ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Good Reads for all

Updated on January 25, 2015

"The Art of Racing in the Rain" by Garth Stein is a beautiful book. And I don't mean physically (although any cover with a dog on it wins me over). I mean that it has a beautiful heart of a story. It is the story of Enzo the dog's life is full of small adventures with his small human family. A superhero of a dog, Enzo is philosophical, and emotional. Aware of things his human counterparts wish they could be. His relationships (or lack thereof) with his human family adapt the story to something everyone can relate to.

Although a tearjerker, "The Art of Racing in the Rain" will have you smiling and laughing. Any pet owner will be able to connect with Enzo's human like personality. The frustration in not be able to communicate his thoughts and feelings with his human family makes the reader think "how do dogs think and feel", "what kind of things do they wish they could do" "What is my dog thinking about right now."

If you are a racing fan, a dog fan or a pet owner, this book is for you. Garth Stein's writing style is fluid and easy to read. The book is easily finished within a couple days. Some amazing philosophy comes from one little dog. Enzo comes off as a character that is full of life, emotional, friendly and smart.

Be ready to cry and giggle. with this wonderful novel. I would recommend this book to everyone. It's a great book for book clubs to. Go read it! Just look into the eyes of the dog on the cover and say no.

Myst Trilogy

"If you act for self-gain then no good can come of it. If you act selflessly, then you act well for all and you must not be afraid."

- Rand Miller, The Book of Atrus


What if you could not only picture what happens in a book but travel throughout it's pages?

"The Myst Reader" by Rand Miller contains all three of the Myst series of books. The Book of Atrus, The Book of Ti'ana, and The Book of D'ni.


Although I am not usually a big fantasy reader, the Myst books captivated me and transported me into the intricate worlds of the D'Ni. Originally based on the bestselling computer games of the same name "Myst", "Riven", and "Myst III: Exile" , the Myst stories will captivate the reader whether they have played the game or not.

The first book explores the lineage of the game starting with Atrus, a young boy who fantasizes about the world he comes from. His long lost father soon gathers his boy to teach him of his history and even how to write his own D'Ni books. But troubles between the boy and his father soon arise.

What happens when one not only creates a new world, but a new people? Is the creator responsible for them, or is it alright to simply experiment? Are people, in a book, considered "real" people?

A great book for fans of the computer game, fantasy readers, teens and book lovers of all kind.

"It was like peering into the volcano on a moonless night. You could see nothing, but you might imagine everything. That was the thing about darkness-the way it refused to remain a simple absence. Unlike snow, the darkness took on all forms-thousands of forms-for the dark was fluid"

- Rand Miller, The Book of Atrus

Llama drama in Anna Dewdney's "Llama llama red pajama!

"Llama llama

red pajama

in the dark

without his mama.

Eyes wide open, covers drawn...

What if Mama Llama's GONE?"


Fun Fact!

Llama Llama Red Pajama was chosen as Jumpstart’s Read for the Record book in 2011, setting the world’s record for most readings of a particular book on one day.

Awards

Scholastic Parent and Child “100 Greatest Books for Kids” award winner;

Bank Street "Best Children’s Book" recipient;

Missouri Building Block Award winner;

National Public Radio pick;

Carolina Children's Book Award Master List winner (picture book category).

So check out "Llama Llama Red Pajama" and follow along to see why there is so much drama! (It'll make you giggle too!)


In this whimsical Anna Dewdney picture book, Llama is getting ready for sleep. But when he calls for his mama she doesn't come. Where is Mama Llama?!

"Llama Llama Red Pajama" makes for magical story time story. The illustrations are funny and bright. The rhyming text is written in a few sentences per page, in a large font which make it easy to read along.

It will be a bedtime favorite for many children and adults.

Also in the Llama Llama collection:

Llama Llama Hoppity-Hop

Llama Llama Zippity-Zoom

Llama Llama Wakey-Wake

Llama Llama Nighty-Night

Llama Llama Mad at Mama

Llama Llama Misses Mama

Llama Llama Holiday Drama

Llama Llama Home with Mama

Llama Llama Time to Share

Llama Llama and the Bully Goat


If you liked "Llama Llama Red Pajama" you may also like;

-Someday

-The Kissing Hand

-Piglet and Mama

-Just me and my Mom

What is you favorite book?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      DebMartin 

      4 years ago

      Walking My Dog Jane by Ned Rozell is a goodie. Love dog books!

    • Erin Mellor profile image

      Erin Mellor 

      4 years ago from Europe

      I really enjoyed this book, having been given it as an emergency read for a flight. It kept me thinking long afterwards.

    • tracy-arizmendi profile image

      Tracy Arizmendi 

      4 years ago from Northern Virginia

      I loved this book! I actually listened to it on a long road trip home a few years ago, and never looked at my dog, LolaBelle, the same way again! I have found myself thinking back to scenes in this book when she looks like she is trying so hard to tell me something. This book was based on a true story and had me, and my husband, laughing and tearing up simultaneously. Having the book told from the dog's point of view was genius!

    • Scott A Butler profile image

      Scott A. Butler 

      4 years ago from England

      Thank you for reviewing this. I hadn't heard of it and it sounds interesting.

    • Faye Rutledge profile image

      Faye Rutledge 

      4 years ago from Concord VA

      I loved The Art of Racing in the Rain, but I guess my favorite would be A Dog's Purpose. Both books are awesome and inspirational. Great review.

    • profile image

      RinchenChodron 

      4 years ago

      I can't place the name of it right now but it was about a Great Dane. This one looks like fun to read too.

    • Nicoinstitches profile imageAUTHOR

      Nico 

      4 years ago from Ottawa, ON

      @Ruthi: It's such a sweet story. You won't regret it.

    • profile image

      Ruthi 

      4 years ago

      I think I would like to read this book about Enzo, the dog. The video was delightful, thanks for including it as part of the book review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)