games and Divergent series better, however I think this should be given a chance as well. It's quite a fun book to read, especially if you don't have a problem with reading the chapters as written from two different viewpoints (that of June and Day).

The Dustlands Series
The Dustlands Series

The Dustlands Series

by Moira Young

The Dustland trilogy starts with Blood Red Road, the first book in the series. Currently book 1 and 2 are out, with the third one to be published next year.

The series is set in quite a violent post-apocalyptic future, featuring Saba, a young strong girl who spends her time with her family scavanging for remains. As bleak and desolate as her home Silverlake is, she will soon have to leave it and embark on some strange adventures to get Lugh, her kidnapped twin brother, back.

The story is quite powerful, full of adventures, romance, quite some violent scenes at times thrown into it. I did have flashbacks of Katnis Everdeen from The Hunger Games when reading about Saba, both are strong female leads that have a purpose and are working hard towards it.

One thing you might find strange and if you are a language geek you might even cringe at - the many grammar mistakes the book is scattered with. It is, however, not a mistake from the author, it is how Saba speaks, so please try ignore that or even embrace it for this trilogy.

What Makes a Good YA Dystopian Novel?

* a restricted and controlled society

* a place where people wouldn't want to be by their choice

* the settings are extremely vividly described

* a rebel elder who remembers the times 'before'

* the main character, a teen who takes on the society and rebels against it to fight for freedom

Across the Universe Trilogy - by Beth Revis

This trilogy is a bit more of a sci-fi than strictly dystopian fiction, however I think it still fits quite well with the theme. The premise is quite interesting: The 17 years old Amy embarks on a journey to a distant planet 300 years in the future. Along with her parents she lets herself get frozen so she can wake up when they arrive to the destination. Did I say 300 years in the future? Yeah well...

Across the Universe
Across the Universe

The problems start when she wakes up earlier than planned and has no idea why. Upon investigating she realizes that somebody is trying to kill her.

I won't give away more of the plot, but if you do like sci-fi novels, you will enjoy this trilogy. Basically the dystopian part is all on the spaceship where Amy is trapped...

 
Under the Never Sky Series
Under the Never Sky Series

Under the Never Sky Series

by Under the Never Sky

Here is another fun series to start reading if you haven't gotten a chance to it yet. It is another trilogy with 2 books already published and a third one on the way, hopefully soon.

The series is about Aria, a young girl who has been living a sheltered life within Reverie. Btw, have you noticed that all these dystopian novels have as starting theme the idea that the heroine has lived all her life in the same relatively closed and secluded space until she has to go out there and have her coming of age experiences? Well, this novel is pretty much the same in that respect.

Basically the book is also a post-apocalyptic novel in that living on the surface is now quite difficult, if not impossible. That's why most people now live in underground domes. And of course there are also those who have no choice but to make do with the harsh living up there in the nasty environment where there is hardly any food to find, the air is dangerous to breath and dog eats dog is the motto of the day.

This is the story of Aria and Perry (Perry being the one living up there) who meet when Aria goes up to try to find her missing mother. It is a haunting book, and like I mentioned before, it is not strictly a dystopian series. It is more a mix of sci-fi and post apocalyptic fiction, but one that I highly recommend reading.

Matched - by Ally Condie

Matched is a young adult dystopian series that is more on the light, romantic side than full of bleak and dire things. The storyline is interesting. In that society the officials have the power to decided about pretty much anything related to the life of a person, including whom they marry.

Matched
Matched

Cassia, the main character of this trilogy is matched to marry some guy, her neighbor Xander, but of course she has fallen in love with another. Ky Markham, her schoolmate is a rather rebellious guy who shouldn't be with Cassia in the first place.

It is quite an interesting premise to an interesting YA novel set in a very ridid, strict future society which leaves no loopholes for anyone who live as they please instead of as they are told to do so.

 

The Chemical Garden Series - by Lauren DeStefano

Ok this is a weird one, and one that can possibly give nightmares to some teens. Here's the premise: simply put, due to some experiments gone wrong, girls get to live to be 20 and guys to be 25. After that it's light out, over, death, you name it.

Wither
Wither

And this is the society where Rhine Ellery has grown up to be 16, knowing that she has only 4 more years to live.

Implausible enough? Definitely, but hey, it's dystopian fiction, so simply suspend your beliefs and get reading. It will be well worth it.

The good thing is that all the 3 books in the trilogy have already been published (with the last one just now this March), so you can grab all books and read without any major interruptions.

 
The Maze Runner
The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner Series

by James Dashner

Here is another dystopian series perfect for those who loved Divergent and The Hunger Games. It consists of 3 books which have all been published already.

The story follows Thomas, who wakes up one day in a lift - or elevator, depending where you are from. He has no recollection of anything except his name. That's all he rememberes. When the lift opens, he gets to The Glades where several other such kids exist, each of them without knowing pretty much anything about themselves, except their names.

The maze in the Glades is somewhere similar to the arena where Katniss Everdeen has to survive. These boys have also the task of surviving, but they have the additional disability of memory loss. One day, a girl appears...the very first girl within The Glades. And she has a message for Thomas.

If you like dystopian fiction, you will probably like this. The series is written by a male author, and they have this thing to write differently from female authors. Many readers were put off by this writing style, but you might just like it, give it a try.

The Razorland Series - by Ann Aguirre

Enclave is the first in the Razorland series by Ann Aquirre, and as usual it is part of a trilogy. Why most dystopian novels like Divergent are trilogies?

If you want another weird premise, here it is: Kids have no names until they are 15, and even then only if they can survive those first 15 years training for one of the factions: hunters, breeders or hunters. The story follows Girl15 who is at the ceremony where she will get a real name, Deuce. She has trained all her life to become a huntress to provide for the other two groups.

Enclave (The Razorland Trilogy)
Enclave (The Razorland Trilogy)

And as it usually goes, she gets expelled from the underground and has to go up there, you know, where the sun actually shines every day.

Along with Fay, the partner that has been assigned to her during her ceremony, after her exile she will have a ton of adventures fighting not only the gangs, but also zombies.

A tour de force, full of action, adventure and suspense. The series is really engaging, and if you're not after a soapy kind of dystopian romance, this will definitely speak to your senses.

 

Books On My Wishlist

I haven't read these books yet, but I plan to do so soon

More Books Like Divergent - On my 'to read' list

I haven't read these books, but I've read only good things about them, so they are on my 'to read' list. As long as I still have the passion for young dystopian fiction, I will tackle them and leave my review below if I find them worthwhile reading.

If You Liked These Books, You Might Also Like

Best Post-Apocalyptic Novels
Here you will find some of the best post apocalyptic novels that great authors have written and people have voted for. It is my personal list, so as such it ...

Best Zombie Books
If you're looking for some of the best zombie books, you've come to the right place! I'm a big fan of zombie books, zombie movies, zombie games and everythin...

Twilight Books In Order
The short answer is: yes, you do have to read the Twilight books in order. Each new book builds up on the previous one in the series, and if you don't read t...

Sookie Stackhouse Books In Order
If you have troubles putting the Sookie Stackhouse books in order, this article will help you read them in the proper order for storyline continuity. I sugge...

Best Books For The Summer To Take To The Beach
Summer is almost here and going to the beach usually implies having some of the best books for the summer ready to go. If not the actual books, at least a go...

I like reading this type of fiction and I'm sure many other readers too. So if you've read something that reminded you of Divergent - or Katniss Everdeen in The Hunger Games, let us know what it is, maybe we can find a new favorite to savor.

Do You Have Other Favorites With Books Like Divergent?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Woodsusa profile image

      Woodsusa 4 years ago

      It's not strictly dystopian, but the 'Gone' series by Michael Grant is amazing! It's about kids who have to rebuild society while trapped under a dome, separated from all adults and facing mutated animals and evil beings...crazy good!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I loved divergent and Hunger Games, but i also love the unwanteds which would be distopian as well. other great books would be Fablehaven, twilight, Harry potter, Percy Jackson, and the Kane Chronicals (sorry about spelling)

    • CarrieM925 profile image

      CarrieM925 4 years ago

      I loved Shatter Me. I see it on the list of TBR books. It was unputdownable.

    • Corrinna-Johnson profile image

      Corrinna Johnson 5 years ago from BC, Canada

      I just recently finished reading The Hunger Games and I was quite surprised with how much I enjoyed it. I am currently reading the 2nd book in the series. I will definitely explore some of your great suggestions!

    • chas65 profile image

      chas65 5 years ago

      My niece would love these. I am more of an autobiography and inspirational fan myself, but honestly, i don't read enough. My wife is an avid reader, but doesn't like anything remotely related to science fiction.

    • Camden1 profile image

      Camden1 5 years ago

      This will be a great reading list for my daughter - she loved Hunger Games but hasn't found another series she likes since then!

    working