ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

The Belgariad, an Epic Fantasy Saga

Updated on November 11, 2012

The Belgariad, an Epic Fantasy Saga

If you liked Lord of the Rings, you will love The Belgariad, a series of epic fantasy novels by David Eddings.

The Belgariad unfolds in five volumes, so snuggle up under your comforter for the winter. This series of novels is so entertaining, so engaging, so imaginative you will never want it to end.

Book Two of The Belgariad
Book Two of The Belgariad

The Belgariad

The Belgariad, an Epic Fantasy Novel Series

This lens reviews The Belgariad, an epic fantasy novel series by David Eddings.

Hunker down for the winter with The Belgariad. The Belgariad unfolds over the course of five books. Swords, sorcery, wizards, wizardry, The Belgariad has the works. If you enjoy quests, dragons, enchanted towers and fighting demons, and you want to know the difference between a magician, a wizard and a sorcerer, you will seriously enjoy The Belgariad.

The Belgariad is seriously scary at times, but unlike Lord of the Rings, it is also seriously funny.

Pawn of Prophecy - First Book of The Belgariad

Review of the first book of The Belgariad

Pawn of Prophecy (Belgariad)
Pawn of Prophecy (Belgariad)

The Belgariad begins in typical epic fantasy fashion. Garion, the young protagonist of Pawn of Prophecy doesn't know who he is, or who his parents were. His true identity is yet to be revealed.

All he knows is that an old man, known as "Old Wolf", turns up one night and starts telling stories by the fire. The night wears on and the boy is captivated. Little does he know that he will soon embark on an epic adventure, in search of his true destiny.

As events unfold, Garion repeatedly asks, "Why Me?".

The young man with a big destiny in front of him is a staple of series such as Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter.

Pawn of Prophecy starts slowly, but by the end of it, you will be gripped.


The Belgariad: The Video

Animated video on The Belgariad

The Belgariad Continues - Books 2-5 of The Belgariad

Queen of Sorcery (The Belgariad, Book 2)
Queen of Sorcery (The Belgariad, Book 2)

One thing that distinguishes it from Lord of the Rings is that The Belgariad contains a number of strong female characters.

In Queen of Sorcery, we learn more about Polgara, daughter of Belgarath the Sorcerer.

Magician's Gambit (The Belgariad, Book 3)
Magician's Gambit (The Belgariad, Book 3)

In Magician's Gambit, another woman character, spoilt princess Ce' Nedra, learns something about her destiny.


New Guestbook Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Scraps2treasures profile image

      Scraps2treasures 5 years ago

      I have never heard of this series before but it sounds like something I would love to read!

    • profile image

      nicolane 5 years ago

      I love this series - and the sequel series The Mallorean - wonderful

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I loved that series! I've read it twice. I discovered it many years ago in Copenhagen. I was about to take the train home (30 km's from Copenhagen), but I'd finished my book on the way out. I hate to sit and do nothing, so I found this book, which was the first of the Belgariad series. I loved it, and of course I had to buy the rest of the books.