ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Children's Biography Review: Who Was Walt Disney?

Updated on April 21, 2017
DeborahDian profile image

Deborah Dian, a published author and voracious reader, often shares books with her friends and family. She loves to write reviews!

Every Child Wants to Read Anything That Has to Do with Disney's Creations. They Are Especially Interested in the Man Himself - Walt Disney!

Cinderella's Castle is just one of the many creations that came out of Walt Disney's fertile mind.
Cinderella's Castle is just one of the many creations that came out of Walt Disney's fertile mind. | Source

Biographies Are a Fun Way to Open Up Your Child's Mind

When I was a little girl, Walt Disney was at the height of his fame. He was the brains behind the first Disneyland in Anaheim, California, which I visited for the first time when I was only eleven years old. He was also the animator behind Mickey Mouse and he appeared regularly to introduce Disney movies and TV shows when they were first shown on television. In fact, nearly every child who grew up in the 1950s and 1960s would have recognized Walt Disney if they met him walking the street.

However, what did we really know about the man?

When I read this biography, "Who Was Walt Disney?" to my grandchildren, I realized that I knew very little about his childhood or his life outside of the Disney Corporation. For example, even though I grew up in the State of Missouri, I did not know until I read this book to my grandchildren that Walt Disney also grew up in Missouri. In fact, the small towns which we both loved in the Midwest were the inspiration behind the Main Street area in his theme parks. No wonder I have always been charmed when I strolled along Main Street at the Disney theme park near my home! It reminds me of some of the small towns where I was raised.

While even preschoolers who love Mickey Mouse and the other Disney characters will enjoy having this book read to them, it is also an appropriate early reader for children up to about 4th or 5th Grade. If you have a child who needs to read a biography and write a book report for elementary school, this book would be an excellent choice. The vocabulary level is ideal for the average 3rd or 4th Grader, it is not too long, and Walt Disney is a person whose life will really interest them.

Looking for a fun book to give as a gift for a child in your life? This is one I can enthusiastically recommend!

You can order the book from Amazon by using the link below. In addition, read on to see another biography which was written specifically for children. What a wonderful way to interest your children in reading and expand their knowledge at the same time.

What Do You Know About Walt Disney? You Are Likely to Learn a Lot from This Book, Too!

Who Was Walt Disney?
Who Was Walt Disney?

Most of today's children do not have any idea how Disneyland and the Disney empire came into existence. In fact, most parents do not know the history of Disneyland, either.

Elementary age children will love to read this book or, for younger kids, have it read to them.

 

Another Biography You Can Read to Preschoolers and Early Elementary Children - They all Love Dr. Seuss!

One of the best ways to teach your children about interesting people and the world around them is by reading them biographies. A well-written biography, such the ones mentioned in this article, are books which kids will really enjoy and remember for years to come. In fact, they will want you to read these books to them over and over again! Eventually, they will enjoy being able to read them on their own.

Dr. Seuss wrote some of the most delightful books which parents often love to read to young children. What parent hasn't had a wonderful time reading "Green Eggs and Ham" or one of the other Dr. Seuss books to their children?

How much do you know about Dr. Seuss himself, however? He was actually a very interesting person and your children will love to know more about him. So will you!

Dr. Seuss is Another Person Children Will Want to Know About

Who Was Dr. Seuss?
Who Was Dr. Seuss?

Does your child love Dr. Seuss? They will be delighted to read this charming book about his life!

One you have read "The Cat in the Hat" or "Green Eggs and Ham" to your children, they will want to know more about the man who wrote these and many other charming children's books.

 

If you child enjoyed the book about Walt Disney, you might also want to show them this short video about him!

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      3 years ago from Orange County, California

      TreasuresBrenda - Thank you for reading and commenting. This book on Walt Disney, and other biographies for kids, can really help a child learn more about important people who affected their life.

    • DeborahDian profile imageAUTHOR

      Deborah Carr 

      3 years ago from Orange County, California

      "Who Was Walt Disney" is a book that children will love to have read to them. They will also enjoy the other books for kids that are mentioned in this article.

    • TreasuresBrenda profile image

      Treasures By Brenda 

      3 years ago from Canada

      Sounds like an interesting book. I've always been fascinated by the man and his world.

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 

      4 years ago from Arkansas USA

      What a wonderful idea, reading biographies of people such as Walt Disney to children. You never know what kind of spark might be lighted in those little heads.

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 

      4 years ago from Colorado

      These are the types of books that can truly inspire a child to become the next creative genius. What a great series.

    • profile image

      siskiyoucowgirl 

      4 years ago

      This looks like an interesting book! I really loved getting to visit Disneyland this past year!

    • cdotthought profile image

      cdotthought 

      4 years ago

      This looks like a really wonderful series, thanks for the review!

    • tedwritesstuff24 profile image

      TedWritesStuff 

      4 years ago

      LOL.. I actually thought this was a tongue in cheek title..But no, there is a childrens book all about Mr Disney.. I hope it isn't as bland and sanitised as all his companies current work. Also I must admit there are probably about 1,000,000 people I would prefer to educate my children about. Not a fan ;-).

    • ismeedee profile image

      ismeedee 

      4 years ago

      Fantastic books!

    • profile image

      SteveKaye 

      4 years ago

      Great review.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      4 years ago

      Some great suggestions here, not only in your lens but within these comments too. Great stuff!

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 

      4 years ago from Seattle, WA

      sounds like a great intro to Walt Disney for kids (and probably grown ups too!) pinned here: http://www.pinterest.com/shewanders2/read-it-watch...

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Love Walt Disney and Disneyland. I grew up with them too--first choice for birthday celebrations. These biographies for children all look so fun and interesting. What a great way to interest them in the people behind many of our popular places and inventions. Great lens!

    • TerriCarr profile image

      TerriCarr 

      4 years ago

      Seems like some of your titles are garbled!

    • profile image

      GrammieOlivia 

      4 years ago

      Love Walt!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)