ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Review of 'As a Man Thinketh' by James Allen

Updated on May 9, 2014
Heidi Vincent profile image

Ms. Vincent is an M.B.A graduate, Business Consultant and health, wellness & natural healing enthusiast, who reads a lot on those subjects.

In the powerfully inspirational movie, ‘The Secret’ by Rhonda Byrne, Mike Dooley makes a most enlightening statement: “Thoughts become things!” The reasoning behind this statement is that whatever we think about long and hard enough, eventually manifests in our lives.

In this book, ‘As a Man Thinketh’, James Allen shares with us some “pointed essays on the power of thinking positively and its influence on character, circumstance, and health”. If I did not personally believe in this powerful statement, I wouldn’t be writing this review today. I believe in the power of thinking because my thoughts, in the face of negative situations/circumstances, have gifted me with many of the blessings (opportunities, things, resources, talents, friends etc.) that I have today.

It is not a difficult book to read, nor is it long-winded; there are only 78 pages. When I got my copy in 2011, I read it through in one day but I have re-read certain parts at various periods in between then and now as continuous daily reminders.

We all face challenges in life but the deciding factor in how well we overcome those challenges is our thoughts. Three (3) renowned global examples of persons who have attested to the power of thought in changing circumstances are Dr. Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Ghandi.

This power of thought is available to ALL OF US! What made these men powerful, is that they USED the power of thought. James Allen shows us in his book how each one of us can harness the power of thought to change whatever circumstances we want to change in our lives.In particular, he looks at seven (7) key foundation life areas in relation to thought – Character, Circumstances, Health & the Body, Purpose, Achievement, Vision & Ideals and Serenity.

For Catholic & Christian product reviews, recipes and lenses (articles) visit FreshStart7 and the Catholic Contributor


The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook (New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook)
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook (New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook)

Work stress out of your system with this self-help workbook and bring relaxation and peace into your life one day at a time.

 
Feeling Good: The New Mood Therapy
Feeling Good: The New Mood Therapy

Everybody wants to 'feel good' but few people realize that they have the power to do that themselves. Nothing and no-one can do that for you. Learn how.

 
Thoughts and Feelings: Taking Control of Your Moods and Your Life (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook)
Thoughts and Feelings: Taking Control of Your Moods and Your Life (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook)

Help YOURSELF by learning how you can live your best life ever despite whatever challenges or circumstances you are facing.

 

"A particular train of thought persisted in, be it good or bad, cannot fail to produce its results on the character and circumstances" (James Allen)

Have you read 'As a Man Thinketh' as yet? Share your best take away from the book.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 3 years ago

      I also believe in the power of positive thinking.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @Merrci: It is, Merrci! Thanks for visiting and have a blessed week.

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 3 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Sounds like a good one!

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @junecampbell: Thanks for another visit, nightcats, and have a blessed week.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @TerriCarr: It's already a small book, why did you read an abridged version :) Go read the whole thing! Thanks for visiting and have a blessed week.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @SusanDeppner: Thanks for featuring my review on Facebook, Susan. Blessings! Have a blessed week.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @SusanDeppner: You're welcome Susan! Glad I did justice to your review lens collection. Thanks for the promotion also - pins, tweets etc. Blessings! Have a blessed week.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @junecampbell: I hope you get it at your library, nightcats. Thanks for visiting and have a blessed week.

    • junecampbell profile image

      June Campbell 3 years ago from North Vancouver, BC, Canada

      I have not read the book,but I have read many books with a similar message. I totally believe that in some way, thoughts are things -- and they do indeed influence us in every way. It is a good reminder of spiritual principles.

    • TerriCarr profile image

      TerriCarr 3 years ago

      I have read at least an abridged version of this book. I know it is a short book already :-) but I think I may have read a miniature version of it. His words resonate very deeply.

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 3 years ago from Arkansas USA

      Just featured this review on Facebook, on my new KindleToday page!

    • Nancy Hardin profile image

      Nancy Carol Brown Hardin 3 years ago from Las Vegas, NV

      I have not read this book, but even without reading it, I believe it. That power of positive thought has manifested itself in my own life the past few years. Thanks for another book to add to my "must read" list.

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 3 years ago from Arkansas USA

      Awesome review and the basic principle is so very true, as you demonstrate. Thanks for adding your review to my Bestselling Self-Help Books to Review lens. I'll be pinning, tweeting, and otherwise promoting this around the web. I appreciate it!

    • junecampbell profile image

      June Campbell 3 years ago from North Vancouver, BC, Canada

      I have not read this book, but I totally believe in the fact (at least, to me, its a fact) that thoughts are things, and they shape our life and our experiences in this world. I will check with our local library and see if they have As a Man Thinketh.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @aka-rms: Thanks rms! Have a blessed week and thanks for visiting.

    • aka-rms profile image

      Robin S 3 years ago from USA

      Great review!

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @shellys-space: That's good that you read self-help books. I think that they are important if we truly want to grow. Thanks for visiting and have a blessed week.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image
      Author

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      @Brite-Ideas: That's the idea, Brite-Ideas! You want to keep good quotes handy as powerful daily reminders. Have a blessed week and thanks for visiting.

    • shellys-space profile image

      Shelly Sellers 3 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      Looks like a great and positive self-help book! I have read How to Win Friends & Influence People and many Zig Ziglar books.

    • Brite-Ideas profile image

      Barbara Tremblay Cipak 3 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      There are a number of quotes I've used from this book - a couple pinned to my fridge