ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Updated on February 25, 2015

Book Series Like Fifty Shades of Grey

You have probably read and reread Fifty Shades of Grey. Now, you are looking for books with a similar theme and story. You are just one of the many readers who have searched the web for similar books. Some readers found a much better one while others found nothing to compare it with.

As for me, this trilogy is not on top of my list because I have far better ones. But I cannot blame the clamor over this particular story though. It is really catchy especially for readers who are new to this genre.

Image from http://fiftyshadesofgreyfanclub.com/

Are you looking for books similar to Fifty Shades of Grey?

See results

Songs of Submission by C.D. Reiss

I read the first book Beg and I was captivated with the characters and story. It has been a long time since I have found a series that will make you fall in love with it. The passion and rawness of the scenes are fascinating. I wanted to read the series as fast as I can to reach the ending but at the same time I did not want it to end. Songs of Submission is a series that has delivered what Fifty Shades of Grey did not.

Los Angeles is a melting pot of the rich and famous and those struggling to make it into the limelight. Monica is one of the latter ones – a singer and songwriter hoping to make a cut in the industry. While waiting for her big break, she makes ends meet – waitress by day, singer by night, and gigs in between. Her life is at a constant whirl of events up until she meets Jonathan.

Jonathan Drazen is an enigma. He is rich, powerful, and encompasses an ominous appeal. When he sets his eyes on Monica, he is drawn for a taste. But a taste is not enough though. She has looped herself around him without her trying and it is too late to let go. Secrets will be revealed. Hearts will be broken. Will they find their happy ending?

The Crossfire Series by Sylvia Day

This series really had potential and I was one of the many who anticipated the ending on the third book. However, much to my dismay, the author decided to extend the series. I was really distraught since my mind was leering to its finale and I was ready to let go of the characters. But I guess, there are still so many to discuss that a fourth or fifth book is necessary.

Eva and Gideon are individuals tainted by their past experiences who continually struggle to free themselves from the demons that came along with it. However, you will never find them in a vulnerable position. Years of practice, have allowed them mastery over concealing ones emotions. But their masks will fall apart at some point. They do not know that until they find each others embrace. Secrets will be revealed. People will be hurt. And their affection towards each other will heightened. Will their love be enough to fight against all odds? Will they be able to conquer their demons and stay strong together?

Release Me (A Stark Trilogy) by J. Kenner

This story is really good. The characters are well-liked and the development can be seen in progression. The internal struggles of the characters are depicted well and the resolution is not forced rather it is a work in progress. The scenes are different from most books and you can't help but get drawn with it.

A story of Nikki and Blaine. All there lives, their parents controlled their every move. Nikki was trained by her mother into becoming a beauty queen. Blaine was forced by his father to pursue and continue his tennis career. At some point in their lives, they were able to get off from the restraint. However, after years of being under control, they cannot separate the life that they have grown up with to the present life they are pursuing. It is only in each others lives that they find solace. But the path to their happy ever after is far from reach. The past will ruin their present lives and relationships. Will they fight these unwanted incidents together? Or will they choose to battle on their own?

Eighty Days Trilogy by Vina Jackson

I actually like the focus of this book. The emotions and internal struggle of the characters are highlighted. Readers get the entire picture of how the characters go through with every decision. There is not much drama only a good story narrated in a different light. If you have read many books with the same genre, this will come out as a fresh one.

This is a story about two individuals who learns more about themselves while exploring their desires and needs. Summer, a violinist, discovers that unconsciously she submits herself and takes pleasure in it. Dominik, a professor, finds that his need for dominance grows. Will there be a happy ever after?

Any Book Series You Would Like to Add?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Ron007 4 years ago

      'e-Love'; 'e-Dreams'; 'e-World'; all by Ian Hunter (available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble). There's a genuine chronology: a journey of exploration leading to not only a deepening sense of eroticism but also, greater self-awareness. The experiences between John and the three different women - one in each book - are (let's just say), wide-ranging. The books are also well-written, with a fundamental psychological undercurrent. There are seven books in the entire collection (the last almost ready). These are the first three and crucially so. The rest carry the story further, in a surprising direction.