ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"Killing Lincoln" Review

Updated on March 1, 2018

If you like history, I think you will enjoy this book

"Killing Lincoln" by Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard

I have read several books about the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln but none compared to "Killing Lincoln" by Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard. You may not be a fan of Bill O'Reilly and may not agree with him politically but I hope that will not prevent you from reading this great book. Bill O'Reilly does a magnificent job of telling the story of the weeks before the assassination and the weeks following.

From the first pages, the reader is drawn into the time and place and you become a spectator watching the events unfold. The one thing that made this book stand out from the other accounts that I have read is that Bill O'Reilly brings in so many of the small but important details that really bring this story to life. I realize there have been some critics who are making claims that this book is not factually true. Bill O'Reilly is a historian and I believe that he and Martin Dugard did much research before writing this book. If there are some questionable facts, they are very minute and insignificant in my opinion.

I think it was a wonderful read and very well written. I highly recommend it for anyone who is interested in history. I had never read a book by Bill O'Reilly and was pleasantly surprised to find out what an excellent author he is. Now, Killing Kennedy is next on my list and then Killing Jesus.
.Photo Credit: Amazon.com - see below to purchase "Killing Lincoln"

"Killing Lincoln"

The Book

Abraham Lincoln

"Killing Lincoln" Review

by OhMe aka Nancy Tate Hellams and Friends

This period in our Nation's history is so very hard to understand and being a Southerner, I find it especially difficult to imagine what my great grandparents were experiencing. I had several relatives who fought in the war but none of them were slave owners. They were poor "dirt" farmers who worked hard and were good Christians. I have finally come to the conclusion that it was the times and there is no way for me to get a complete understanding of those times.

I have to admit that I was glad to read that General Grant regretted not dressing better on the day that Lee surrendered. He felt that it showed disrespect and I would have to agree.

I am interested in our Nation's history and think it is important as a citizen to learn as much as I can about it. Therefore, I enjoy reading accounts of the people who have contributed toward the greatness of our nation.

Reading Killing Lincoln was not the experience that I was anticipating. I thought it would be more like a history book with lots of facts and that is exactly what it was but written in such a way that I did not realize it. The book jacket states that it is history that reads like a thriller and I can't think of a better way to say that same thing. I felt that I really knew the characters because Bill O'Reilly's extensive research and his way with words made the characters very believable. Reading Bill O'Reilly's Killing Lincoln was an enjoyable and educational experience.

As stated above, I really enjoyed the Afterword in which he explains what happened to each of the players in the assassination. I also enjoyed the re-creation of the April 29, 1865 Harper's Weekly which is included at the end of the book and is dedicated to the assassination and death of President Abraham Lincoln.

Foolishly, I thought I knew all there was to know about Lincoln's Assassination. Oh, I was so wrong and I learned much from reading this great book.

Here is what a friend had to say about Killing Lincoln

"I read Killing Lincoln and found it to be an interesting read. I was struck by the irony that by killing Lincoln, Booth ruined any opportunity for the South to recover with dignity. Reconstruction was a terrible experience because Andrew Johnson was determined to punish the South... and did... where Lincoln was determined to take the "high road" and to encourage a United States by encouraging the Souths recovery had he lived. Good book."

Here is what campingman had to say about the book:

"I bought the book because of your review. I had heard the book being advertised, but your lens shifted my gears. I enjoyed the book very much and found that Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard did a superb job researching and laying out the story. We all think we knew about the assassination but this book brings it to life and tells the complete story. Your review is spot on. Thanks for a great recommendation."

Photo Credit: Abraham Lincoln Public Domain Photo

Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Bill O'Reilly's Killing Series)
Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever (Bill O'Reilly's Killing Series)

So often when I read a book that I thoroughly enjoy, I start wondering about what happened to the characters later in life. Bill O'Reilly shares this information with the reader at the end of the book and I found it so interesting. It is easy reading and the book is being read by school aged students as well as adults with very positive feedback. He has published an edition just for children entitled,

This book held my interest from the first page to the last. I am not the only one that has enjoyed it and you can read some of the letters that he has received on BillOReilly.com.

 

Have you read "Killing Lincoln"? - Join the Poll and let us know your thoughts about the book, "Killing Lincoln"

Please continue to scroll and read more about this fascinating book and the docu-drama on National Geographic

Have you read

See results

Audio Excerpt by Bill O'Reilly - Bill O'Reilly reads "Killing Lincoln"

I hope you will take the time to listen to Bill O'Reilly read from Chapter 1 of Killing Lincoln and you will hear what I am talking about. You can almost smell the night air and see President Lincoln pacing the upper deck of the River Queen.

Some Thoughts About the Book


I have taken the tour of Ford's Theatre and seen the reenactment of the Assassination of Lincoln plus have read and studied the accounts of that fateful day. What I did not know was the details of the time from when Lincoln was shot until he was across the street at the Peterson House and what was going on elsewhere. This is written in 20 pages of Killing Lincoln. It was such a struggle carrying President Lincoln from the Ford's Theatre through the muddy street to the Peterson House. I felt like I was right there with Dr. Charles Leale tending to Lincoln the whole time.Killing Lincoln is not sold in the basement museum of Ford's Theatre but it is sold in the Ford Theatre Society gift shop in the lobby according to the Washington Post. The National Park Service did not approve the book to be sold in the museum because of factual errors. The Ford Theatre Society decided to sell it and let people choose for themselves which I think is a good thing to do. It would be a shame for someone not to read this book because of something they have heard or read about it. It would be much better to read it and decide for oneself.My friend, TomVee, had this to say about the book, "Killing Lincoln":

"B. O'R. and Martin Dugard have teamed up to provide a fascinating, almost "visual," account of the days leading up to, and immediately after, the killing of Lincoln. John Wilkes Booth, ever the megalomaniac, and his motley collection of brigands and misfits have the stars align for them and assassinate the one man ready and able to start healing the wounds of war. Instead, the South got Thaddeus Stevens' boot on the neck and Reconstruction, with all its attendant suffering and misery. Thanks, Booth; we appreciate your assistance in setting the binding up of the nation for another generation. (sarcasm inserted intentionally.) The book was an excellent introductory framework to use as a jumping-off place for further examination of the life and death of the wartime President in the darkest hours of American history."

A Video About Ford's Theatre - Learn more about Ford's Theatre by watching this YouTube Video

"Killing Lincoln" - The Movie

National Geographic ChannelNext Airing: Check your local listings

Killing Lincoln - The Trailer for the Movie - National Geographic Channel

I watched Killing Lincoln on February 17 and I sure enjoyed it. Tom Hanks was a superb narrator. This is more than a documentary. "Killing Lincoln" will continue to be shown on the National Geographic Channel so don't worry if you missed it the first time around. Just check your local listings to see when it will be airing again.

Ad Campaign for the Movie - Billboard Photographer Joel L

Billboard on Times Square for the National Geographic Movie of Killing Lincoln
Billboard on Times Square for the National Geographic Movie of Killing Lincoln

Photo Credit: Photo courtesy of Commercial Photographer Joel L - Joel L. collaborated with Variable and photographed the ad campaign for National Geographic Channel's "Killing Lincoln". This is the billboard on Times Square. Photo is not to be copied. Note: click the picture to go directly to Joel L's website. Amazing.The Billboard shows Murderer John Wilkes Booth as the Villain and President Abraham Lincoln as the Hero but it also shows just the opposite with Booth as the Hero and Lincoln as the Villain which is exactly the way that John Wilkes Booth thought of the situation. Booth felt like he was going to be a big hero for getting rid of the who he felt was the nation's villain.I thought this was a very clever approach to the movie and really seemed to stimulate a lot of interest in it.

Did you watch "Killing Lincoln" on the National Geographic Channel? - Join the poll and let us know your plans

I had read some great things about this movie and was not disappointed. What did you think?

Did you watch the movie (docu-drama) ,Killing Lincoln?

See results

Guestbook

Thank you for visiting! - I hope you will let me know you were here by leaving a comment

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • RobertConnorIII profile image

      Robert Connor 

      4 years ago from Michigan

      hi ohme,nice lens!

    • Arachnea profile image

      Tanya Jones 

      4 years ago from Texas USA

      I am not much of a history enthusiast, but one thing is repeated over and over through the years, "... history is relative to the viewer." I have Killing Lincoln, the movie on my list of movies to watch. If I decide I want to read a bit of historical nonfiction, then this would be one of the books I choose to read.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      4 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @DeborahDian: Thank you so much for the feature and for these kind words.

    • DeborahDian profile image

      Deborah Carr 

      4 years ago from Orange County, California

      This is a fabulous lens. Since I am the Biographer Bookworm contributor for Squidoo, I have decided to give your lens a little boost and put a link to this review in my Biographer Bookworm lens. I believe that your lens is well worth the recognition and I hope it brings you additional views!

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Very interesting lens. Well done!

    • CaztyBon profile image

      CaztyBon 

      5 years ago

      I haven't read the book. With your review it is now on my list. Good lens

    • profile image

      acordforms 

      5 years ago

      Thanks for the review. I agree that Bill O'Reilly did a wonderful job--he's a great storyteller. I learned a lot and highly recommend this book--it will keep you engaged.

    • profile image

      dudokdudok 

      5 years ago

      Thanks for the review. I knew about the book, this review though persuaded me to get it. Also the documentary.

    • waynekat profile image

      waynekat 

      5 years ago

      Well how about that. It looks like an interesting book that I might enjoy reading. Thanks for the enjoyable and informative lense.

    • sue826 lm profile image

      sue826 lm 

      5 years ago

      Great review. I've been interested in the movie as well as the book. You've piqued my interest even more with your lens.

    • profile image

      touchreader 

      5 years ago

      Thanks so much for the insightful and extensive review. I've not read the book yet but I did see the recent film "Lincoln". I'm from Lincoln's birthplace, Illinois, and now live in the south so I find this very interesting.

    • profile image

      Tamara14 

      5 years ago

      I'm seriously thinking of reading this book after reading this wonderful review. Thank you :)

    • ShariBerry profile image

      Sharon Berry 

      5 years ago from Michigan

      I've read both books, Killing Lincoln and Killing Kennedy. O'Reilly is a compelling writer with great attention to detail and even though you know the story you just can't put the book down. I loved both books but if I had to pick a favorite it would be Killing Lincoln. You've done a wonderful review of this book. Wish I could give you ten thumbs up.

    • Scarlettohairy profile image

      Peggy Hazelwood 

      5 years ago from Desert Southwest, U.S.A.

      I really admire Lincoln but not O' Reilly. That's kept me from reading this book. Maybe I'll give it a shot now. Thanks for your insight.

    • ItsTimeToBurn profile image

      ItsTimeToBurn 

      5 years ago

      Great lens! Really enjoyable.

    • LiliLove profile image

      LiliLove 

      5 years ago

      What a great review! Sounds interesting, I would love to read a book and watch the movie after I finish it. Thank you for writing this wonderful lens, I really enjoyed my visit today. Blessed by a Squid Angel!

    • profile image

      Ruthi 

      5 years ago

      Thank you for the reminder to watch the "Killing Lincoln" documentary tonight. I shall be watching!

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @happynutritionist: Thank you so much. Yes, indeed, that is the docu-drama that I discussed above. I can't wait to watch "Killing Lincoln" on the National Geographic Channel this Sunday night at 8 pm EST

    • profile image

      happynutritionist 

      5 years ago

      Excellent and thorough review. Interesting, I just heard an ad for a program called "Killing Lincoln" that is going to be on TV this weekend? I don't know that it is related. We recently watch a movie about the trial of the woman who was allegedly involved and hung, it was very good. *blessed*

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @norma-holt: Thank you so much for the blessing and the feature.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @CruiseReady: As you can tell, I really enjoyed Killing Lincoln and hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I haven't read Killing Kennedy yet but it is on my list, for sure.

    • norma-holt profile image

      norma-holt 

      5 years ago

      Sad day in American history as Lincoln seemed to have it all together. Great story and featured on Blessed by Skiesgreen 2013. Hugs

    • CruiseReady profile image

      CruiseReady 

      5 years ago from East Central Florida

      I am anxious to read Killing Lincoln, and Killing Kennedy, too.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @Katyusha: Only 5 more days until the movie, Killing Lincoln! I am really looking forward to it

    • CoolFool83 profile image

      CoolFool83 

      5 years ago

      I really want to see this. Awesome review.

    • Katyusha profile image

      Katyusha 

      5 years ago

      Great review. I needed this and I am looking forward to see the Killing Lincoln movie.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @CoolFool83: Me too, I am looking forward to the movie, Killing Lincoln. Only 7 more days

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @SandyMertens: It is a great read. Hope you enjoy

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @Aunt-Mollie: Yes, the Ad campaign for Killing Lincoln is awesome, isn't it. I can't wait to see this movie.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @duslan: Thank you so much for the visit, comment and for taking the test.

    • SandyMertens profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      5 years ago from Frozen Tundra

      This is something that I need to write. Especially after reading your review.

    • profile image

      Aunt-Mollie 

      5 years ago

      This book is getting so much publicity. I am glad I found your review!

    • duslan profile image

      duslan 

      5 years ago

      Congrats on winning the book club quest - it was a much deserved win! I took the quiz and learned something about US History. Nice job!

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @poldepc lm: Thank you. Winning the Book Club Quest was quite an honor. There were so many great entries.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @anonymous: Thanks so much for visiting and commenting. Yes, I am looking forward to the movie, too.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @street2linen: I am really looking forward to the movie on the 17th. Thanks for stopping by

    • poldepc lm profile image

      poldepc lm 

      5 years ago

      congrats on winning the squidoo book club quest...

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      5 years ago

      Congrats on your win, very much deserved. Great page I learned a lot and am looking forward to watching it.

    • street2linen profile image

      street2linen 

      5 years ago

      Sounds really really interesting. I will go watch it.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @Faye Rutledge: Thank you for your comment here and for sharing your story via contact button. I have not been to Appomattox Historical Park but would like to go. I get chills just thinking about it.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @darksalo: I understand that the National Geographic movie of Killing Lincoln will be showing in Canada in March. Hope you get to see it.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @susanholland10: I will be moving this comment up into the lens because I am sure there are others who would be interested in listening to it

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @supergras: I try to use a wide assortment of modules and appreciate when someone notices. Thank you.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @choosehappy: Thank you so much for the blessing. I sure appreciate it.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @Nancy Hardin: Thank you for your vote and your nice comment on the contest page. Much appreciated.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @faye durham: Hope you enjoy the book as much as I did and hope you will return and let us know your thoughts on it

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @goldenrulecomics: You should be proud. Congratulations

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @goldenrulecomics: I will be reading your review of Ford's Theatre and look forward to it

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @shellys-space: Wow, thank you so much for the blessing. This has been quite an experience

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @Diana Wenzel: I do love these visits and blessings - thank you

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @anonymous: Thanks for stopping by. The win is sure a big honor

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @SusanDeppner: I think this book would make a great gift for your son or anyone interested in American History.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @mbgphoto: I am so proud of the win because there were some fantastic lenses in the competition

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @Joan4: You might be a little prejudiced but thanks anyway

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @aquarian_insight: Thank you so much for the compliment and I sure appreciate your visit.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @RosaMorelli: Thank you for your visit and comment. I sure don't know as much about England's History as I would like to know. I hope you will read this book and come back and let us hear what you think.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @DecoratingEvents: I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    • Faye Rutledge profile image

      Faye Rutledge 

      5 years ago from Concord VA

      This is a great review lens and congratulations on a well deserved win! I am also a Southerner, and live only a few miles from Appomattox Historical Park, or the Surrender Grounds, as locals call it. You have convinced me that I need to read this book! :)

    • Camp April profile image

      Camp April 

      5 years ago

      Congratulations and thank you for all the hard work. Your lens now moved this book to the top of my to-red list.

    • kcsantos profile image

      kcsantos 

      5 years ago

      Congrats on the book club quest! Will have this on my list. Thanks for sharing!

    • darksalo profile image

      darksalo 

      5 years ago

      A perfect lens, You said what you had to say, beautifully and succintly and I too will read this book thanks to your review. I'm a Canadian and only scored 4/10 on the quiz, so I got a lot a learning a head a me !!Thanks

    • susanholland10 profile image

      Susan Holland 

      5 years ago from Southwest Missouri

      I listened to Bill O'Reilly read KILLING LINCOLN from Audible.com. His research was impeccable. He brought history alive in this disturbing account. Before, I simply had the old poster picture in my head, but O'Reilly took me there. It is a must read or listen to book.

    • supergras profile image

      supergras 

      5 years ago

      I learned a LOT from this lens. Fantastic content, and very creative use of modules. very much worthy of your award.

    • choosehappy profile image

      Vikki 

      5 years ago from US

      Super great lens! Congrats on your contest win! *Blessed*

    • Chocolatealchemy profile image

      Chocolatealchemy 

      5 years ago from London, United Kingdom

      Great Lens - congratulations on winning the book challenge

    • tedwritesstuff24 profile image

      TedWritesStuff 

      5 years ago

      Great lens. I'll have to read the book now!

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      5 years ago

      Excellent lens on a fascinating book. Congratulations on winning the book challenge.

    • rattie lm profile image

      rattie lm 

      5 years ago

      Congratulations. Terific lens.

    • Nancy Hardin profile image

      Nancy Carol Brown Hardin 

      5 years ago from Las Vegas, NV

      Congratulations on winning the book challenge...I was one of those who voted for you my friend! Enjoy your reward!

    • Bairbrae profile image

      Bairbrae 

      5 years ago

      Congratulations on winning the challenge. Great lens!

    • junecampbell profile image

      June Campbell 

      5 years ago from North Vancouver, BC, Canada

      Congratulations on winning the book club challenge. Well deserved.

    • profile image

      faye durham 

      5 years ago

      Congratulations on winning the Squidoo book club quest! I look forward to reading this book.

    • goldenrulecomics profile image

      goldenrulecomics 

      5 years ago from New Jersey

      p.s. I'm kind of proud I got 10 out of 10 on your quiz. Some of those questions were difficult!

    • goldenrulecomics profile image

      goldenrulecomics 

      5 years ago from New Jersey

      I hope to read this soon. I wrote a review of Ford's Theatre and the new leadership center but didn't realize that this book wasn't on sale there! Great job on this.

    • shellys-space profile image

      Shelly Sellers 

      5 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      What a terrific review and lens! Your Killing Lincoln book review lens deserves the Purple Star, Winner of the Book Review Honor, and another blessing!

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 

      5 years ago from Colorado

      I had earlier liked and blessed this review. I'm back to celebrate with you. Congrats on your Book Club Quest win! Very happy for you.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      5 years ago

      Congratulations on winning the Book Club Quest! A beautifully put-together lens, well deserving of the win! :)

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 

      5 years ago from Arkansas USA

      What an excellent, thorough review! One of my sons really enjoys the Civil War period of history so I think I'll buy this book for him. Great job, ohme, and congratulations on your book quest win!

    • LaughingLady LM profile image

      Helen Phillips Cockrell 

      5 years ago from Virginia

      Congratulations on your win! Well deserved!

    • mbgphoto profile image

      Mary Beth Granger 

      5 years ago from O'Fallon, Missouri, USA

      Congratulations on winning the Squidoo book club quest! Well done!!

    • profile image

      Joan4 

      5 years ago

      Congratulations!! Winning the Squidoo Book Club Quest for this month is super - and you already know I love your review of Killing Lincoln!

    • XxSadieLadyxX profile image

      XxSadieLadyxX 

      5 years ago

      nice lense

    • profile image

      aquarian_insight 

      5 years ago

      This is a superb review and although I have not read any historical books about the assassination of Lincoln or that period of history, I will definitely be reading 'Killing Lincoln'. Thank you for this amazingly passionate and riveting review.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @anonymous: Wow, Tom. Great comment and I will be moving this one up into the review content.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @OhMe: You remember that you are the one that convinced me to read this and I am so glad you did

    • RosaMorelli profile image

      RosaMorelli 

      5 years ago

      You make this sound like a fascinating book, OhMe. I don't know a great deal about U.S. history, being British, and this sounds like an excellent place to start exploring a bit more.

    • DecoratingEvents profile image

      DecoratingEvents 

      5 years ago

      It's on my reading list now! What a wonderful review of Killing Lincoln. :D

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      5 years ago

      Hi, Ohme.It's obvious that the book was on your hit parade, and having read it myself earlier, I share your enthusiasm. B. O'R. and Martin Dugard have teamed up to provide a fascinating, almost "visual," account of the days leading up to, and immediately after, the killing of Lincoln. John Wilkes Booth, ever the megalomaniac, and his motley collection of brigands and misfits have the stars align for them and assassinate the one man ready and able to start healing the wounds of war. Instead, the South got Thaddeus Stevens' boot on the neck and Reconstruction, with all its attendant suffering and misery. Thanks, Booth; we appreciate your assistance in setting the binding up of the nation for another generation. (sarcasm inserted intentionally.) The book was an excellent introductory framework to use as a jumping-off place for further examination of the life and death of the wartime President in the darkest hours of American history.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @anonymous: Oh wow, I didn't realize that you had read it while in DC and after your tour. I sure was glad that I had taken the Ford's Theatre Tour because I could visually get a mental picture.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @lesliesinclair: Thank you. I learned so much reading this great book

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      5 years ago

      I took a group of middle school students to Ford's Theater last spring, where we had a Park Ranger give us a tour & tell us about the night of the assassination of the President. The book is sold in their bookstore, and I read it after the tour, so it was all the more interesting. Your review is spot on, Ohme. The "after story" was fascinating to me!

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @Gypzeerose: Yes, Lincoln was so wise and amazing. Thank you for the blessing, comment, visit and link love.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @JoshK47: Thank you so much for the comment and the blessing. Much appreciated.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @KimGiancaterino: I will definitely read more books by Bill O'Reilly. I love to watch his show but did not realize what an excellent author he is.

    • lesliesinclair profile image

      lesliesinclair 

      5 years ago

      This is truly informational and interesting, too.

    • Gypzeerose profile image

      Rose Jones 

      5 years ago

      Definitely a wonderful sounding book, Lincoln was amazing. Blessed and pinned onto my "books worth reading."

    • profile image

      JoshK47 

      5 years ago

      Nicely put together lens! Blessed by a SquidAngel!

    • KimGiancaterino profile image

      KimGiancaterino 

      5 years ago

      I own most of Bill O'Reilly's books and look forward to adding this one to the collection. He's an excellent researcher and writer. Thanks for a thorough review.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @ElBat: I hope "Killing Lincoln" is your next book and that you enjoy reading it as much as I did.

    • OhMe profile imageAUTHOR

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      @SusanRDavis: I sure enjoyed the movie, Lincoln, too and am looking forward to seeing Killing Lincoln on the National Geographic Channel Feb 17. I hope you will return after you read the book and let us know how much you enjoyed it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)