ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

James Rollins - Amazonia Book Review

Updated on September 5, 2014

If I make some typos in this article, it’s because I was up until 1:30 am reading this Amazonian book by James Rollins. Therefore, I’m practically sleep-typing this review right now!

While this book did start a little slow, it had just enough mystery and intrigue to keep me reading until he had the ball rolling. Then it was all downhill and it didn’t stop until the end.

If you like books with almost non-stop action, this book is for you. If you like sci-fi stories that while you’re reading the book, you can actually almost believe the story could truly happen, and yet, when you pull your nose back to reality your common sense says, “you wish”, this book is for you. If you liked the movie Avatar, you’ll love this book. This book is not for unimaginative, nonfiction lovers. It’s for people who read books to escape to another place that doesn’t really exist, and trust me, I love these kinds of books.

The majority of the story takes place in the amazon jungle, where great crocodilian caimans eat people, and where the mysterious Blood Jaguars live. The plot? A group of scientists, Rangers, and a couple locals take a trek through the woods to find out how a one-armed man who got lost in the jungle four years ago could suddenly come out with two. What they find is something much more sinister than they expect…

The book was definitely worth its price, and it isn’t the last I buy from the author James Rollins!

If you want to share your own thoughts about Amazonia, you can do so in the comment section below! Also, if you have written a review of another great action book here on squidoo, feel free to post a link! Html is allowed, but links are nofollow.

You can also share ANY book review you have written on squidoo by posting a link on this forum page!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • BarbRad profile image

      Barbara Radisavljevic 

      4 years ago from Templeton, CA

      I don't think this book is for me, but you've done a good job in reviewing it.

    • flinnie lm profile image

      Gloria Freeman 

      4 years ago from Alabama USA

      This sound like a good read, I enjoyed reading your review.

    • Arachnea profile image

      Tanya Jones 

      4 years ago from Texas USA

      Great review. Amazonia intrigues me. I may have to pick up a copy. It's great that you invite visitors to your lens to promote one of their lenses.

    • Nancy Hardin profile image

      Nancy Carol Brown Hardin 

      4 years ago from Las Vegas, NV

      Nice review. I do like sci-fi, so I'll have to investigate these. James Rollins sounds like my kind of writer, but then of course, I like Stephen King, Dean Koontz and John Saul too, so that's probably why. Thanks for sharing this review.

    • evawrites1 profile image

      evawrites1 

      4 years ago

      Well I feel like reading that book right now! I love the way you write, it's interesting and above all it's quite funny. I loved the first sentence of this review.

    • georgepmoola2 profile image

      georgepmoola2 

      4 years ago

      Not a great fiction reader myself, but a good review nonetheless.

    • Zeross4 profile image

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      Great review, sounds like a great book- and I do LOVE the movie Avatar as well, so I will have to add this one to my list :)

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      This sounds very good. Great review, BTW. I've read a couple of Rollins books, and have several more on my list. Looks like I'll have to add this one!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)