ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Books Like The Mortal Instruments

Updated on October 24, 2014

Other Books Like The Mortal Instruments

If you are looking for books like The Mortal Instruments written by Cassandra Clare, then you should check out my top choices below.

I've been reading books in the fantasy genre since I was a little girl and continue to make time in my daily life to continue to delve into new worlds and realms. I recently read The Mortal Instruments book series when I saw the trailer for the upcoming movie. Naturally, I compared it to other fantasy series I have read. I know that others will like this book series and might want to read more novels that are written in the same easy manner and with a similar plot.

These reading choices will hopefully keep you busy while you wait for the movie to air in cinema's in August, and also the wait if they decide to continue and make more movies based on the books. I have read and enjoyed all of the books recommended below. I hope you enjoy them as much or more than I did.


Clockwork Angel

The Infernal Devices Trilogy also by Cassandra Clare

When it comes to finding more books like the Mortal Instruments series, then it only makes logical sense to start with the same author and the same world.

Cassandra Clare revamps (no pun intended) her world of Shadowhunters and Downworlders in Clockwork Angel, the first book of The Infernal Devices trilogy. This time, she takes the reader back into the Victorian era and tells a similar tale of the struggle of the survival and ultimate destruction of the Shadowhunters.

Like Clary in City of Bones, Tessa is also part Angel and she doesn't know. However, she has different abilities from Clary and is searching for her brother. Tessa is also stuck in a love triangle that could change the future and could cause a lot of pain when she chooses, or rejects, one of the young men fighting for her love.

However, ultimately she may have to decide between love, magic and her family.

The Mortals Instruments Poll

Have You Read The Mortal Instruments?

See results

Great Books Like Mortal Instruments

True Blood Season 1 Trailer

Dead Until Dark

The Sookie Stackhouse Novels by Charlaine Harris

If you are a fan of vampires and other supernatural creatures then you have probably heard of the True Blood TV series. Well that TV show is based on the Charlaine Harris novels that make up the Sookie Stackhouse series.

I find that these are similar to the Mortal Instruments series in that there are lots of supernatural creatures. In the City of Bones, you have vampires and werewolves. In True Blood you have these too, but instead of Angels you have Fairies.

Clary believes she is a normal girl and has no clue she is a Shadowhunter. In the first of the Sookie novels called Dead Until Dark, Sookie knows she's different from everyone else. She can read people's thoughts, but has no idea why. She eventually finds out that she is part Fairy.

Sookie is stuck in a number of love triangles in different parts of the series, just like Clary. She also saves her family members, her town and the world more often than she'd probably like to admit.

These books are really easy reads just like the Cassandra Clare books. I read the complete series in record time and watch the TV show religiously. It's one of my favorite shows on the TV and I wait eagerly every year for it to return.

The Initiation

The Secret Circle Series by L.J. Smith

I think the first book of The Secret Circle series is very similar to City of Bones.

In the first book of the Mortal Instruments series, Clary's mother is attacked and is in a coma. In the Initiation, Cassie's mum is attacked in her home and is killed. Both events change the main characters lives forever, and sets them on a new path where they finally discover who their parents were and ultimately who they are too.

Clary has no clue who are real father is, and neither does Cassie. These are just some of the secrets hidden in their families past.

Cassie moves in with her grandmother and meets some new kids that find her fascinating. She quickly learns that the world is not what she thought it was and that there are other layers hidden in front of her. When she discovers she belongs to a long line of powerful witches, her life is endangered as there are others who covet her power. There are also other supernatural forces at work including demons.

And of course, there's the mandatory love triangle.

And what will happen when Cassie faces her father, like Clary had to do in the last two books of the series?

I'm hoping the Mortal Instruments movie is more successful than the Secret Circle TV show was.

The Secret Circle TV Show Trailer

The Awakening

The Vampire Diaries Series by L.J.Smith

L.J. Smith does it again with her other supernatural series. This time the tale surrounds a girl called Elena. She has recently lost her parents and is trying to cope with going to school and being normal etc. She meets the new boy in class and is instantly attracted.

Elena has no clue who this newcomer is or that he is a supernatural being. She also has no clue that she's a Doppelganger and looks like someone else that was hounded by the oldest vampire on Earth.

As he books progress, Elena comes into contact with more weird and wacky things that go bump in the night. Her friend is a witch and she finds herself in a complicated love triangle between two brothers.

When the past comes pounding on her door, she has no option but to face it head on. There's nowhere to hide.

The Vampire Diaries Season 1 Trailer

The Mortal Instruments Movie Trailer

The Hidden Fantasy Hero

It's common in fantasy books to have the hero secreted away at birth. Or to have an unsuspected hero that has no clue of their origins.

Sometimes their history is that they are nobility hidden away to protect them.

In Clary's case, her mother didn't want her to endanger herself as most Shadowhunters don't live long due to the dangers of the job.

Magic, secrets, supernatural creatures, love triangles and an easy read are some of the factors I have used to choose these books.

Other Books Similar to The Mortal Instruments

Pawn of Prophecy

The Belgariad by David Eddings

Like Clary, Garion has no idea about his parentage and the special powers he has inherited.

As a child he's been hidden away on a farm by his Aunt Pol. Although she is a relative, she's more like his great, great, great, great, great Aunt Pol and the same applies to his grandfather.

His Aunt and Grandfather are actually two of the strongest and smartest magicians in the land. They have hidden Garion in the quiet countryside as a God is out to destroy his line. Only someone of Garion's line can kill the evil God Torak.

Garion will have to go on a long journey, learn to use his powers and find something that's been missing for centuries, if he has any chance of destroying the force behind the death of his parents and other relatives.

Wizard's First Rule

The Sword of Truth Book Series by Terry Goodkind

When Richard's mother dies he suddenly losses everything that grounded him and kept him safe.

Richard had no idea that he was the son to the most hated man of the realm. A man that is only talked about in hushed tones and who is also a master Magician, but power hungry and would do anything to get his own way.

He must help protect the female ruler of the land called Kahlan and make up for the wrongs of his father. However, he has very little help and needs to learn how to control the magical abilities he has suddenly developed. If he does not control his abilities in time they will destroy him.

His maternal grandfather can help a little, but magic is not easily taught or understood, and many would be magician's lose their lives in the process.

Richard has many tough decisions ahead of him and each of the half siblings he meets on his journey have secrets and abilities of their own.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Book 1 of The Harry Potter Book Series by J.K. Rowling

Clary lives in the normal world just like Harry Potter does. Well that is before he finds out he's not a Muggle like the rest of us. Just like when Clary finds out she's not a Mundane, but a Shadowhunter instead. Clary can see things that others can't just like Harry can see the train at the special platform that normal people can't see.

In Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Harry finds himself in a new world, learning to wield his magical powers, all while trying to keep the past in the past. Unfortunately, just like Clary, the past keeps pushing into his life. The death of his parents has left Harry with lots of questions and he knows there are secrets to uncover. However, at heart he's still just a boy trying to make new friends, stay out of trouble and find a way to learn how to control his abilities.

Along the way Harry meets some weird and wonderful beings and creatures.

Most people will have read the Harry Potter book series, but there so many similarities between the two stories that I have to list it here.

Have You Read These Books or Planning to Read Them? - Do You Have Any Suggestions I Can Add to This List?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.