ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Bertrice Small A New York Times Best Selling Historical Romance Author

Updated on April 24, 2014

Your Guide To Her Best Series and Novels

Bertrice Small is my favorite historical romance writer I discovered her books as a young adult. I was an avid reader and belonged to a monthly book club and I had received Skye O'Malley as a book of the month selection. It was on the New York Times Best Seller List and I couldn't wait to read it. I fell in love with the independent spirit of Skye. This book was full of romance and action as she went on her adventures.

Bertrice Small's Newest Book - The Silk Merchant's Daughters

Francesca (The Silk Merchant's Daughters)
Francesca (The Silk Merchant's Daughters)

Available in hard cover, paperback or Kindle editions


The O'Malley Saga

This is a series of 6 books that are based on the character of Skye O'Malley. This historical romance book is set in 16th century Ireland, England, and Algeria. Skye O'Malley is the daughter of an Irishman who owns a shipping business. When she is old enough to get married she is forced into marriage even though she is in love with another man she has recently met. These books takes you on Skye's journey as she tries to unite with that love. Through various plot twists Skye and Niall keep attempting to find happiness together. Their attempt to find happiness and love takes them from an old falling apart manor house in Ireland to harem in Algeria.

Skye's Legacy

These 6 books finish the Skye O'Malley book series

All the characters in the series depend heavily on characters that first appeared in the book Skye O'Malley. They base their actions and reasons for doing things on events that occurred in the first one. The following books in this series offer brief explanations of what happened before but it will be easier to follow the plot if you follow the books in order.

Bertrice Small has written 54 books over the course of her career

The Friarsgate Inheritance

Rosamund Bolton is the heiress to the manor of Friarsgate. This set of novels takes place in sixteenth century Scotland and England.The first 2 books tell the story of Rosamund while the final books tell about her daughter.

The Friarsgate Inheritance

Rosamund (Friarsgate Inheritance, Book 1)
Rosamund (Friarsgate Inheritance, Book 1)

Friarsgate will chart the fate of the orphaned beauty widowed at a precious young age.

Until You (Friarsgate Inheritance, Book 2)
Until You (Friarsgate Inheritance, Book 2)

Now that she has claimed her inheritance she has decided to travel to the court of Queen Margaret, in Scotland.

Philippa (Friarsgate Inheritance, Book 3)
Philippa (Friarsgate Inheritance, Book 3)

Philippa Meredith is devastated when she discovers the man she sought to marry has rejected her.

The Last Heiress (Friarsgate Inheritance)
The Last Heiress (Friarsgate Inheritance)

This is the conclusion of the story of Rosamund Bolton and her daughters.


Which Type Of Romance Novel Do You Like To Read?

See results

The World of Hetar

This series is different than most of the ones Bertrice Small books that I have read. Lara, a half faerie, half human that has magical; powers. The books continue telling the story of Lara, the men she loves and her children.

The Shadow Queen

Crown of Destiny

Guestbook Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.