ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

8 Books like the Da Vinci Code

Updated on January 3, 2015

The Da Vinci Code

Cover after cover. Synopsis after synopsis. I was looking for books like the Da Vinci Code, but what did I find. Nothing. A whole lot of paper. Now my normal addiction with a series usually wears off, but I couldn’t kick it. So I decided to start the search. I went high and low looking for books similar to the Da Vinci Code. It wasn’t easy, but I got you a list that you can look through and hopefully find something you like.


P.S. All the books on this list have higher ratings than the Da Vinci Code received on Goodreads.

8 Books like the Da Vinci Code

Demiurge: Blood of the Innocent by Michael Hagan

My instinct after reading Demiurge was that I needed something with a little mystery mixed with a little prophecy to wean myself off of the Da Vinci Code. Luckily I found a hit that was perfectly what I wanted. Demiurge offers a little bit of everything. It has a great mystery with a detective searching for a group of mass murders while there is a hidden prophecy guiding everything. Not to mention the twists and turns and the ending catches you and starts again! I loved every minute of it. It is the highest rated book here and is truly a winner. Check out the reviews on Goodreads.

The Eight by Katherine Neville

Similar in writing to both the Da Vinci Code and Kate Mosse’s The Labyrinth. The Eight is better than both. Although some parts and characters are a bit out to the wind it is one of the most entertaining novels read in a while. This was written before Dan Brown even touched into to paper with the Da Vinci Code and you could even say this one paved the way for his novel.

Foucault's Pendulum by Umberto Eco

From Italian to English this translation will grab you by the ear and hold you with a magical power. This is a great book that is very similar to The Da Vinci Code, but written earlier and maybe with better detail. This book brings conspiracies, Knight’s Templar and mystery all into one. It is a deep novel that will take you into the details of history and legend while backing it all up and making you turn the pages as quick as you can read.

The Sparrow: A Novel by Mary Doria Russell

Finding extraterrestrials crosses the lines of where Da Vinci Code ends and it enters its own world of faith, god, humanity, and religion. Although I will say this is not a religious or Christian book it definitely makes you think and question. It speaks openly about religion but entertains you in ways so reminiscent of the Da Vinci Code.

The Last Day by Glenn Kleiner

The third highest rated book on this list will bring historical detail and gripping future events into light. The thought provoking questions and challenge to daily religion really grip you, but it also has great characters, plot and suspense. It will take you on a journey of what could be and what if.


The Hunt for Atlantis by Andy McDermott

This book grabs a hold of you and entertains your from start to finish. When a billionaire funds a search for Atlantis you know that something good is going to happen. This twisted treasure hunt grabs you by the ears and screams, “READ ON!” The story moves fast and there is lots of action.

The Expected One by Kathleen McGowan

This book seems to always be compared to the Da Vinci Code because of the parallels between them in Mary Magdalene. This one takes you back 2,000 years into the life of Mary Magdalene and how her blood lines are traced back to current times. It also bring in accurate history, secret societies, and a great plot.

Agony of the Gods by Tom Wolosz


If you are looking for something a little bit different with a murder mystery tinge, this sci-fi mystery will also make you wonder how to treat those around you and how the world may be shaped by the ‘gods.’ I would say this could be the highest rated if it wasn’t so far outside of the Da Vinci Code that the similarities are hard to imagine, but it is still a book that will grab you and make you read on.


What is the best book in the list?

See results

Authors like Dan Brown

For legal thrillers in general, look at books by:

John Grisham
Philip Margolin
Steve Martini
Richard North Patterson
Scott Turow

For mysteries with a legal theme, you may like:

Antonia Fraser
John Lescroart
Lia Matera
Perri O'Shaughnessy
Kate Wilhelm

© 2014 William

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • somethgblue profile image

      somethgblue 2 years ago from Shelbyville, Tennessee

      The Eight was an awesome read and I often have wondered if I had the secret formula to immortality would I be willing to share it, after all I love my Mom but am not at all sure I'd be willing to spend eternity with her.

      Thanx for the heads up on some interesting books to read.

    • bookkus profile image
      Author

      William 2 years ago

      I am glad you liked The Eight too!

    • somethgblue profile image

      somethgblue 2 years ago from Shelbyville, Tennessee

      It makes you wonder if the 'Montglaine' Service the chess set actually exists, as it seemed like a very real possibility?

    Click to Rate This Article