ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Books like Game of Thrones

Updated on January 5, 2014

Big list of Books similar to Game of Thrones

Are you looking for books like Game of Thrones? If so, I completely understand. George RR Martin is an incredible writer, but it is frustrating waiting for his next books.

Many of the Game of Thrones have taken over four years to get on your bookshelves. It could be a long wait to get to his next book! This is where great books that are similar to Game of Thrones come in. They give you great books to read NOW!

So, if you are looking for books like a game of thrones, you will find them here. There are authors similar to George RR Martin like Patrick Rothfuss and Joe Abercrombie. Patrick Russell's rights books that are a little bit more high fantasy, but they also deal with the same stunning attention to characters like Martin does, and Abercrombie writes gritty and realistic books that are even more brutal and realistic than game of thrones. These two authors are just two examples of some great offers writes books similar to George RR Martin's Game of Thrones.

So if you're sick of waiting patiently for the next book in the song of ice and fire series, wait no longer and give some of these great authors and books similar to Game of Thrones a chance.

Joe Abercrombie - An Author Like George RR Martin

Joe Abercrombie Books
Joe Abercrombie Books

Joe Abercrombie writes a dark and gritty story. Actually, his stories manage to be even darker and bleaker than Martin's stories. Like Game of Thrones most of Abercrombie's stories deal with war and it's devastation, and while magic is present, it is a minor backdrop to a story where the characters, the good, the bad and the ugly are front and center

So far Abercrombie has 6 books. The first law Trilogy, which starts off the series, and 3 stand alone novels. The stand alone novels often highlight minor characters from other novels, making there a small continuing storyline, but each standalone novel DOES stand alone and can be read without reading any of the other novels.

I highly recommend Joe Abercrombie books if you are looking for books similar to Game of Thrones. They are a little bit bloodier than GOT, so if you are already turned off by the violence in Game of Thrones, you might want to pass on these stories. But they are quite entertaining.

One of the interesting things in the Abercrombie books is that the author tries to experiment with in the realm of fantasy in all his books.

First Law Trilogy: This Is Abercrombie's take on an epic, "quest" novel like Lord of the rings. Although there are no hobbits involved or other supernatural creatures, it is the quest of a group of heroes, including a powerful wizard, to find an ancient artifact.

Best Served Cold: This one is Abercrombie's take on a revenge book. Part Count of Monte Cristo and part Godfather this is a bloody tale of one woman's quest to get revenge on those who wronged her.

Heroes: Heroes is an interesting tale that is basically the lead up, action and aftermath of one huge battle. It is a great story that brings back a lot of minor characters from the other books into this great battle story.

Red Country: Red country is Joe Abercrombie's most recent book. This book is a basically a Western, done in a fantasy setting. It has all the major parts of the Western. Restless tribesman. A cattle drive. Crossing the raging river. The frontier town. There is even a fight at high noon, only with swords rather than guns.

Patrick RothFuss - One of the FAVORITE books of those who like Game of Thrones

Patrick Rothfuss Fantasy Book  Reviews
Patrick Rothfuss Fantasy Book Reviews

Like George RR Martin, Patrick Rothfuss writes a wonderful story that is epic fantasy at it's best. His stories have more "magic" than the Song of Ice and Fire series, but it also centers on the characters, presenting a unique world and a character in Kvothe who seems multifaceted and one of the most interesting characters I have ever read.

The good news is that these books are large, satisfying and almost a surefire "win" for anyone looking for books that are similar to Game of Thrones.

The bad news is that Rothfuss is nearly as notoriously a slow writer as Martin, so do not expect many more books in the future to fill in the time waiting for the new George RR Martin books. However, if you are looking for a good book to read to fill the wait, these are that surefire hit that you will enjoy! let's just dwell on the bright side!

Robin Hobb - Magic and an interesting world setting with decent characters makes this a popular fantasy book similar to game of Thrones

Robin Hobb Epic Fantasy Books
Robin Hobb Epic Fantasy Books

First Books of Robin Hobb's Trilogy's:

*Robin Hobb has written quite a few books. Above are the choices for of the first books for each of her 5 trilogies.

Robin Hobb is a master of the trilogy. She has written quite a few of them. Most of them are in the same, "world" as her first series, the Assassin's Apprentice. But the stories often take place in different parts of the world at different times, and while there is some character overlap and a definite continuing story amongst all the different trilogies, there is no need to have read any of the previous stories to appreciate the the books of each series.

Farseer Trilogy: This is a good series of books to introduce yourself to the writing of Robin Hobb. This is the story of a young boy, an illegitimate son of the king, with some of the strange powers that the royal family possess, who is trained to be an assassin.

Liveship Traders This Is probably my favorite of all the books. Maybe it is the nautical action, which is something unusual for fantasy books. But I found these tales really engaging and a lot of fun. Although these books are set in the same world as assassins apprentice, they are only loosely related. It would be just as easy to pick this book up and start reading this trilogy first, without missing a beat.

Tawny Man Trilogy Fools Errand could easily be seen as books 4,5,6 of the Assassins Apprentice series. It takes place over 20 years after the end of events in the initial trilogy, but returns many of the same major characters and finches of the plot line. Although slightly different tone... The main character has grown up and acts far differently, it really is a sequel and you absolutely should read the first trilogy before this.

Soldiers Son: I like the first book in the series, but every subsequent book I liked the little bit less. This is a decent series. It is readable. But I do not think it is her best work. With so many other good books that are like Game of Thrones, I would pass on this one unless you read everything else.

Dragon Keeper: Rain Wilds First off, I hate books with dragons. Books with dragons and unicorns and strange fairy creatures tend to be high fantasy. George Martin is a writer of epic fantasy., Which is what I love. Usually in epic fantasy what is important is the characters. There may be Magic but it is not the important thing is the action the characters and their interactions. In other words it is realistic fantasy. High fantasy has the magic and world building is the important part. An examples of this is Lord of the Rings.

In my opinion high fantasy often means poor character development. I only bring this up to point out that, although this book has dragons, it is more epic fantasy in tone. Character development is high and it is a very good story. Currently this is her most recent series of books, which has only recently been completed, and despite the fact it is chocked full of "dragons and magic" I feel this is still a strong character driven story..

Daniel Abrahams Books - 4 books in two collections, and his 2 newest fantasy books

Daniel Abraham writes like George RR Martin
Daniel Abraham writes like George RR Martin

Abraham is a MUST for this list of books that are similar to George RR Martin simply due to the fact that he is somewhat of a Martin protege. He has written the graphic novel representations of Martin's books. He has co-authored a series of books with Martin's personal assistant, who is also a writer, and he is often mentioned by Martin as being a close personal friend.

His style is noticeably different than Martin's. His stories are a bit "nicer" than Martin's, but they also have an edge of realism and focus on characters, not the "magic" of the realm.

Daniel Abraham wrote a 4 book series of the called the long price quartet. The books have been combined in the two books above, "The Price of War" and "Shadow and Betrayal" These are completely unique stories.

The first book starts with all the main characters as children, and then young men and women. The final novel ends with them as old men and women near the final days of their lives. This book describes a unique medieval world, with growing technological base and a very interesting style of magic that is completely fleshed out well designed world.

This series is well fleshed out and brings a complete and final end, rather than leaving all sorts of cliffhangers, like many other books.

Daniel Abraham has a current series called the dagger and coin. It takes a unique twist on the classic tales of a brutal lord and the people fighting for their freedom and lives. The first unique part is that the lord starts out as a decent, but very weak man, who acts brutally more because he is out of his depth and does not know HOW to lead rather than through malice. The second this that makes these stories unique is the perspective on the financial issues that truly drive life,even in a mythic fantasy time.

Three of these books have been written so far, with a 4th forthcoming in May.

That is another difference between Abraham and Martin. Abraham writes quickly!

Robert Jordan: A master of Epic Fantasy - If you like George RR Martin Books, you might like Jordan's Books

The Eye of the World: Book One of 'The Wheel of Time'
The Eye of the World: Book One of 'The Wheel of Time'

For a guy who loves epic fantasy, I don't know how I feel about the Robert Jordan books. I read the first six books are so, and at first I really liked the series. But somewhere along the line it seemed to me that Robert Jordan began to lose control. His characters were nearly as well developed as George R Martin's although it is a book that is similar to game of thrones, in my opinion it is a shadow that pales in comparison.

But lot's of people swear by these books and love them. So it may be worth taking a chance. After Jordan's untimely death, completing the series of the takeover by Brandon Sanderson. I have not yet read the final books, so I can't comment on that. But I've read all of Brandon Sanderson's other books, and I think he is a great writer and very talented. So does give me some hope that the series might end up having a very good ending.

 

David Gemmell - Best epic Fantasy "action" writer

For a long time my favorite writers were David Gemmell and George RR Martin. In many ways they were opposites. Game of Thrones was fairly slow developing with characters being the major important part. But David Gemmell's stories are written more like an action movie. He has an interesting view of characters similar to George R Martin's. On some level this makes them similar to game of thrones. But they are more of a light, quick read. "Mind Candy" but very entertaining.

If you are unsure about David Gemmell stories I would check out the book Legend first (although Waylander was my favorite). This was his first book written, and still one of his best. If you dislike this story, all his others are similar enough you'll dislike them. If you love the story you want to pick up every single other book that he wrote before he died.

Legend (Drenai Tales, Book 1)
Legend (Drenai Tales, Book 1)

In the Mid 80's Gemell wrote this story. It revolves around a group of men who are holding off a siege of barbarians. Men who should be heroes prove themselves to be cowards, while heroes and legends come from the most unlikly of places.

To some extent most of Gemmell's books have a very similar feel to them. If you love one, you will love them all. If you hate one, you will likely hate them all. This is a great place to start and see if David Gemmell is a writer you will enjoy.

 
Troy: Shield of Thunder
Troy: Shield of Thunder

This is part of Gemmell's last series before he died. The last book in the series was actually finished by his wife. (who did a great job)

This story gives the "David Gemmell" twist the the classic story of the siege of Troy.

 
Sword in the Storm (The Rigante Series, Book 1)
Sword in the Storm (The Rigante Series, Book 1)

The Rigante stories are a retelling of classic Scottish history, from early legends until the 1500's in some of the later stories

 

Brent Weeks - Another great "Action" Epic Fantasy writer

In some ways Brett Weeks books are like game of thrones. His characters are interesting and intriguing and his worldview is a little bit pessimistic, similar to that of game of thrones.

But like the David Gemmell books I talked about above therefore more action-based. (Both Gemmell and Weeks are close to each other in tone...both GREAT writers, though IMO)

Brett Weeks books are very enjoyable with lots of cliffhangers they'll keep you on the edge of your seat. So far Brett has written two series. He completed the dark Angel trilogy and is just started on the Lighbringer trilogy (two books completed)

Brett Weeks first electrifying trilogy

Brett Weeks Action Packed Fantasy
Brett Weeks Action Packed Fantasy

Brett Weeks came out of practically nowhere with his first series, which I would highly recommend to any fan of fantasy novels.

These stories are high octane thrillers with characters who seem to be similar to realistic versions of kung fu film heroes. With an interesting magic system, Weeks make realistic "ninja" type assassins who also happen to be very interesting and exciting. While his new books (above) are very good, this first series is simply spectacular.

Con Artists in a Fantasy World
Con Artists in a Fantasy World

Scott Lynch's fantasy tale of con artists

Scott Lynch has only written three books so far featuring Locke Lamora and his con artist compatriots. These are some excellent novels that are worth your time and effort.

These takes are extremely well written. At one moment they can be extremely funny, in the next they can be quite dramatic and in the third moment they can be filled to the brim with action.

Highly recommended novels for any fan of fantasy stories.

The first book, Lies of Locke Lamora, introduces the major characters in this series, and features a caper where Locke and his pals attempt an unprecedented heist while at the same time, some bad people are moving in on the upper echelon of the town's thieves. At the same time this story also recounts the origin of Locke and his pals through a series of flashbacks.

The second book, Red Seas Under Red Skies has Locke becoming a pirate captain and simultaneously planning a major casino heist.

While the third book, Republic of Thieves (pictured here) has Locke running a crooked election with his opponent being the woman he loves, who may be a better con artist and thief than even Locke himself.

Historical Fiction

If you are looking for something to read like Game of Thrones. Why not check out some Historical Fiction

Great Historical Fiction Books - Books Similar to A Song of Ice and Fire

I love a good historical fiction book. Particularly if it is well written, has a lot of action and very good characterization. If you are fan of George RR Martin there are two names you should certainly know, Bernard Cornwell and Conn Ingguldun.

While there are quite a few great historical fiction writers, both of these writers take major events and write very gritty, realistic and down-to-earth historical fiction that people who like game of thrones books are sure to enjoy.

Check out a few of the best historical fiction books that fans of the "A Song of Ice and Fire" series )(Game of Thrones) might enjoy!

The Count of Monte Cristo
The Count of Monte Cristo

The classic story of sword play, revenge, prison breaks, pirates and more. Many people have tried to do the story as well as Dumas, but no one can.

 
The Last Kingdom (The Saxon Chronicles Series #1)
The Last Kingdom (The Saxon Chronicles Series #1)

The first in a gritty and realistic series of stories based on early English history.

This is historical fiction that could easily have been written by Martin. Action packed, exciting, fun, tons of battles -and yes, you might just learn something about British history

 
Genghis: Birth of an Empire: A Novel (The Khan Dynasty)
Genghis: Birth of an Empire: A Novel (The Khan Dynasty)

You think you know the story of Gengis Khan? Trust me you don't. An incredibly well researched. details and some damn fine writing that brings new light on the man who has often been considered one of the most brutal leaders in history -yet is fiercely beloved by his own people.

 

Science Fiction

Science Fiction books that fans of George RR Martin May enjoy

Find the Best Science fiction to Read if you enjoy Game of Thrones

Science fiction Is a large and varied field. There are stories about dystopian futures, and stories about utopian futures. There are hard science stories that deal with the technical aspects of space travel and the like, as well is space operas, similar to Star Wars that are more about improbable high adventure. There are books about our near future and books about our far future there are books that are more about a social experiment and books that originally constructed to show what might actually happen. There is time travel and violent military science fiction. All of these have a place for the hard-core science fiction fan.

Below I've chosen five of what I consider the very best science fiction books. I tried to vary the categories, each one of these fills a specific niche within the science fiction field without too much overlap. If you are looking for something to read, and you enjoy game of thrones, any one of these might be a great book to fill your time. These are all well known and very popular classic science-fiction stories.

Replay
Replay

A man gets the opportunity to live his life over and over again. A serious version of "Groundhog Day" and a moving story that is one of the best time travel stories EVER. (And I am a time travel story aficianado, having ready every single one I have seen)

 
Snow Crash
Snow Crash

A rollicking adventure in the near future

 
Old Man's War
Old Man's War

Military science fiction at it's best by the modern day successor to Robert Heilein

 
Hyperion (Hyperion Cantos)
Hyperion (Hyperion Cantos)

This is a complicated and multilevel story that brings threads of everything from poetry to Canterbury Tales to a quest story together in a very interesting book that has to be read to be understood. It is simply too complicated to explain all the different threads that make the story great

 

Fans of Game of Thrones might like these other lenses - Lenses similar to this Game of Thrones lens

25 Things to do while waiting for George RR Martin to finish his damn book.
Find out some of the fun things you can do while waiting for George RR Martin to finish his damn book. It may take a while to be prepared to settle in and wait for winds of winter

Game of Thrones Merchandise
Enjoy some of this cool game of thrones merchandise and gifts you can get for the popular TV series and books

Game of Thrones Fan Stop
A fan page dedicated to George RR Martin, game of thrones in both TV and book format

2013 Game of Thrones Calendar
If you are fan of game of thrones, you might really enjoy these game of thrones calendars. There are two calendars available. One for the TV show and one for the series of books

A Game Of Thrones HBO Series
This is a lens dedicated to be HBO series version of the classic novel game of thrones

Game of Throne Toys
Cool toys for those that love the game of thrones

Game of Thrones Backstory
There is a rich back story game of thrones, that is often only barely touched upon in the TV series. If you have not read the books and want to find out what happened in the past without ruining what you may not have read and what might happen in the TV series the future this game of thrones back story guide will help you find out what happened before in game of thrones

Game Of Thrones Cast
Get introduced to the cast of HBO's popular game of thrones series

A Game Of Thrones Book and Series
Find out more about the first book of song of ice and fire trilogy…Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones Lensography
See more Game of Thrones lenses

Please leave a comment.

**Let me know your other favorite fantasy books.

**Let me know your thoughts on THESE best fantasy books.

**Let me know your thoughts on Game of Thrones. Either the TV Show or the "Song of Ice and Fire" books

**Let me know about other books worth reading.

**Let me know your other favorite books like Game of Thrones....

Thanks and have a wonderful day!

Do you have OTHER Favorite Books like Game of Thrones? - If you have other favorite fantasy books like Game of Thrones, please let me know about them here

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • JJGJJG profile image

      JJGJJG 4 years ago

      A great series, love them but hate the wait.

    • ElBat profile image

      Eleni Bat 4 years ago from Greece

      Crazy book person here!Thank you for all the new suggestions!

    • profile image

      Trapani20 4 years ago

      great choice...enjoying the show btu never read the books of game of thrones

    • zentao profile image
      Author

      zentao 4 years ago

      @Thamisgith: Thanks Glad you liked the list. :) Gemmell has been a favorite writer of mine for a LONG time. I was really sad when he died so young, and Abercrombie is an awesome newer writer. I just read "Red Country" this month. He continues to impress!

    • profile image

      Thamisgith 4 years ago

      You listed some cracking alternatives. I'd be hard pressed to pick one out as best - but David Gemmell is invariably excellent. Abercrombie is certainly gritty and always a good read.