ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Reviews - Ten Quick Reviews

Updated on May 23, 2013

Book Reviews

I have enjoyed reading since I was a child of about 6 years old, encouraged by my mother, and have amassed a very large collection as I find it difficult to part with books.

In August 2007 I began a project that had been in my mind for a long time; to write short book reviews for my whole collection - an ambitious project but hopefully one that will be appreciated by other book lovers.

On this page I have written ten short reviews as an introduction to bookreviewblog.co.uk. Please visit the site and browse the ever-growing collection of book reviews and you may find some new reading material.

The Twits by Roald Dahl

The Twits
The Twits

This short story for children aged 6-10 is full of mischievous tricks, cruel practical jokes and abuse that goes on between the revolting Mr and Mrs Twit. Mr Twit has a beard full of disgusting scraps of food and Mrs Twit has a glass eye that she takes out to scare Mr Twit with. This appalling couple delight in catching birds to make pies with and abusing a family of monkeys. Eventually, the Mugglewump monkey family gets its own back on the Twits.

This is one of Dahl most hilarious books and must have been written when he was in a particularly mischievous mood. Although it is aimed and young children I would highly recommend it to adults who haven't yet read it. The illustrations add enormously to this story and really capture the vile character of the Twits.

Brilliant!

Read more about The Twits on my lens about the book: The Twits.

 

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon)

Dan Brown's grail quest is a highly debated novel and consists of a trail of clues stretching from Paris to Scotland that eventually unravel an inconvenient secret about Jesus' life.

Whilst the pace of this novel makes it a real page turner, the intricate puzzles are all too easily solved by the main characters and the conspiracy theory is far too quickly accepted. The writing style employed is quite formulaic and by the end I was tiring of the overuse of a number of phrases.

The real proof of the quality of The Da Vinci Code is in the ending, and it comes out seriously wanting with a truly pathetic finish.

A page-turner with a terrible ending.

 

Gridlock by Ben Elton

Gridlock
Gridlock

The hilarious tale of Geoffrey Spazmo and friends attempting to save his invention of a clean engine from the destructive clutches of Oil and Automobile companies who will do anything to get their oily hands on it.

This is one of Elton's earliest and funniest novels, satirising governmental and industrial reluctance to investigate clean energy and the inability to cope with traffic congestion. In addition to this are some superbly amusing characters and the author makes the bold move of making a paraplegic the hero of the story and the butt of many jokes.

Very funny and some thought provoking ideas.

 

Congo by Michael Crighton

Congo
Congo

Archaeologists unearthing an ancient ruin in the Congo are stalked by a previously undiscovered species of gorilla. A weak beginning is followed by a weaker middle and anyone who bothers to get to the end will find this the weakest part of all. With a severley restricted vocabulary Crighton tries to keep readers interested in a hackneyed plot but after a few chapters readers will feel as if they are marking a sixteen year-old's exam paper - and a poor one at that.

This is one of the worst books I have ever read in my life and I can only imagine that it sold on the back of the success of Jurassic Park. With a pathetic plot, characters from the pulp fiction writers' handbook and ludicrous gorillas this is a must read for all authors who want to know not how to write.

Toilet paper!

 

The Life Of Pi by Yann Martel

Life of Pi
Life of Pi

The Life of Pi is the superb story of Piscine Patel who is stranded on a lifeboat with a Bengal Tiger named Richard Parker. The events which happen upon the lifeboat and, for a period, upon a floating island inhabited by meerkats are gripping and wonderfully described. Surviving this dreadful situation is an ordeal for Pi and a brilliant twist at the end suggests that the whole story is an allegory for something much more sinister.

With such an original story and brilliant character developments of both Pi and Richard Parker this book is a real gem and proof that winners of the Booker prize can be accessible to a wide range of readers.

One of my favourite novels.

 

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Animal Farm
Animal Farm

Animal Farm is a fantastic story with a very obvious and relevant message about a group of animals that stage a revolution in a farm, ousting the farmer, his family and the workers in the name of equal rights for all the animals. Unfortunately the pigs take charge of running the farm and power corrupts them, eventually treating the other animals with contempt.

This novel works on two levels; it is an interesting and amusing tale about animals taking over a farm but the underlying satire of governmental arrogance is excellent and as valid for democratically elected governments with their spin doctors and manipulation of statitstics as for the more obvious comparison with dictatorial regimes.

One read good, two reads better!

 

Obelix And Co. by Goscinny & Uderzo

Asterix Obelix and Co.: Album #23
Asterix Obelix and Co.: Album #23

This is one of the best in the Asterix series with its satirical look at marketing, capitalism and greed. The Romans are determined to rid themselves of their Gaulish problem and employ Caius Preposterus to corrupt the Gauls by creating huge demand for the useless menhir. Demand causes large numbers of Gauls to become menhir merchants and the competition leads to infighting and the breaking up of the village.

This is a very funny tale with discipline in the Roman camp becoming lax as they get used to a procession of flamboyant Gauls entering their garrison and the absurd clothes the Gauls wear when they become rich are hilarious.

Excellent.

Read about all the Asterix books on my Asterix Books lens.

 

The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer

The Canterbury Tales (original-spelling Middle English edition) (Penguin Classics)
The Canterbury Tales (original-spelling Middle English edition) (Penguin Classics)

Credited as the first work of fiction to be written in the English language this is a collection of stories told by pilgrims on the road to Canterbury. Written in prose form and in an ancient form of English this is no easy read but for good readers some of the tales here are complex farces and quite hilarious.

The Miller's tale and the Reeve's tale a particularly funny and there is a surprising amount of sex, swearing and general bawdiness here. My favourite moment is in the Miller's tale when one serenading lover puckers up for a kiss and finds himself embracing something unexpected: "a woman hath no beard. He felt a thing all rough, and long y-hair'd".

Surprisingly funny.

The Miller's Tale can be read in its entirity in old English here: Miller's Tale.

 

Green Eggs And Ham by Dr Seuss

Green Eggs and Ham
Green Eggs and Ham

Green Eggs and Ham is one of my favourite Dr Suess books along with The Sneetches. In this brilliantly illustrated tale the annoying Sam-I-am tempts his victim with the offer of a meal of Green Eggs and Ham. The sceptical diner refuses this invitation but Sam-I-am employs a variety of marketing techniques to force the Green Eggs and Ham upon the sceptic.

The poetry in this story is simple but amusing and the situations in which the Green Eggs and Ham are offered get ever more bizarre as the story progresses. This is a great book and the expressions of the characters as the Green Eggs and Ham are finally tried are brilliant.

Try it, try it, read this book. Try it, go on, take a look.

Take a look at my Green Eggs and Ham lens for videos based on the story including a clip of President Obama reading the tale: Green Eggs and Ham Video Clips.

 

Earth In The Balance by Al Gore

Earth in the Balance: Ecology and the Human Spirit
Earth in the Balance: Ecology and the Human Spirit

Earth in the Balance is a superb book which deals, in a holistic fashion, topics such as climate change, pollution, third world debt, agriculture and oil and other related topics. Published in 1992 Gore showed an understanding of environmental and economic issues that few politicians demonstrate and this well written book is an excellent choice for anyone wishing to improve their knowledge of the environmental challenges and possible solutions that we face.

Gore does an excellent job of putting over a vast amount of scientific information on a wide variety of subjects concisely, in an interesting fashion and most importantly in a logically argued way. One can only feel a sense of despair that Gore "lost" the presidential election after reading this.

Top quality.

 

Vote For The Best Book

Which of these do you like the best?

See results
free books
free books

Free Books - Download Them Now

Here is some good news for book lovers. There is a huge wealth of literature available for free on the internet. A huge number of classic novels can be downloaded, completely free of charge, and a growing number of authors are publishing their works online and free for publicity purposes. There has never been a better time to find free reading material.

Check out this list of websites with a large selection of free books available: free books.

Have You Read Any Of These? Please Leave Your Comments Here

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • nickupton lm profile imageAUTHOR

      nickupton lm 

      5 years ago

      @iSophie: Yes, it was definitely the best adaptation of a book to movie that I have ever seen.

    • iSophie profile image

      iSophie 

      5 years ago

      Life of Pi was the best books and movie I have ever seen!!

    • SheilaMilne profile image

      SheilaMilne 

      5 years ago from Kent, UK

      I think we must have similar tastes! You have prompted me to read The Canterbury Tales, a long standing "resolution" partly because I live near Canterbury.

    • OhMe profile image

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      This was such an interesting read with a wide range of books. I enjoyed your reviews.

    • eccles1 profile image

      eccles1 

      6 years ago

      Nice lens !

    • redstanford lm profile image

      redstanford lm 

      6 years ago

      I read Al Gore's book you listed. I thought it was very well written and informative

    • Millionairemomma profile image

      Millionairemomma 

      6 years ago

      What an ingenious book lens idea! I loved it. Great choices too.

    • profile image

      marsha32 

      6 years ago

      Nice to find this one in my search. I am adding it to a list of others on my own book reviews lens.

    • Persephone Abbott profile image

      Persephone Abbott 

      6 years ago

      I started writing book reviews on Goodreads and love the way the forum makes me focus my thoughts about what I read and how I can learn others perceive the same book! So enjoyable!

    • profile image

      rgrosso 

      6 years ago

      I love The Witches by Roald Dahl. He is a great author. I read many different genres myself. I also like James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell. Please check out my first published book. It is called Hannah's Secret and it is about a girl in the 8th grade struggling through middle school. You can check out my lens on it here: http://www.squidoo.com/rita-grosso-hannah-s-secret

    • jeremiahjpwalto1 profile image

      jeremiahjpwalto1 

      7 years ago

      Animal Farm is great. I just created a lens on it. https://hubpages.com/literature/george-orwell-anim

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 

      7 years ago from Colorado

      Books are my oxygen. Like you, I have been an avid reader since early childhood. I think your project is great (reviewing your book collection). I, too, am determined to contribute more book reviews here on Squidoo. Just started my third one. I love connecting with kindred spirits who are passionate about reading. Thanks!

    • marckq profile image

      marckq 

      7 years ago

      I haven't read some of the books here, I'll get my hand on them pretty soon. Thanks for sharing

    • profile image

      lafilleunique 

      7 years ago

      i love reading, great selections here.

    • eep720 lm profile image

      eep720 lm 

      7 years ago

      I also love reading, and this lens has showed me some new books to read. Thanks, I'll be checking out your other book reviews.

    • profile image

      MissReviews 

      7 years ago

      Wow! Your book reviews are really good. I am a big fan of Asterix and with this lens review I have now an insight about the best book of Asterix. Thank you so much...

    • nickupton lm profile imageAUTHOR

      nickupton lm 

      9 years ago

      I am not familiar with Coben's work but I have read enough Dan Brown to know that I won't be reading any more. Brown's "Deception Point" would contend with "Congo" as the worst, most predictable and stupid book I have ever read. [in reply to lostinfiction]

    • nickupton lm profile imageAUTHOR

      nickupton lm 

      9 years ago

      The Asterix books are the cleverest and best-illustrated of all the genre. [in reply to jroach]

    • profile image

      lostinfiction 

      9 years ago

      was just reading a bit about Dan Brown (http://www.infloox.com/person?id=17de7d0) and how he's influenced by Harlan Coben and vice versa - do you know if they're friends or something? On a related note, are there any books by Coben you could review? I've been meaning to check some of his work but have no idea where to start!

    • profile image

      jroach 

      9 years ago

      Thanks for the tip on Asterix. I'm interested!

    • nickupton lm profile imageAUTHOR

      nickupton lm 

      10 years ago

      Really, you should read it, it is excellent.

    • profile image

      Sunfish LM 

      10 years ago

      You've got quite a variety of genre here...

      I've had "The Life of Pi" for a while and keep meaning to read it. Sounds like I should. Thanks for the reviews.

    • ElizabethJeanAl profile image

      ElizabethJeanAl 

      10 years ago

      Great lens. I love to read and I love to write book reviews. You did an excellent job.

      Lizzy

      The Weekend Reader

    • EelKat13 profile image

      EelKat13 

      10 years ago

      Thanks for joining my group for book lovers (http://www.squidoo.com/groups/WhatsOnYourBookShelf... I‘m adding this lens as a featured lens on the group‘s “mother page“ lens.(http://www.squidoo.com/OneWritersBookshelf).

    • Sensitive Fern profile image

      Sensitive Fern 

      11 years ago

      Interesting concept for a lens. :) Great book list, too.

    • Missi Troble profile image

      Missi Troble 

      11 years ago

      Great lens and I really enjoyed your site. If you get a chance please visit my Tattoo lens.

    • nickupton lm profile imageAUTHOR

      nickupton lm 

      11 years ago

      Don't forget to visit my Book Review Blog for lots more reviews.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)