ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Books Like Game Of Thrones

Updated on September 28, 2014

Top 10 Books Like Game of Thrones

Are you looking for books like Game of Thrones? If you are, then you can find what I think are the best alternatives on this page.

As a huge fan of the fantasy genre I've read just about every epic fantasy novel you can imagine. I've been reading this series over the past ten years, waiting patiently for the next book to be released. The time between each new successive release continues to get longer. The years in between, I've read other fantasy books that have turned out to be similar to Game of Thrones. And I loved them just as much, and in a few cases, even more!

Not only will these top 10 alternatives keep you busy, while waiting for the next book in the Song of Ice and Fire book series, but it will also keep you occupied between seasons of the TV show.

Please come and check back regularly for new additions to this page, as I continue to read new fantasy books every day.

The Wheel of Time Motto

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass

The Wheel of Time

Written by Robert Jordan and Finished by Brandon Sanderson, After His Death

If you love an epic fantasy novel series like Game of Thrones, then The Wheel of Time has to be on the top of your list to read next!

The Wheel of Time books are very similar to Game of Thrones. There is magic, there is intrigue and politics. There are strained family relations and no faction trusts another. There are even alliances within factions and sometimes these are broken too.

In Game of Thrones, the Stark children have a special connection with wolves, especially Bran. The Wheel of Time has a similar character in Perrin Aybara and his mentor.

If you are looking for something dark and gritty like A Game of Thrones, then The Wheel of Time is the answer. There are wars and battles. There is love, anguish, families ripped apart and there is magic. And above all else, there is a darkness coming. It's trying to escape and exact revenge, just like the White Walkers in the North.

With the final book in the series having just been released, there's nothing stopping you from reading this epic series. I promise you won't regret it. I first started reading this series when I was about 15 years old. I have been waiting patiently for the past fifteen years for each successive book. So many fans, just like me, were waiting for the final book and to find out what happens to all our favorite characters! The last book has now been completed and is available online.

This book series follows the same philosophy of Game of Thrones, "You win or you die."

Take This Poll

Have You Read Game of Thrones?

See results

If You Haven't Read This Dragon Series Full of Politics and Deceit...

The Name of The Wind

Kingkiller Chronicles By Patrick Rothfuss

Patrick Rothfuss blew me away with The Name of the Wind. I couldn't believe how addictive this book was and I never wanted it to end, or to have to put it down. I finished that book in record time and was dying to read the second book. The second book picked up the story from where the first book ended. It was just as amazing as the first book and I can't wait for the third book in the series. And to think this was his debut novel!

The authors writing style is truly spectacular and flows superbly on the page. You quickly forget you are reading into the wee hours of the morning and feel like you are listening to Kvothe tell his story.

The Name of The Wind is about a supposedly normal innkeeper. Weird things are walking on the roads and the locals are worried. However, it might be because of this supposedly average barkeeper that these things are being drawn into the area. For the innkeeper is none other than the legend known as Kvothe! Haven't heard of him? Read the story to find out more.

When a Scribe comes asking for his real life story, he agrees to tell the truth and wants only the truth recorded. As the story unfolds, we begin to realize Kvothe came from humble but loving beginnings. He was very smart and joined the magic academy, where he hoped to learn the Name of The Wind, like his previous mentor. As a young man, his arrogance leads him into easily avoidable situations, that inevitably lead to trouble, heartache, bitter rivalries and bad luck. However, it never stops the reader from believing in him as he is good natured at his core, trying to survive in a world where the deck is heavily stacked against him.

The characters in this story are well rounded, highly developed, flawed and believable. There were many laugh out loud moments when Kvothe beat the odds and achieved something positive. While there were also times when you felt like crying because he was about to lose everything. In some ways, he's very similar to Jaime Lannister from Game of Thrones. Jaime is good at his core but people have branded him "Kingslayer". It doesn't seem to matter that the king at the time was mad and was murdering everyone in his path to meet his ends.

In Game of Thrones, we aren't quite sure what the White Walkers are. In The Name of The Wind, Kvothe is searching for clues for the supposedly mythical beings that killed his parents and extended family. When Kvothe goes to University, he has to learn his way in the world of politics. When he messes up it costs him dearly, and I don't mean money. Every wrong move he makes takes him one step closer to losing everything forever.

The book makes you want to keep reading to find out how someone with so much talent, life and ability could end up in the middle of no-where as an innkeeper. Much like Game of Thrones makes you keep wondering what will happen to a number of the characters, especially Arya.

You'll find out more about the main characters in the second book called The Wise Man's Fear.

Feast of Souls

The Magister Trilogy By Celia Friedman

Feast of Soul by Celia Friedman is different from everything I've ever read before. Normally when a book surrounds the topic of Wizards or Warlocks, they are normally male. This book describes one woman's journey to become the first female Magister. For men and woman can be Witches if they have the gift or the ability. There is a heavy price for this gift as it eats away at their life source and will kill them. However, Magisters have all the power but none of the down side and don't age or die like normal witches. And they are all male. Until now....

When Kamala sees a witch die while trying to save her baby brother, she begins on the path of trying to avoid the same fate. As a determined young woman, she finds a Magister that is willing to teach her. However, she will have to take the final step to becoming a Magister by herself. This sets her on a new path where arrogant Magisters are unaware of her power, for a woman could never be their equal!

This book is like Game of Thrones in a number of ways. There is a special barrier in the North that protects the world from a great darkness. Something was banished a long time ago, but most people have forgotten much like the White Walkers. There is a special family that lives near the barrier that were handed the responsibility to look for breaches in the barrier, just like the Black Watch do on the Wall along with the Starks.

Politics, alliances, betrayals and dark secrets are at the heart of this book series, just like in Game of Thrones. There are a number of strong female characters in Feast of Souls too. Kamala will have to win, or die trying. And how will facing her power source affect her?

A Way of Shadows

The Night Angel Series Written By Brent Weeks

I loves this book series and read it in record time. It has some similarities to Game of Thrones, but it's also very different. I'd say it's faster paced and more action packed. However, you still have a great depth to the characters and you will be rooting for Kylar and his group of friends.

The Mistborn Trilogy

Brandon Sanderson

The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson is a recent addition to the fantasy genre, but it's actually one of my favorite series. It takes fantasy in a new direction. Instead of magicians and warlocks, people are either gifted with certain abilities or not. Then there's another race completely, that are able to store abilities and knowledge in jewelry to use it later. I know that sounds lame, but it's really cool. One of the easiest examples is storing strength. The person will appear pathetic and weak for however long they are storing their strength in the bracelets, to be called upon later.

Vin finds herself with strange abilities which she thinks of as her luck. She can push people into doing what she wants. This makes her a valuable commodity in her street gang. However, one day she pushes the wrong person and her gang pay the ultimate price. This is when Vin meets Kelsier and his special associates and her life changes forever.

Suddenly Vin finds herself in a different class, dealing with the ruling families. She's had a little training to try to get by, but she's a little like Sansa in A Game of Thrones. However, she also has aspects of Aria in that she is spontaneous and doesn't want to be thought of as a weak girl.

As Vin's abilities get stronger, she realizes that she's been caught in the middle of what could be a major war. She'll have to use all of her truly amazing abilities to stay alive, while trying to keep one step ahead of the Inquisitors.

Sanderson brings two new types of magic to life in the forms of Allomancy and Feruchemy. By the end of the book, you'll be desperate for this to be made into a movie!

Also Some of My Favorite Books Series of All Time

Although these novels are all similar to GOT they also differ in their own ways. However, the books I have mentioned are also among my favorite fantasy novels of all time. Fans of fantasy will probably have heard of a number of these, but I have added a few lesser known ones too for those that are well read.

I hope you enjoy these books as much as I have and if you need any more recommendations please let me know.

Game of Thrones TV Show

Game of Thrones Fans May Also Like...

More Great Books

Like Game of Thrones

Assassin's Apprentice

The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb

The Assassin's Apprentice by Robin Hobb has a number of similarities to Game of Thrones. It's mainly about the bastard son of a Prince. And we all know there are a number of those in Game of Thrones!

This child is also special and has the Skill and the Wit. This means he has magical abilities but also is able to bond and talk with animals. Fitz finds himself in a lot of dangerous situations, because of his status but also because of his abilities. In order to remain safe, he agrees to become a pawn of the royal family and to serve them. During the day, Fitz is a stable boy. At night, Fitz learns the secrets of being a Royal assassin.

Fitz learns may skills of his trade and learns to change his appearance. He reminds me of Arya in a lot of ways. He knows life isn't easy and sometimes you have to do things you don't really want to do, but rather have to do to survive.

However, even this fails to keep Fitz safe as he falls foul of the politics of the court and of his Uncle Regal in particular.

The Farseer Trilogy is very popular and is one of my favorite fantasy series. You find yourself rooting for Fitz from his childhood and beyond.

The Belgariad

By David Eddings

Magic, sorcery, a prophecy for one young man to save the world. He's oblivious to his destiny of course, as his Aunt Pol looks out for him on a farm in the country. His grandad is a grouchy old man, who's also one of the world's most renowned wizards. Garion thinks his Aunt is overprotective and can't understand why, until he goes on a long journey to reclaim a special artifact from the past.

Polgara has looked after her family line for generations until all the elements are aligned for Garion to be the one to complete the families destiny. They can't do it alone and need the skills and knowledge of some special individuals in the kingdom.

Along the way there are political alliances, betrayals, secrets and hidden truths are brought into the open. Garion will never be the same again.

In the books, there are characters that can communicate with horses, shape shift into other people and animals, and those who can do magic. However, there are other characters who have political connections and need to use their brain to get out of sticky situations. much like Tyrion would in Game of Thrones.

The Warded Man

The Demon Cycle by Peter V. Brett

The Warded man is set in a world where demons raise from the ground at night. They come to feast on humans. These continuous attacks have led to a decrease in the human population and we have fallen back on superstition, beliefs and a little magic.

The only way to defend against these demons is to draw special runes and symbols around an area you wish to protect. However, they can fail if not properly maintained and need to be done perfectly or they will also fail. If these wards fail, the demons pour in and destroy whole settlements, before the daylight forces them back underground.

However, Arlen decides to go on the offensive after seeing his mother attacked by demons and his father doing nothing to help her. He seeks training to try and fight them off. This training leads him to far off lands where he finds secret wards that he begins to paint on his body, that protect him while fighting.

There are others fighting the demons in their own way. Leesha is using herb craft and other natural ingredients to protect her village. Rojer has learned to control them with his fiddle. And the people from across the desert have their own secrets too.

However, the wards are changing those that use them. And no-one knows where the demons go during the day, or how they began rising from the ground in the first place...

The Book of The Malazan

Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson

Steven Erikson's epic fantasy series actually began life as a board game! However, it spawned into a book series and there are so many memorable characters.

When you read this series, there are lots of different elements to the story. There are people with special abilities and also what some would classify as Gods I guess. Most of these God like creatures or people are very dark and have their own agenda's and politics is rife. One error and you could find yourself enslaved by one of these so called Gods, to serve until the end of time.

My favorite character is most commonly called Quick Ben. He's been able to play the Gods at their own game and has even come out on top.

The whole book series seems to resolve around a special game of cards that change as the important characters in the book evolve. It's a kind of tarot pack of cards. These cards are clues as to what's about to happen and the steps needed to prevent the Crippled God from breaking his bonds and escaping his confinement. This is very similar to the White Walkers in Game of Thrones, and how very few of the human factions seem to be able to work together to fight the inevitable attack. There are also different people with special abilities, including bonding with animals like Bran has done with his wolf.

The books can be a little confusing, but it is a magical world where the reader needs to keep track of the numerous threads, until they come together to form the complete picture.

Daggerspell

The Deverry Series by Katherine Kerr

If you are looking to start another long fantasy series then Daggerspell could be the beginning for you. Like Game of Thrones, there are witches/wizards. There are also dragons and politics have lasting effects. However, it's also about love, relationships and fixing mistakes.

When one young man makes a mistake in his youth that affects the people around him, he decides to fix the lives of those lost. As a sorcerer he knows these people will be reincarnated. It becomes his life's mission to ensure these souls can peacefully co-exist again. However, it's not that simple when these people are reincarnated at different times and sometimes at odds with one another. Neven never thought it would take so many centuries to fix a silly error on his part.

Like Game of Thrones, this book series is long with 15 books in the current series. It's also complicated and the reader will follow different characters stories, and the relationships between the different characters. Even the characters change names as they are reborn, but you will recognize each character as they are reincarnated with the help of Neven.

Have You Read These Novels? - Do You Have Any Other Suggestions?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Vantis 3 years ago

      I like fantasy books a lot, and I was searching for books like these for a while. Useful lens, thank-you.

    • profile image

      KobayashiFiction 4 years ago

      David Eddings, Judith Merkle Riley, and Anne Rice had ENORMOUS impact on my pre-and-teen years of reading/writing! Happy to see David E. on your list!

    • NekoIchi profile image

      NekoIchi 4 years ago

      These are some great suggestions! I'm currently reading through the Game of Thrones now, but I know I'll be ready for more just like it once I'm done.

    • tophatpro profile image
      Author

      tophatpro 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Yeah I've read that series by Joe Abercrombie, but I don't see the similarity to GOT. I agree Logen is a great character but who would you compare him to in Game of Thrones?

      Yeah there is magic and war and different factions, but there are lots of books like that that can be chosen. I found myself loving the underdog characters, such as Glokta and the foreign woman, that was part God, that Logen fell in love with. I also have to admit that The First law is not one of my favorite books. I know everyone is raving about it right now, but I have read a lot of other fantasy epics that I found far more compelling reading.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Great list, but you left out a series that I believe is a serious challenger to GOT for the top spot: The First Law series by Joe Abercrombie. There is no more compelling character in literature than Logen Ninefingers. Happy reading.

    • tophatpro profile image
      Author

      tophatpro 4 years ago

      @adiehltwin: Yeah if you've read half, you'll love the other half.

      I've never read the Riyria Revelations but just read the summary on amazon and it sounds interesting. I'll add it to my reading list. Thx for the recommendation.

    • profile image

      adiehltwin 4 years ago

      I've read about half of the series you listed, but I'll have to check out the other half! The Wheel of Time series is my favorite! Another series I really enjoyed that was not as long or in depth as the Game of Thrones but full of character and action was the Riyria Revelations by Michael J Sullivan.

    • tophatpro profile image
      Author

      tophatpro 4 years ago

      @Erin Mellor: I'm glad you gave it a chance to pull you in. I think you will find the same with a number of these books as they are also some of my all time favorite fantasy books.

    • Erin Mellor profile image

      Erin Mellor 4 years ago from Europe

      I really didn't think Game of Thrones was my kind of thing, but I was utterly gripped by it.

    • profile image

      BarbaraCasey 4 years ago

      Oh wow... I've written down three of these series to try out. Thank you!

    • tophatpro profile image
      Author

      tophatpro 4 years ago

      @Board-Game-Brooke: Yeah Robin Hobb's Assassins trilogy was amazing. I loved it and it was one of my favorite books ever. If you like Robin Hobb then you'll love The Name of the Wind.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Exciting library of books. Thank you for sharing. - Blessed! :)

    • shellys-space profile image

      Shelly Sellers 4 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      I will check these Fantasy books! Blessed :)

    • Board-Game-Brooke profile image

      C A Chancellor 4 years ago from US/TN

      I loved Robin Hobb's Assassins trilogy. I started reading Game of Thrones but it was too dark for me at the time and I haven't gone back to it yet. Several of the books you've mentioned are on my Amazon Wish List, but a few are new to me. Looks like some great choices!

    • LiliLove profile image

      LiliLove 4 years ago

      Awesome lens, Laury! Blessed by a Squid Angel :)!

    • tophatpro profile image
      Author

      tophatpro 4 years ago

      @laughingapple: Some of these are newer fantasy series. As an avid reader in this genre I also wanted to give other fantasy fans something they may never have heard of or read before, yet will still enjoy.

    • tophatpro profile image
      Author

      tophatpro 4 years ago

      @Synergise2011 LM: I've read all the fantasy series on this page and loved everyone of them for different reasons. Although they have similarities to GOT, they are still different enough for her to enjoy the story and characters etc.

    • laughingapple profile image

      laughingapple 4 years ago

      Great lens. Have not heard about some of these before.

    • profile image

      JoshK47 4 years ago

      I'll definitely have to add these to my list! Thanks for sharing!

    • Synergise2011 LM profile image

      Synergise2011 LM 4 years ago

      Love the books and the show. My wife has read all the books and is desperate to read the next installment which could be years away. Hopefully one or two of your suggested alternatives might distract her.

    • Rudy145 LM profile image

      Rudy145 LM 4 years ago

      great show