ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Top 10 Books Like Warm Bodies

Updated on September 28, 2014

Other Books Like Warm Bodies

I love the Warm Bodies book and have read a number of books like Warm Bodies. I thought I would share ten books that I have found that are similar not only in terms of the type of story, but also in the sarcastic tone and strange romance included in the story too.

Although I am a huge fan of reading and especially love fantasy and sci-fi novels, I found this book to have unique aspects that are not found typically in the genre. I instantly fell in love with the book and it made me compare it to other zombie novels I have read in the past.

With the movie having recently aired in cinema's, everyone's rushing out to get this book. It's not just zombie fans or fans of horror looking for similar books. Many people will be looking for other books like this one because it covers so many genre's. Yes, it's about zombies but it's also a love story and very funny. I guess it's also a horror rom-com.

Did you like this book/movie because R is sexy?

Top 10 Books Like Warm Bodies

Allison Hewitt Is Trapped

Book 1 of Madeleine Roux Zombie Novels

This book is very similar to Warm Bodies and there is a lot of sarcasm in there too.

When the zombie apocalypse happens a library assistant called Alison finds her life taking a new direction.

In order to cope with fighting zombies, she decides to blog about her daily fight for survival.

The Reapers are the Angels
The Reapers are the Angels

The Reapers Are the Angels

Book 1 of the Reapers Series Written by Alden Bell

This book tackles the question of what it is to be human, like Warm Bodies does.

What's the difference between the "meateaters" and the people trying to survive when they have become hard and cold and would do anything to survive?

This book will make you cry in places, so you have been warned.

The First Days
The First Days

The First Days

Book 1 of the As The World Dies Series Written By Rhiannon Frater

How would you survive the first few days of a zombie outbreak?

Read this book to find out how these characters did it.

Warm Bodies Poll

Have You Read Warm Bodies?

See results

Dead of Night - Written By Johnathan Maberry

Dead of Night: A Zombie Novel (Dead of Night Series)
Dead of Night: A Zombie Novel (Dead of Night Series)

If you liked hearing what it was like to be a zombie from R's perspective then you'll love this book about zombies.

 

Aftertime - Book 1 of The Aftertime Series Written By Sophie Littlefield

Aftertime (An Aftertime Novel)
Aftertime (An Aftertime Novel)

This book is like Warm Bodies because one of the characters was a zombie but becomes human again. However, no one trusts her except for Smoke. Just like no-one trusts R in Warm Bodies, except for Anna.

 

Warm Bodies Trailer

Warm Bodies Fans May Also Like...

Raising Stony Mayhall - Written By Daryl Gregory

Raising Stony Mayhall
Raising Stony Mayhall

Stony is born a zombie, but it doesn't stop him from having human emotions. Is it because he's raised by a normal family and has three sisters?

He's similar to R in that he has emotions.

 

Feed - Book 1 Of The Newsflesh Trilogy Written By Mira Grant

Feed (Newsflesh, Book 1)
Feed (Newsflesh, Book 1)

A virus breaks out causing people to become zombies. However, this doesn't stop a special group of bloggers from hitting the campaign trail and trying to get their representative elected to the White House.

If you liked the humor of Warm Bodies then you'll appreciate this book.

 

Zombies Don't Cry - Book 1 Of The Living Dead Love Story Series By Rusty Fischer

Zombies Don't Cry (A Living Dead Love Story)
Zombies Don't Cry (A Living Dead Love Story)

This is a similar book to Warm Bodies because there are good zombies and bad zombies. I don't want to spoil the rest of the book for you, but if you liked Warm Bodies, then you'll love Zombies Don't Cry!

 

My Life as A White Trash Zombie - Book 1 Of The Series Written By Diana Rowland

My Life as A White Trash Zombie
My Life as A White Trash Zombie

A high school drop-out turns her life around after becoming a zombie. Makes for funny reading.

 

Married with Zombies - Book 1 Of The Living with the Dead Series By Jesse Peterson

Married with Zombies (Living with the Dead, Book 1)
Married with Zombies (Living with the Dead, Book 1)

What if a you were on your way to see your marriage counselor when the zombie apocalypse broke out? Who would kill you first: the zombies, or your partner?

 

Looking For More Zombie Books Like Warm Bodies?

TV Shows and Movies

Like Warm Bodies

Other Funny Zombie Movies

Zombieland
Zombieland

Hilariously funny Zombie movie starring Woody Harrelson, Jesse Eisenberg and Emma Stone. If you haven't seen this zombie movie then you don't know what you are missing!

 
Shaun of the Dead
Shaun of the Dead

A funny look at the zombie apocalypse. If you love zombie movies with a funny side, then you'll like Shaun of the Dead.

 

The Walking Dead TV Show

I watch the Walking Dead religiously every week. It always keeps me glued to the screen and the living dead isn't even why I like it. It's about the struggle of the survivors. The lengths people will go to survive and also what they are willing to do to each other to keep going for another day.

Some of the scenes are so disturbing because the way the characters behave is normal to them. You suddenly realize what actually happened at the end of the episode and you are left thinking "what the hell?" The characters humanity is slowly eroded week by week....

Will You Read These Books Like Warm Bodies?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • AnnabreeWrites profile image

      AnnabreeWrites 4 years ago

      I've read Warm Bodies and LOVED it! Therefore, it's nice to have books like it... some of these are defiantly going on my "To Read" list! :) Thanks for the great lens.

    • tophatpro profile image
      Author

      tophatpro 4 years ago

      @johnonsquidoo: Sorry to hear that John. I liked the ending and what happened to the Dad. I didn't see that coming.

      I hope you enjoy some of the other choices on this page because they are some of my favorite zombie books. Some of them are really funny.

    • johnonsquidoo profile image

      johnonsquidoo 4 years ago

      I wasn't a hug fan of the book, I felt it got lost a fair bit in the middle third. It felt as if we were being forced to empathise with R. I can see why it was popular though, maybe just not my taste. Some interesting suggestions though, will certainly explore some of these.

    • profile image

      myspace9 4 years ago

      Wonderful lens.

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 4 years ago

      Some of these look really good.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      I am not sure as I have not read one yet. It is in my list now.