ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Jurassic Park Book Review

Updated on May 5, 2018

'Jurassic Park' by Michael Crichton

With Halloween just around the corner, the latest book club quest is to write a review of a book that I have found scary. I enjoy reading scary books a lot, especially Stephen King, but the first book that popped into my head when I read the quest was 'Jurassic Park' by Michael Crichton. Although I would class it mainly as a science-fiction/action novel, 'Jurassic Park' is still full of suspense, gore and terror and I would recommend it to anybody.

It tells the story of an eccentric millionaire, John Hammond, who invites several specialists, including a paleontologist, Alan Grant and a mathematician, Ian Malcolm, to visit his brand new theme park, Jurassic Park, where the attractions are real live dinosaurs.

Picture is my own photo of my well loved copy of Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton.

My history with 'Jurassic Park'.

I first received a copy of 'Jurassic Park' when I was about 9 or 10, as a present from my parents. It had recently been made into a movie by Steven Spielberg and, although I hadn't seen it at the time, I had been obsessed with dinosaurs for a few years and the media-hype around the film had intensified this obsession.

The first time I read 'Jurassic Park', I was far too young to understand many of the references to maths and science, but that didn't stop me from enjoying the story. The plot is fast paced and the characterisation is fantastic; you will end up rooting for some characters and cheering on the dinosaurs in other cases.

Most importantly for me at the time, you have dinosaurs; lots of dinosaurs. From the vicious, man-eating T-Rex and Raptors to the vegetarian Stegosaurus and Apatosaurus, 'Jurassic Park' featured all the dinosaurs I loved so much as a child. Crichton's descriptions of the attacks by the dinosaurs are gripping and often gruesome, and he brings these long extinct creatures back to life with remarkable skill.

Jurassic Park Dust Jacket

Jurassic Park Dustcover
Jurassic Park Dustcover

The dust-cover of my copy of Jurassic Park (my own photo).

'Jurassic Park' by Michael Crichton

Jurassic Park: A Novel
Jurassic Park: A Novel

In 'Jurassic Park', Michael Crichton brings dinosaurs to life with his story of eccentric billionaire John Hammond, who invites experts in several sciences to visit his new theme park, Jurassic Park.

Crichton expertly uses science and mathematics, along with a suspense-filled story line, to make the reader consider the possibilities of bio-technology and the potentially catastrophic repercussions of playing God.

 

Why do I find 'Jurassic Park' scary?

The main reason I find 'Jurassic Park' so scary is the obvious reason; being trapped on an island, surrounded by large, powerful dinosaurs, who will eat any person they come across. Crichton is an exceptional author and really knows how to crank up the tension and suspense during the scenes between the humans and dinosaurs. One of my favourite scenes involves the velociraptors attacking a building containing several of the main characters. The build up to the final attack is artfully written and the description of one of the humans being dispatched by a raptor's claw has stayed fresh in my mind since the first time I read it.

I also find 'Jurassic Park' terrifying from a science point of view. In a world of cloned sheep (think of 'Dolly') and genetically modified food, recreating extinct animals doesn't sound that far-fetched and Crichton makes it sound like a very realistic proposition. Will there come a time when somebody does have the technology to recreate dinosaurs or the dodo etc.? And if they do have the technology, how will they use it? 'Jurassic Park' contains a stark warning for anybody tinkering in genetics, but is it a warning that would be listened to? I think not.

Would you bring back dinosaurs?

If you had the technology to recreate dinosaurs, would you?

Would you bring back dinosaurs?

And now for the science bit...

Over the years, I've reread 'Jurassic Park' many times, and as I got older, the maths and science featured in the book became more interesting and understandable.

Both the book and the movie make many references to chaos theory and its applications. Chaos theory is basically the idea that a tiny change in the initial state of a system can cause huge changes later down the line. It is commonly referred to as 'The Butterfly effect', due to the idea of a butterfly flapping its wings on one side of the world causing a hurricane on the other side. In the novel, Dr Ian Malcolm (a mathematician visiting the island) regularly refers back to Chaos theory to explain how the scientists at Jurassic Park have no way of making accurate predictions as to what would happen with the dinosaurs they have created.

Due to the subject of the book, 'Jurassic Park' also talks extensively about paleontology (the study of prehistoric life) and biotechnology and one of the things I love so much about this book is how Crichton makes everything sound so achievable and do-able, maybe not now, but certainly not very far in the future. Bringing dinosaurs back to life is an exciting, although chilling, concept and Crichton really brings it all to life.

Jurassic Park movies

'Jurassic Park' was first made into a movie in 1993, directed by Steven Spielberg and starring Sam Neill, Laura Dern, Richard Attenborough and Jeff Goldblum. This was followed by sequels in 1997 (based on Crichton's book 'The Lost World') and 2001, and a fourth film is due for release in 2015.

Jurassic Park
Jurassic Park

Jurassic Park (1993) directed by Steven Spielberg.

 

The first appearance of the dinosaurs in the film 'Jurassic Park'.

New Guestbook Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • David3142 profile imageAUTHOR

      David 

      4 years ago from West Midlands, England

      @TreasuresBrenda: It is. I highly recommend it. Thanks for the comment.

    • David3142 profile imageAUTHOR

      David 

      4 years ago from West Midlands, England

      @Diana Wenzel: Thank you.

    • David3142 profile imageAUTHOR

      David 

      4 years ago from West Midlands, England

      @TanoCalvenoa: Thanks. I like the way many of Crichton's books source references at the end. It adds to the realistic effect.

    • David3142 profile imageAUTHOR

      David 

      4 years ago from West Midlands, England

      @clevergirlname: Thank you for your comment. I definitely love both the book and the film.

    • clevergirlname profile image

      clevergirlname 

      4 years ago

      This book was epic, the movie joining in to make it go down in history. Jurassic Park was beautiful and bold and your review on it deserves points as well - good job!!

    • profile image

      TanoCalvenoa 

      4 years ago

      I love this lens. I read the book at age 13, saw the movie three months later first day it was in the theaters. Loved both, of course. The book is definitely scary - Michael Crichton has a way of making stories creepy as heck due to how realistic he makes them. I'd say a couple of his books are even scarier than this one. Great author.

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 

      4 years ago from Colorado

      Excellent book to review for this quest. Nicely done!

    • TreasuresBrenda profile image

      Treasures By Brenda 

      4 years ago from Canada

      Sometimes the book can be so much better than the movie, even when the movie is iconic. Sounds like an interesting book.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)