ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Outdoor Survival Guide – Book Review

Updated on January 9, 2012

Outdoor Survival guide – Book Review

“The Pocket Outdoor Survival Guide” written by J. Wayne Fears is a well written guide for short term survival in the wild. The book concentrates on surviving an unplanned night in the woods. Preparation is the key to survival. The guide is paperback sized and can easily be packed or carried in a pocket.

It includes chapters on modern search and rescue, making a plan, survival kits, preparing signals, constructing a shelter, building a fire, sleeping warm, dealing with insects, safe water, food and much more.

One chapter in particular caught my attention. Chapter five explains why you should STOP if you are lost and follow a simple plan to survive, Sit, Think, Observe, Plan. This simple procedure will increase your chances of surviving. Teaching your family these simple steps will prepare them to survive a short unplanned night in the wild.

The guide explains simple precautions to take before you go and how to assemble a survival kit and a basic first aid kit. It includes advice on how to use whistles, mirrors, flashlights, and other signal devices. It explains how to construct a shelter in different conditions and various ways to make water safe to drink. It covers avoiding hypothermia, dealing with fear, and what to do when a member of your group is missing.

This inexpensive guide could be a life saver.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • GNelson profile imageAUTHOR

      GNelson 

      6 years ago from Florida

      John000,

      It is worth the read. Never thought about the last name like that!

    • john000 profile image

      John R Wilsdon 

      6 years ago from Superior, Arizona

      I have been contemplating buying this book. I want to stay overnight no more than 2 nights at desert mining claims. You had some good to know info in your review.

      I wonder if the author wishes he had a different last name? (Just kidding) Voted useful and up. Thanks.

    • GNelson profile imageAUTHOR

      GNelson 

      6 years ago from Florida

      Genna East,

      It got me thinking. I know more now than I did before I read the book.

    • Genna East profile image

      Genna East 

      6 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Chapter 5 is excellent: "Sit, Think, Observe, Plan." Often, people who are stranded will panic, which is a very human to do, while others may just give up out an emotional feeling to some kind of failure. This is an excellent hub, and thank you sharing this useful information with us.

    • GNelson profile imageAUTHOR

      GNelson 

      6 years ago from Florida

      Indigital, I don't get out in the wild as much as I use to but still found the information interesting.

    • GNelson profile imageAUTHOR

      GNelson 

      6 years ago from Florida

      RTalloni, Yes I gave each of my grown children one for christmas. I was that impressed. There is a ton of detail in this book.

    • profile image

      Indigital 

      6 years ago

      I like the backing of the book, makes me want to buy it, even though I'll never find myself in a survival position.

    • RTalloni profile image

      RTalloni 

      6 years ago from the short journey

      It could also make a neat gift--thanks!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)