ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • How to Write

7 Websites Where you Can Get Your Kindle Book Reviewed

Updated on November 12, 2012

Getting Kindle book reviews WILL enhance your sales

After several months of selling my ebooks on Amazon, I've come to believe in two key things. #1... you definitely need to write more than a couple of Kindle books if you truly want to build a sustainable residual income source. And #2... promoting your Kindle books can really make a difference in the number of sales you get.

When I first got started on Amazon I promoted my ebooks heavily during the first month. While sales weren't through the roof, they were slightly better than the second month when I did no marketing.

It's not that you need to be promoting your ebooks 24-7. I recommend you do the bulk of your marketing during your first two months after publishing and maybe every six months or so to keep the momentum going on your top sellers.

Your primary focus should be on getting reviews. And that's where this article comes into play. Below you'll find several sites where you can submit your Kindle book for review.

1) Kindle Obsessed

Kindle Obsessed is run by one Misty Baker, a voracious reader who enjoys dystopian literature (ie Hunger Games) and paranormal-esque reading. She adores zombies and vampires and things that make you go gulp in the night.

On her Review Request page she claims to accept all genres, but I'm thinking it might be best to stick with the types of books she has featured on her site. In fact, check out what she's currently reading HERE.

After you send Misty details about your Kindle book, allow 72 hours for her to either give you the thumbs up (yes I'll review your book), or a thumbs down (sorry, not my cup of tea). From there it could take anywhere from 1-3 months for your book review to be posted on her website.

2) Indie Author Book Reviews

Author Anne Chaconas runs the Indie Author Book Reviews blog. She does book reviews and author interviews... she accepts guest bloggers and she'll even promote your giveaway. Reviews are posted on the Indie Author Book Reviews blog, Amazon, BN, Smashwords, GoodReads, LibraryThing and Shelfari. If your title is accepted for review, you'll be emailed within a week.

Preference is given to: general fiction, women's literature, chick lit, literary fiction, historical fiction, romance, thrillers, mysteries, dramas and young adult titles.

She may also consider: memoirs, biographies, humor, sci-fi, fantasy, horror and non-fiction.

Unless you're on a blog tour, reviews may take as long as 3-4 months to go live. For details on submitting your book for review go HERE.

3) Cath 'n' Kindle Book Reviews

Cathy Speight enjoys reading everything except Christian fiction. What is 'everything' exactly?

Well according to the categories on her website she has reviewed books in the following genres: chick lit, children's, contemporary, crime/thriller/mystery/suspense, dog fiction, erotica, historical, horror, humor, non-fiction, romance, sci-fi/fantasy, short stories, urban fantasy, women's fiction and young adult.

If you'd like Cathy to review your book, send her a private message on Facebook or email her at (cathyspeight54@hotmail.com).

4) Romancing the Book

Romancing the Book is all about love, romance and everything in between. They review sub-genres like: adventure, adult themes, anthology, biography, chick lit, contemporary, fantasy, futuristic, historical, horror, inspiration, interracial, mystery, non-fiction, paranormal, sci-fi, steampunk, suspense, time travel, urban fantasy, western and young adult.

To get the ball rolling you'll need to submit information about your Kindle book here. If one of their reviewers is interested in reviewing it, they'll ask you for a review copy. A review of your Kindle book will appear on their site 4-6 weeks after you've submitted it.

5) BigAl's Books & Pals

Hurray for BigAl's for focusing on indie (independent) authors who are Kindle (and Nook) published. His blog is a hotbed of review activity.

All genres of fiction and many segments of non-fiction are accepted here. Non-fiction must be targeted to a layperson - think travel narrative.

Kindle books submitted here may be reviewed up to a year after submission. Reviews will also be submitted to Amazon within two weeks after it's listed on the blog.

Get more information about submitting your title for review here.

6) The Book Hookup

The Book Hookup is a consort of five book blogging ladies who span across North America. In addition to book reviews they also host author interviews, guest bloggers and authors who are on blog tours.

They prefer ebooks in the following genres: contemporary fiction, romance, historical romance, urban fantasy, dark fantasy, paranormal and young adult.

Go HERE to submit your title for review.

7) Book Lovers Inc.

If you're a self-published or vanity press author, Book Lovers Inc. ISN'T the site for you. :-(

But if you're traditionally published and your genre centers around: fantasy, urban fantasy, romance, paranormal romance, historical fiction, speculative fiction or young adult, then you'll definitely want to submit your title here. They prefer to receive review copies through NetGalley.

According to their website it sounds like a good number of submitted titles will be reviewed. If they decide not to review your Kindle book they'll tell you why. Reviews will be posted on the Book Lovers website, as well as: Amazon, LibraryThing, GoodReads, Facebook and maybe Shelfari.

Write a press release to promote your Kindle book

I've written press releases for dozens of sites, including Kindle book authors. My ebook provides all the strategies I've learned along the way. If you want to learn how to do press releases that get ranked in Google, check this out.

Writing Press Releases to Increase Website Traffic and Sell More Stuff

New Guestbook Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      alison 2 years ago

      when do you plan to update this list as it looks a little out of date. I saw no mention of top review sites like Kirkus Reviews or KindleBookReview.net so do you plan an update?

    • profile image

      Jonnelle Ashley 2 years ago

      Hey guys! I love the extra income I receive from kindle ebooks. It has really changed my life and given me financial freedom.It's actually crazy how these little books can help you build a wonderful passive income and provide such value to those who buy and read them.

      Just a tip:

      I learned my strategy from a kindle master and I personally use his system to get my results. I am affiliated with the program, however I would recommend that once you buy it you become affiliated as well because the product works and you literally earn your money back with the 60 day money back guarantee.

      Enjoy! I know this will help someone out there!

      Go to m instagram or Facebook for more info. @jaicalie or fb: jonnelle ashley

    • profile image

      Charlie Adams 3 years ago

      You left out www.kindlebookreview.net which has helped me out a number of times. Charlie

    • blestman lm profile image

      blestman lm 4 years ago

      Thanks for the the info. I am looking for more reviews

    • profile image

      livesdwall 4 years ago

      You can get your kindle books reviewed at www.danielwallock.com/get-your-kindle-book-reviewed/

      Thanks So Much for post! Get your book reviewed.

    • PalmaK138 profile image

      PalmaK138 4 years ago

      Get your ebook reviewed and rated here

      http://fiverr.com/palmaxd/check-out-your-amazon-ki...

    • Axll LM profile image

      Axll LM 4 years ago

      This is such a great resource. A lot of first time Authors overlook the importance of reviews like this.

    • profile image

      valentineheart 4 years ago

      What a very informative and valuable lens certainly will put more effort into getting reviews for self penned ghost stories wonderful stuff...

    • Digory LM profile image

      Digory LM 4 years ago

      Thanks so much for the info. I've learned a lot.

    • profile image

      jvcronje 4 years ago

      My first Kindle e-book, published in July 2012, is going nowhere. Virtually no sales, so I'll be trying out your suggestions!

    • TeacherSerenia profile image

      TeacherSerenia 4 years ago

      I'm not an author - yet - but I do want to write e-books. And this lens is very helpful. Stay away from kindle and amazon - they lock all kindle readers into amazon so your kindle cannot read anything else, and if you publish with Amazon, you cannot publish anywhere else. Which really sucks!!!!

      I am glad I got a kobo e-reader which accepts E-Pub formats so I am not locked into one place!!!

    • profile image

      cl-bolin-52 4 years ago

      Its good to read all the fine print of Amazon.com's Kindle Select 90-day program. I wish I had sent the ebook to reviewer sites before I enrolled it-now I'm locked into exclusivity where I can't distribute my eBook to anyone, even a reviewer site- but thankfully they have the 5 day free promotion and I'm telling everyone I know about it. Meanwhile, blog as often as you can, and I was told you can show an excerpt of your Kindle Select ebook to others, so long as the length doesn't exceed the excerpt length Amazon shows. Odd rules. Best wishes to you all!

    • greggo16 profile image

      greggo16 4 years ago

      Hi I'm starting to write my own books and have zero clue about Kindles. Thanks for helping out...real information that works!

    • LoriBeninger profile image

      LoriBeninger 4 years ago

      Great organization and information -- I submitted a review request to four of your 7 sites as I was reading! Thank you so much!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Excellent ideas.

    • Joanne Reid profile image

      Joanne Reid 4 years ago from Prince Edward Island/Arizona

      I love this lens!! I found it because I have a couple of kindle books myself and know what you mean about marketing. I am actually on my way to buy yours about Writing Blog Post that Sell eBooks. I am just working on a lens where I plan to offer my Kindle writing Services for sale. I figure, if I write the ebooks and people come over here they can also find out how to market them!

    • profile image

      vengoboy 5 years ago

      Dear Dahlia, I have written an ebook on vipassana meditation and would be publishing it on Kindle in a couple of weeks from now. Since it is a non-fiction book, where do i submit it for review? The theme is spirituality / self-help / buddhism

    • TheWebDesignTeam profile image

      TheWebDesignTeam 5 years ago

      Thanks Dahlia, A great post and very useful. Well I am reading a very exciting thriller called "Politically Incorrect" by Percy Chattey - a fairly new author on the scene. His book is available on Kindle and you are right I heard about it through a review!!

      .... the reviewer says the ending will surprise me andI always like an unexpected twist in a thriller !! ... so I can't wait!

      Percy has his own website at http://www.percychatteybooks.com which shows his other books but as I said I got mine on Amazon Kindle.

    • MrMojo01 profile image

      MrMojo01 5 years ago

      Lot of nice resources! Thanks

    • OhMe profile image

      Nancy Tate Hellams 5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      This is a great resource for authors who have their books on Kindle.

    • efcruzarts profile image

      efcruzarts 5 years ago

      great infos about kindle.

    • DahliaValentine profile image
      Author

      DahliaValentine 5 years ago

      @Sojourn: Thanks for commenting Soujourn... especially because I've learned so much from you over the years. I appreciate you passing the lens along!

    • DahliaValentine profile image
      Author

      DahliaValentine 5 years ago

      @Spiderlily321: I'm glad you liked it Atreyusmommy! I wish you the best of luck with your novel. Once you get started you might get hooked!

    • profile image

      Sojourn 5 years ago

      These are some great tips and I didn't know there were sites where you could get reviews. I know a fellow lensmaster who has put up several of his own books for Kindle and has done very well but always looking for ways to grow his sales. I'll pass this along. Thanks!

    • Spiderlily321 profile image

      Spiderlily321 5 years ago

      This is some great information to know. I am going to be submitting my novel to be published on the Kindle very soon and I will definitely be looking for ways to have my book reviewed. Thanks for sharing this great lens. I rolled your lens on lensroll too.

    • DahliaValentine profile image
      Author

      DahliaValentine 5 years ago

      @hartworks lm: It's definitely one of the best things I ever did for myself! The residual income is AWESOME!

    • hartworks lm profile image

      hartworks lm 5 years ago

      I'm going to do some Kindle writing one of these days!