ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Inspector Lynley

Updated on September 10, 2014

Elizabeth George's Inspector Lynley Mysteries

Elizabeth George writes the popular Inspector Lynley mystery series of novels set in England. This British mystery series features Inspector Thomas Lynley, a detective with New Scotland Yard/the Metropolitan Police Service (Met).

Lynley is also the Earl of Asherton, born into a wealthy family. Inspector Lynley's unlikely partner is Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers. This duo makes the books a joy to read.

Author Elizabeth George.
Author Elizabeth George.

Author Elizabeth George

The American author, Elizabeth George, writes the British mystery series featuring Inspector Lynley. She was born Susan Elizabeth George in Warren, Ohio in 1949. George graduated from both the University of California at Riverside and California State University at Fullerton. She has a master's degree in counseling and psychology as well as an honorary doctorate of humane letters.

George started her career as a high school English teacher in Santa Ana, then El Toro (now called Lake Forest), California. She sold her first book A Great Deliverance, which was published in 1988, and she gave up teaching to write full time.

She has won the following awards for her writing: the Anthony Award, the Agatha Award, and France's Le Grand Prix de Literature Policiere for her novel A Great Deliverance, for which she was also nominated for the Edgar and the Macavity Awards. She has also been awarded Germany's MIMI for her novel Well-Schooled in Murder.

She currently lives in Washington state.

Information Source: Elizabeth George Web Site

Photo Credit: Elizabeth George Web site

Elizabeth George is a different type of mystery writer. Her Lynley books are long, very long. I'm reading the latest, Believing the Lie, and it is 608 pages long. This author delves into the characters and their backgrounds, while keeping the story moving along. Her books are a pleasure to read and get lost in!

It's a good idea to start at the beginning if you can to get the entire back story of Thomas Lynley and Barbara Havers.

  1. A Great Deliverance, 1988
  2. Payment in Blood, 1989
  3. Well-Schooled in Murder, 1990
  4. A Suitable Vengeance, 1991
  5. For the Sake of Elena, 1992
  6. Missing Joseph, 1992
  7. Playing for the Ashes, 1993
  8. In the Presence of the Enemy, 1996
  9. Deception on His Mind, 1997
  10. In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner, 1999
  11. A Traitor to Memory, 2001
  12. A Place of Hiding, 2003
  13. With No One as Witness, 2005
  14. What Came Before He Shot Her, 2006
  15. Careless in Red, 2008
  16. This Body of Death, 2010
  17. Believing The Lie, 2012

Elizabeth George Quote from Well-Schooled in Murder

“People, give up on all sorts of things, Havers. But they rarely if ever give up on love.”

Elizabeth George, Well-Schooled in Murder

Some of the Early Thomas Lynley Novels

Inspector Lynley Novels

The Most Recent Inspector Lynley Mysteries

Review of Believing the Lie

"The plotlines are abundant and only

Inspector Lynley's prowess and his very smart friends

will uncover the truth under this wealthy family's

web of lies. A complete A+ for the mystery realm."

~Suspense Magazine,

Review of Believing the Lie

Have you read any of the Inspector Lynley mysteries?

See results

Inspector Lynley Mysteries on DVD - The BBC Drama was shown on American PBS

Inspector Thomas Lynley is played by Nathaniel Parker and DC Havers by Sharon Small in the movie versions of Elizabeth George's books.

Amazon Affiliate Disclosure

Peggy Hazelwood is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

Have you read the Inspector Lynley mysteries - or watched the movies?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • gottaloveit2 profile image

      gottaloveit2 3 years ago

      Sounds very interesting. You find the best stuff to read.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have read all the Inspector Lynley Mysteries and am waiting (not so patiently) for the next book. Best series I have read.

    • PaulWinter profile image

      PaulWinter 5 years ago

      I think I need to add this series of novels to my reading list.

    • profile image

      Terrie_Schultz 5 years ago

      I haven't read them, but they sound like something I would like. I love mysteries.