ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Booktube: Book reviewers, and book lovers on Youtube

Updated on January 11, 2015

What is Booktube?

Booktube is a community of book lovers on Youtube who vlog (video blogging) about books. They come in different ages, like different genres, make different types of vlogs, but they all love reading. Surprisingly from all over the world too. Every week a majority of booktubers used to make a videos called #fridayreads, which is an original hashtag from Twitter. A booktube member named Bunny Cates thought it would be a fun vlogging experience and a way to show the actual books to the viewer. So every week tubers make a video sharing what they will be reading that weekend. Since Google has made drastic changes to Youtube less people make these themed videos. Some make Tag videos were they follow a set of rules, and make a game out of sharing books that they own. Some do reviews or just show books that they have purchased and plan on reading. It is a fun, and interesting way to share the love of reading. I wanted to create this lens to share this community with other book lovers who may not have heard of it. I have chosen a few varying members of this community. There are so many, and they are in no particular order.

Geekpronvlogs / The book geek - This is an example from my channel......

Scifi, Fantasy, Comics, Horror, bookhauls, and more.

Booktuber?

Want to be featured too?

Are you a booktuber?

Would you like to be featured too?

Simply send me a message to my youtube account with the following info - 

Your channel name, what you're about....ex.) genre's you read , Reviews?, Tags, What do you bring to booktube?, and include a link to the video that you want featured.


One last thing after you do all of that....simply like this page, and share it with other booktubers.

Bunny Cates - #fridayreads, horror, YA, tags, book hauls, and more

Book Clubs?

Tubers use a number of different online resources to share their love of reading besides Youtube, and do this online because not enough of their real life friends share this passion for books. A number of them have Twitter accounts to share vids or communicate with others in the community. Some have Facebook fanpages or Googleplus pages in order to particpate in live hangouts where they can review or discuss a book of the month. I have heard of other reading friendly sites, but goodreads is the primary one that most seem to prefer. Goodreads is a good site to see what your friends are reading and to get recommendations based on books that you have already read.

While a majority of the community is focused on the Young Adult genre, and you will find many community members who mainly read these types of books.

Book Clubs - Or Reading social circle

Do you prefer a live book club or a virtual one online?

See results

BookTubing Amy

Books that I Read/Review: Romance Novels (ex: Christy Reece, Kerrelyn Sparks, and Lyndsay Sands)

I do tag reviews, bookshelf tours, and real reviews as well as series reviews. I put out a new video every Monday and I have been doing real well with putting out videos every Friday too for #Friday Reads

Scaly Reads....

a booktube channel, but I also use it to talk about writing, drawings that go with my reading and writing, I vlog a bit, play some video games, and do some reviews on media.

Some more Booktubers

And what they are about....

Debra's Book Cafe - She reviews Chick Lit, a few YA, and some other reviews at times. http://www.youtube.com/user/DebrasBookCafe

ReadingBukowski - Her name is Claire and she reviews Classics, Contemporary and YA. http://www.youtube.com/user/ReadingBukowski

Theonejingles29 - Comics ,Graphic Novels, and Horror. http://www.youtube.com/user/Theonejingles29

Burning Books (aka Caleb J. Ross) - Videos about books, writing, and other general nerdery from an author (5 books of fiction) having fun with a new (to me) medium. My focus is making capital L Literature less intimidating by making it funny. I also co-host the bi-weekly BookTube LIVE Hangout which alternates between my channel and Liz's channel (youtube.com/elizziebooks). http://www.youtube.com/user/calebjross

We Read Books - We are a group of Youtubers who love to read and have come together to provide book recommendations and reviews. We Read Books. A lot. There are 8 of us and we're from all over the world! Enjoy our book reviews! http://www.youtube.com/user/WeReadBooks

Elena Boteva- I do tags, I actually really like those, but also reviews/book talks, wrap ups and TBR lists, book reading challenges and other random things.

I do do a lot of YA, but I also do adult romance books. I have to say I a lot of supernatural books :-)

Frenchie Dee - talk about books, book related events and issues, tags, #FridayReads, book spine poetry, and of course hauls. http://www.youtube.com/user/frenchiedee

Namaste Books- Indian Booktuber I read everything except contemporary. I plan on doing hauls,book reviews, wrap ups and tag videos. http://www.youtube.com/user/MsNamasteBooks

Helen the Book Owl

I'm from Denmark. I love to read a variety of genres, but my favourite genres are Young Adult and Fantasy (and my reviews are mostly about that kind of books). However, I also love to grab a classic from time to time, or a biography or a chick lit book.

On my channel, I only do videos about books. I do Book Hauls, Book Reviews, Book Tags, Wrap Ups, and I also plan to do "Great Book Coming Out in (the season)" videos.

Adam and Karate - Couple who does book reviews, tags, vlogs, and read nonfiction and a variety of fiction.

Questions & Comments - Anything you would like to know?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • asereht1970 profile image

      asereht1970 

      4 years ago

      I didn't know there is a BookTube. Thanks for the information. Great lens.

    • Linda BookLady profile image

      Linda Jo Martin 

      4 years ago from Post Falls, Idaho, USA

      I love watching the Booktube videos and started making my own Booktubing videos... I will add this lens to my Booktubers Pinterest board.

    • Judy Filarecki profile image

      Judy Filarecki 

      4 years ago from SW Arizona and Northern New York

      Thanks for sharing this. It sounds like something I would like to take a look at. I never realized there was such a thing on Youtube

    • natashaely profile image

      natashaely 

      5 years ago

      This is excellent, I have an online reading group but this sounds perfect for me!

    • mcstacy profile image

      mcstacy 

      5 years ago

      Never knew. Good lens.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      This is the first time I've heard of this.

    • mojoCNYartist profile imageAUTHOR

      Dan 

      5 years ago from CNY

      @l-may: They are way better than the show in my opinion. I wish the show had followed the books.

    • l-may profile image

      l-may 

      5 years ago

      I never could get into the Dexter TV show but the books sound more interesting!

    • takkhisa profile image

      Takkhis 

      5 years ago

      I would like to check it out, thanks for sharing :)

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      5 years ago

      I love reading(oops supposed to be writing...well they go together. I need more eyes.) This resource is a winner.

    • JamieHopes LM profile image

      JamieHopes LM 

      5 years ago

      I am an avid reader but never heard of BookTube. I will check it out. Thanks for sharing.

    • Underrated profile image

      Underrated 

      5 years ago

      Great lens

    • profile image

      Aunt-Mollie 

      5 years ago

      I never heard of this before. Thank you so much for writing this article!

    • mojoCNYartist profile imageAUTHOR

      Dan 

      5 years ago from CNY

      @anonymous: Keep checking back, because I'm adding new people to it almost every day.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      5 years ago

      I didn't know they had this. Thanks for sharing!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)