ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

The Happiness Project - Not Your Typical Self-Help Book

Updated on April 28, 2014

I'll be honest with you. I avoided this book for months before finally deciding to get it from my local bookstore. I've read countless self-help books in the past and The Happiness Project sounded like another one of those books with a few new thoughts thrown in to make it seem new. I ended up buying the book just to satisfy my curiosity and besides, it was one of the cheaper options at my bookstore here in Japan.

So What's Different About This Book

The book started out on a good note and by the time I got to the third chapter, I knew I was going to like it. One of the biggest differences between The Happiness Project and other books in this genre was the casual and friendly way it was written. Instead of preaching to the world what one should or should not do to attain ultimate happiness, she talks about her own personal exoeriment and journey throughout an entire year of her life searching for that elusive thing called "happiness".

Another thing that stood out was the fact that the author herself, was happy to begin with. She had a well-paying job that she enjoyed, a loving husband and family and great friends she enjoyed spending time with. She also lived in a beautiful home and was surrounded by her favorite things. Yet she felt as though something was still missing and although she wasn't necessarily unhappy, she was afraid that everything would start crumbling down sooner or later.

The author combines helpful tips and researched facts with honesty and a touch of light humor making this book enjoyable to read as well as addictive. After certain chapters I found myself deep in thought and contemplating my own situation in life, while other parts made me laugh out loud that I had tears in my eyes.

The Final Verdict

By the end of the book, I can truly say it was one of the best books I've read on the subject and has even encouraged me to start a happiness project of my own. For those looking for a less "scientific" book to read on the subject, The Happiness Project may just be the book you've been looking for.

Happier at Home: Kiss More, Jump More, Abandon a Project, Read Samuel Johnson, and My Other Experiments in the Practice of Everyday Life
Happier at Home: Kiss More, Jump More, Abandon a Project, Read Samuel Johnson, and My Other Experiments in the Practice of Everyday Life

This is her "sequel" to The Happiness Project. I haven't read this yet, but I plan to and if it's anything like the first, I know I'm going to enjoy it.

 
The 18 Rules of Happiness: How to Be Happy
The 18 Rules of Happiness: How to Be Happy

This book is a mini-course on how to attain happiness in your life. 18 simple methods that you can use to begin enjoying profound happiness and freedom in your life. May reviewers have found this book to be one of the most helpful around.

 

Watch this video to get a feel of what The Happiness Project is all about.

How Happy Are You?

See results

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      SteveKaye 3 years ago

      Happiness is an important priority. Now I realize that it comes from being someone I'd admire.

    • AcornOakForest profile image

      Monica Lobenstein 3 years ago from Western Wisconsin

      Sounds like a good read. Thanks for the recommendation!

    • Brite-Ideas profile image

      Barbara Tremblay Cipak 3 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      this book sounds very interesting, thank you for the wonderful review - am going to have to read this one - I have to say that if you can find a place of happiness inside when you're in the middle of storm, then you know you have the real deal - that's my personal 'happiness test' - despite all the storms I've been in or am in, there's always a part of me that stays peaceful inside (it's a crazy thing) but I'm grateful for it

    • Mary Crowther profile image

      Mary Crowther 3 years ago from Havre de Grace

      This sounds like a book i would enjoy, thanks for sharing your review!

    • profile image

      Ibidii 3 years ago

      I probably need this book!

    • David Stone1 profile image

      David Stone 3 years ago from New York City

      I once wrote a series of articles as "The World's Happiest Man" and used that as a subtitle in my first nonfiction book, so this resonates with me. The field has grown rapidly with options from scientific to philosophical, and of course, it has generated its own field of debunkers. But if you really are happy in something more than a superficial way, you know the difference in relation to others around you who have not made that choice.

      Sounds like a enjoyable book, and so many people can benefit from boning up on the not so simple topic of happiness.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 3 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @TransplantedSoul: I agree with that one. This really is a good book.

    • TransplantedSoul profile image

      TransplantedSoul 3 years ago

      Finally a self help book that is doing more than helping the author's bank account!

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 3 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @MarcellaCarlton: Thanks so much. Different perspectives sometimes act as reminders for me.

    • profile image

      MarcellaCarlton 3 years ago

      I think I would also enjoy this book. Everyone needs a different perspective now and then and I think that this could give me a boost. Nice lens.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 3 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @TanoCalvenoa: I wholeheartedly recommend this book. It's probably my favorite in this genre.

    • VinnWong profile image

      VinnWong 4 years ago

      I know a few people who have read this book and they all seem to be very very happy people. I must read it.

    • profile image

      TanoCalvenoa 4 years ago

      The psychology of happiness is personally interesting to me - and although I have no problem with much more scientific texts, I know I would enjoy this one as well. Looks like one to read, next time I want to study this subject.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @VinnWong: That's so awesome to hear!

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @WriterJanis2: Thank you for the comment WriterJanis.

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 4 years ago

      Sounds like a winning publication.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @RoadMonkey: Thank you for taking the time to comment. Hope you enjoy it.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @changrcoacher: Aww thanks so much. So happy to see your comments here.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @TheWritingnag: It's totally my pleasure. I hope you enjoy the book.

    • RoadMonkey profile image

      RoadMonkey 4 years ago

      Interesting find. I must put that on my reading list.

    • profile image

      changrcoacher 4 years ago

      I enjoyed your review. Think I'd like the book too....

    • TheWritingnag profile image

      Writing Nag 4 years ago from Colorado Springs, Colorado

      I'm a fan of Gretchen Rubin but I didn't realize she had a follow up book...Happier at Home, I'll have to put it on my reading list. Thanks!

    • Susan Zutautas profile image

      Susan Zutautas 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Have never heard of this book but thanks for reviewing it and bringing it to my attention. I really should read it.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @rebeccay104: My pleasure. Thanks so much for reading!

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @Tarra99: alteredkat, that's exactly what I did for awhile. I kept noticing it but never got around to buying it. I think you really will enjoy the book.

    • rebeccay104 profile image

      rebeccay104 4 years ago

      Thanks for the recommendation! I will have to check it out.

    • profile image

      Tarra99 4 years ago

      My mom just bought this...I was gonna borrow it. A couple weeks later I saw a copy in the store but put it down...maybe I'll go back and get it now. :)

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @VspaBotanicals: That's so awesome Vspa.

    • VspaBotanicals profile image

      VspaBotanicals 4 years ago

      Great lens! I am at my happiest, when I help others.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @tmsmith19: In that case this is the perfect book for you. Happy reading!

    • tmsmith19 profile image

      tmsmith19 4 years ago

      I think I will try to pick up this book. I need a pick-me-up! Thanks for the recommendation!

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @Diana Wenzel: Thank you RenaissanceWoman. That's such a nice thing to say. Glad you liked this book as much as I did.

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 4 years ago from Colorado

      I enjoyed reading this book. Happiness is something I am always grateful for. I liked your approach to this review.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @Elsie Hagley: I agree kiwinana. I find that books like this always helps me find ways to improve my life and my way of thinking. Always appreciate your posts.

    • Elsie Hagley profile image

      Elsie Hagley 4 years ago from New Zealand

      I always enjoy reading books like this, it gives you food for thought, how you can always view you own life and what you can do to improve the way you think, making a happier you.

    • smine27 profile image
      Author

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      @LiteraryMind: Yep I hear you. Seriously though, this book almost reads like a novel so it's at least entertaining to read. I appreciate your comments LiteraryMind.

    • LiteraryMind profile image

      Ellen Gregory 4 years ago from Connecticut, USA

      Thanks for saying this book is "different than other books of this genre", otherwise I wouldn't give it a second look. There are so many books written by "gurus", where I fall asleep reading the same old, same old. I might actually take a look at this one, thanks to your honest review.