ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Top 10 Books Like The Hunger Games

Updated on September 9, 2013

Best Books Like The Hunger Games

Looking for a list of books like The Hunger Games? Here you will find the top books like The Hunger Games that feature a variety of post-apocalyptic and dystopian worlds, challenges and captivating story plots that will keep you on edge until the end of the book! These dystopian books include series and standalones that are just as good, if not better! The novels included in the list below are all listed as top-sellers and best rated for a variety of reasons including high sales, awards received and overall ratings.

If you liked The Hunger Games and are looking for similar novels and series then you will love the ones listed below and that are part of the The Top 10 Books Like The Hunger Games.

Divergent Series by Veronica Roth - One of the Best Series of Books Like The Hunger Games

Divergent Series
Divergent Series

The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth is one of the most talked about series of books like The Hunger Games...

In a dystopian Chicago world, 15 year old Beatrice knows that her life is about to change. Her society has a yearly ritual that requires all 16 year olds to choose a faction to live by; her choices are Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). She is forced to choose a faction and be with her family, or risk it all.

After choosing her faction, which took everyone by surprise, she is changes her name and starts the grueling initiation process that requires physical testing, psychological endurance and many other harsh requirements, just to survive. Trying to discern between her real friends and the fakes, she meets a guy that could be her only chance of sanity and survival. He could also cost her everything if the society finds out the truth about a secret she has been hiding since it all began. If they find out, it will certainly mean death for Beatrice. Will they discover her secret? Will she survive?

Divergent

Insurgent

Allegiant

Divergent Series

In Divergence, 16 year old Beatrice Prior's 16th birthday will mark a major change in her life. In the dystopian Chicago world in which she lives, society is divided among 5 factions: Abnegation- the selfless, Dauntless-the brave, Erudite- the intelligent, Candor- the honest, and Amity- the peaceful. On a certain day each year, all the 16 year olds have to make the decision of which faction they will devote their life to. Beatrice struggles between choosing a fraction that will allow her to remain with her family and one the will allow her to be her true self.

When she finally makes her decision her family and family, along with herself are surprised at the outcome. After making the decision, initiation begins. She finds herself, along with other initiates, struggling under extreme physical and psychological tests. Some of those tests end with devastating consequences that change them all. Choosing between friends, romance and knowing who is real and who isn't, she finds a situation that may end society as the world knows it. It's up to her to say everyone that she loves or else risk it all being destroyed.

Divergent

Book 1

Insurgent

Book 2

Divergent Series

Box Set

Have You Read the Divergent Series?

See results

The Eleventh Plague

A Great Stand-Alone Book Like The Hunger Games

If you prefer a single book over a series then The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hircsh is a must-book! The Eleventh Plague tells the story of a 15 year old boy finds himself in a dangerous and soon-to-be deadly world after America is plagued with a deadly strain of the influenza virus that kills two-thirds of the American population, including is own family.

After merely escaping, he discovers a community that has not yet been affected and still seems normal- as if nothing ever happened throughout the rest of America. He quickly regains control of his life and things start getting back to normal until a prank devised by one of his new friends goes terribly wrong. After escaping the horror of the deadly disease he now faces something that is even worse than before!

The Eleventh Plague

The Eleventh Plague

The Eleventh Plague is about a new civilization formed through a post-apocalyptic ruin. Stephen, a teenage salvager, has heard about what America was like before the collapse of the major war with China but never experienced it.

Growing up, Stephen’s grandfather is a paranoid old man who puts his family through harsh rules. After he dies, Stephen’s father abandons their isolated life and gets severely injured trying to save slaves from the war. When Stephen lets go of his distrust for society, he is helped by a scouting party from Settler’s Landing and tries to recreate and idealized American past the way society used to be. As the story unfolds, it’s captivating plot will you entertained and wanting more.

Have You Read the The Eleventh Plague?

See results

The Compound by S. A. Bodeen

When the Safety Compound is No Longer Safe...

A family used to wealth and luxury survive a horrific outside world by staying in a compound that their father created years ago in the event that something should ever happen... which it did. After living in the compound for over 6 years, Eli and his family begin to wonder how much longer they can take it. While it's not as bad as one would think, it's also nothing to brag about. After being captive in such a confinement for over 6 years they discover that their safe house may end up being more dangerous than the world they have been hiding from. Eli is faced with the decision to choose between risking it all inside the compound or venturing to the world outside that will most likely have the same results... but of a different nature.

The Compound by S. A. Bodeen

Graceling Realm Series by Kristin Cashore

When Super Powers are Not So Super!

Graceling is another one of the top books like The Hunger Games! It's the first book of the Graceling Realm Series by Kristin Cashmore which consists of three awesome books that tell the story of a Graceling named Katsa.

In Katsa's world, everyone is born with a Grace which a special ability or skill do something with an extreme power or ability. Sounds pretty cool, huh? Well, Graces don't include your typical skills. Katsa's Grace is powerful combat skills. Unfortunately for her, she is born under the command of her uncle, Randa, who is the king of the Muddlins. Randa forces her to use her Grace to punish and torture anyone he chooses. Whether they have committed a crime or he just doesn't like them, if her orders their punishment it is Katsa's job to do the deed.

Katsa isn't the only Graceling with a combat Grace. Prince Po also shares the same ability, but it isn't until she meets him that she discovers there is more to her skill than she could have ever imagined. The truth is far from what she can conceive and the power behind it has the ability to kill seven kingdoms with a few words. Will she be able to hid the truth?

Graceling

Bitterblue

Graceling

Graceling is one of the top books like The Hunger Games. Graceling tells the story of Katsa, a Graceling who has had the ability to kill a grown man with her bare hand since she was small child. Gracelings are rare people who contain a rare skill with the ability to take down nearly any threat that comes her way.

While most Gracelings are Graced with a life of privilege with their exceptional abilities, Kasta's talents are wasted for evil. Her uncle, who is also a king, forces her to work as his thug to protect and serve. When Kasta meets Prince Po, she doesn't expect the unexpected and has no idea that her life is about to change. She soon becomes Prince Po's friend and learns the truth about her own Grace as a Graceling. She soon discovers an awful secret that threatens to destroy all of the seven kingdoms with one powerful phrase.

If you enjoyed The Hunger Games you will love Graceling! If you are up for a good death-defying challenge, a heart- racing romance, and a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat and wanting more, you have to check this book out!

Have You Read Graceling?

See results

Delirium Series by Lauren Oliver

A Beautiful Dystopian Romance Series Like The Hunger games

Imagine living in a world where love is a disease; known as 'the deliria'! Not only is it considered a disease but if you have it, the government forces you to have a surgical procedure at the age of 18 to remove it. The government is forcefully attempting to prevent love in all forms in mankind!

Being born in Portland, Maine, where love is prohibited, Lena knows that her 18th birthday is quickly approaching and that she, too, will soon be forced to face the 'cure'. She closer it gets, the more she dreads it. Leaving is not an option since citizens are prohibited from travel and even blocked by electrical fences.

Just before her procedure is scheduled to take place, Lena meets Alex. He's considered an Invalid because he never had the procedure to remove love from his soul. She knows that there could never be a future for them due to government regulations but she can't help but fall in love with him. As her deadline for the 'cure' approaches, Lena and Alex decide to escape. Shortly before the escape, Lena is captured and forced to have the surgery to cure her. Just before the procedure is to take place, Alex is determined to save her. In a brave attempt to save Lena and them both escape, something completely unexpected happens... Will Lena and Alex escape and live happily ever after or will their plan be the end of what they once knew as a 'happily ever after'?

Delirium

Pandemonium

Requiem

Delirium Trilogy

Delirium is a powerful romance sci-fi series much like The Hunger Games. In this trilogy, scientists discover that is a physical element of love- the deliria. Once it is in your blood there is no getting away from it. Now knowing that it is a physical element, scientists know how to eradicate it. With the ability to control love, the government demands that all citizens be 'cured' of love when they turn 18.

For Lena Holoway, being 'cured' is a great thing. She knows that without love there is no pain, no broken hearts, and no need to find a soul mate. For her, this demand is gladly accepted. Unfortunately, just 3 months before she turns 18, Lena finds herself deeply in love... now, it's too late to turn back, but too soon to turn 18.

Delirium

Book 1

Pandemonium

Book 2

Requiem

Book 3

Have You Read the Delirium Trilogy?

See results

The Chemical Garden Series or Wither Series

When the Human Race is Endangered by Botched Scientific Studies

Wither, the first book in The Chemical Garden Series is the beginning of a great series of books like The Hunger Games! The series is commonly known as the Whither Series as well.

Imagine a world that is overtaken by a mad-scientist. Okay not quite but pretty close! After a botched scientifice experiment, society is left with the haunting fact that males now have a short lifespan of only 25 years and females even shorter with only 20 years to live.

With lifespans of only 20-25 years, the human race is obviously endangered. As scientists and doctors work hard to find a cure for this genetic destruction, the world goes crazy- kidnappings and similar crimes are on the rise as females are being sold as polygamous brides in an attempt to repopulate the world. One of those brides are Rhine, a young female who knows her clock is ticking with less than 4 years to go. That is until she is kidnapped and marries a wealthy man who truly does love her. With the help of her husbands money and one of his servants, they quickly devise a plan to help save the human race... if they can make it work.

Wither will leave you on the edge of your seats with a fast past sci-fi tale of a botched world. After a botched effort to create a new human race, males now have a short lifespan of 25 years while females have a lifespan of only 20. This gruesome reality leaves the world in a state of panic knowing that they will all soon die of a young age. While geneticists seek to create a miracle antidote to fix the problem, crime and poverty is everywhere.

Wither #1

Fever #2

Sever #3

Have You Read the Chemical Garden Series?

Have You Read Wither?

See results

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

A 1980s Sci-Fy Horror that Makes the Top 10!

In the 1980s author Margaret Atwood hit a home-run with her book The Handmaid's Tale. While the book was a hit decades ago, it has since made a new entrance with dystopian fans. Mainly, because it is one of the many great books like The Hunger Games.

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Handmaid's Tale

The Handmaid's Tale is one of the top books like The Hunger Games. Wickedly good, fast paced and captivating.

Ofred used to live with her husband Luke and daughter. She used to work a full time job, come home, spend time with and family and all the other normal things a wife would do. Now, Offred lives in the Republic of a Gilead and is a Handmaid for the commander. She only leaves the premises to once a day in order to walk to the market to get items needed for the family.

The street signs and billboards are much different than they used to be. These signs are all made of pictures since women are not allowed to read. She has to sleep with the Commander once a month and hope that she gets pregnant or else she isn't useful. In their society, Handmaids are only considered worth keeping if their ovaries are producing and they have the ability to bare children. But as their age decreases and their ability to reproduce declines, what happens when they can no longer bare children?

Have You Read The Handmaid's Tale?

See results

Matched Trilogy

Fabulous Dystopian Series by Ally Condie

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate, that is- until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Matched #1

Crossed #2

Reached #3

Matched Trilogy Box Set

The Matched Trilogy, by Ally Condie, is one of the best series of books like The Hunger Games. The Matched Trilogy starts with the first book, Matched, followed by Crossed, and then Reached being the finale to this awesome series.

In the book Matched, Cassie relies on the 'Society' to make most of her decisions on life. Going with the latest trends, beliefs and conceptions, she goes with the flow and follows the beliefs and the world on what is right and what is wrong.

When Cassie sees Xander's face on the big screen at her Matching ceremony she knows she has found her soul mate. Once she sees a quick flash of Ky's face on the screen it quickly fades to black and the Society tells her it's a malfunction in the system and that her life with Xander will be perfect.

As she lives out her days and slowly falls in love with Xander she can't help but think of Ky, the face that briefly appeared on the screen that the Society swore was a glitch. As Cassie begins to realized that the Society was wrong she faced with the task of choosing between Xander and Ky, and between the only knife she knows and one that no one else has ever been brave enough to go after.

Matched

Book 1

Crossed

Book 2

Reached

Book 3

Have You Read the Matched Trilogy?

See results

The Elephant Tree

Another Great Standalone Book

The Elephant Tree is another one of the top books similar to The Hunger Games. Scott is a 24 year old who works for his brother full time, but is also a small-scale drug dealer to dry to make ends meet. He gets is drug supply from Angela, a 23 years old who has already been labeled a career offender.

After a series of attacks on local nightclubs, investigator Mark Fallon is the lead detective on the case of nightclub attacks which leads him to Scott and Angela. As the investigation becomes more evident, Mark, Angela and Scott quickly realize that the present times are linked to the past which reveal the reality of an apocalyptic event in the making.

The Elephant Tree

The Elephant Tree

The Elephant Tree is a story about Mark Fallon, an overworked detective who has been tasked with investigating a string of attacks at several local nightclubs. It isn't long before his investigation leads him to the steps of Scott and Angela.

Scott, a 24 year old who operates a small-scale drug dealing ring to make ends meet for him and his brother. Angela is a very attractive 23 year old raised by her father who is the major drug dealer that just happens to supply Scott with his product. When the investigation leads the two together things spiral into an apocalyptic climax where you don't know who to trust from one person to the next.

With Investigator Fallon hot on their heals, it doesn't take long for it to all unfold... but who are really the bad guys and who are the innocent?

Have You Read The Elephant Tree?

See results

The Scorpio Races

The Scorpio Races is a book based on the story of the Celtic Water Horse. In the story The Scorpio Races, water horses rise from the black sea and gallop along the beach beneath the cliffs of the tiny island called Thisby. Every year, several men go out and capture these horses and use them for a deadly horse race.

The only way to win is to survive. This year, Sean, a newcomer, will find that he more to gain and more to lose than ever before. If you are want to read a captivating book like The Hunger Games, this one is it! It will keep you on the edge of your seat wanting more.

Have You Read The Scorpio Races?

See results

Have you read other books like The Hunger Games? The best way to choose a good book is by the reviews, suggestions and recommendations of other readers. With that in mind, if you have have know of other good books similar to these, please share them here so that other readers can enjoy them as well!

What are Your Favorite Books Like The Hunger Games? Share Your Suggestions!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Try the Selection series!