ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Updated on December 22, 2017
MacPharlain profile image

MacPharlain enjoys reading good books from many genres. His favorite is historical fiction and his favorite author is Patrick O'Brian.

The Kite Runner

Afghanistan has been a major part of the news for the last decade. Like most people, it's a country that I knew little about.

Then my wife read The Kite Runner and highly recommended it to me. She knows I have high standards for good historical fiction, so her recommendation meant a lot. I'm glad she told me about it.

The Kite Runner is the first novel by Afghan author Khaled Hosseini. It's a well written and tragic story that engages the reader as it paints a picture of life growing up in Afghanistan.

This is my review of the book.

Plot Summary of "The Kite Runner"

What's this book about?

The Kite Runner is about a boy named Amir growing up in Afghanistan. His father is a wealthy businessman and his best friend, Hassan, is one of their servants. The story is told by Amir as he recounts his life growing up in Kabul during the Afghan monarchy.

Even though Hassan is his closest friend and loyal servant, Amir delights in tricking the uneducated Hassan at every opportunity. Amir has the chance to redeem himself one tragic night and defend Hassan from neighborhood thugs. Instead he cowers behind a corner and watches the brutal act. Driven by shame for his cowardice and tormented by Hassan's continued loyalty, Amir shuns Hassan and eventually betrays him.

After the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan Amir flees the country with his father and they find their way to the Afghan community outside of San Francisco. There Amir tries to forget his past and begin a new life.

Then a phone call in 2001 from an old family friend in Afghanistan offers Amir "a way to be good again" with a last chance to redeem himself.

Thoughts About "The Kite Runner"

There are a few bright moments but much of The Kite Runner is sad and tragic. It's heart breaking to read about a country destroyed by civil war, invasion and then the Taliban who hid behind religious extremism to brutalize and oppress the Afghan people. The political events provide a crucial background to the story and you can feel the loss of normal life for people there as events unfold.

Amir struggles for his father's affection and you feel sorry for him at first. But his treatment and eventual betrayal of Hassan make you really dislike Amir by the middle of the book. It's a feeling which never fully goes away although I was pulling for him near the end. That was more for Hassan's sake than Amir's though.

Hassan on the other hand is very likable...thoughtful, good natured and always loyal to Amir. His frequent response of "For you, a thousand times over" to Amir reminded me of Westley in The Princess Bride who answered every request with "as you wish."

The Kite Runner (Riverhead Essential Editions)
The Kite Runner (Riverhead Essential Editions)

A well written novel that you won't want to put down.

 

Historical and Cultural Elements of the Book

One reason I enjoyed reading The Kite Runner is the setting. It's the first story I've read about life in Afghanistan. Don't worry, it's not a history lesson, but you will learn about Afghan culture, traditions and some history.

I know very little about Afghan history and was hoping when I started reading that the book would go into a lot of historical detail. After reading, I'm glad it didn't. The story of the relationships Amir has with his father and Hassan take center stage...as it should. The history is a background element to give context and depth to the story and Hosseini does a good job of weaving it in.

I did learn a lot about kite fighting and kite running which I had never heard of before. Apparently they are very popular sports in some countries.

What I Liked About "The Kite Runner"...

  1. Hosseini uses a very descriptive writing style that brings to life the sights, sounds and smells of life in Afghanistan and the Afghan community in the US.
  2. I found myself really caring about what happened to the characters and developed some emotions for them...both good and bad.
  3. The historical events are woven in seamlessly. They provide background without overwhelming the story.

Before You Read...

There are some disturbing scenes of violence and abuse in the book but they are important elements of the story and not gratuitous or exceedingly graphic.

Learn More About The Author - Khaled Hosseini

Here are links to more info about the author. It's hard to believe this was his first novel.

Who Was Your Favorite Character?

See results

My Rating of "The Kite Runner"

I enjoyed reading the The Kite Runner and give it 4 stars. It's an emotional story that draws you in and I wanted to read it straight through in one shot.

While it didn't make me an expert on Afghanistan, reading this book did give me a better perspective on its people and history.

4 stars for "The Kite Runner"

How Do You Rate "The Kite Runner"?

See results

Now it's your turn...what did you think of The Kite Runner? Please share your critique in the comments below.

Your Review

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • ismeedee profile image

      ismeedee 

      6 years ago

      Your review does justice to what I think is an excellent book!

    • natashaely profile image

      natashaely 

      6 years ago

      I read this book as part of a book group I belonged to a few years back. It had been built up with so much hype and I am often reluctant to follow the mainstream in what i read but as it was a book of the month i had to read it. I was so glad that I did as it was a such a moving book and I cried with the raw emotion It was beautifully written and I found it a powerful book that gave a me a small amount of understanding into a culture I know so little about.

      Your review is great and I have had this up for the vote twice in my reading group and it will be added to SEptember as I think everyone should read it. Another excellent page.

    • darciefrench lm profile image

      darciefrench lm 

      6 years ago

      I read the Kite Runner recently and agree, it's an excellent book. Many thanks for sharing.

    • JenniferAkers LM profile image

      JenniferAkers LM 

      8 years ago

      I love your review on The Kite Runner. Great lens, which builds around your book review but adds more detail (like info on Kite Running, author Khaled Hosseini, the movie, etc) than a typical review can offer. 5*!

    • profile image

      crodriguez08 

      9 years ago

      Nice review.

    • Rusty Quill profile image

      Rusty Quill 

      10 years ago

      Very well done! Welcome to Review Central, this is a mighty fine addition to the group.

    • fefe42 profile image

      fefe42 

      10 years ago

      I haven't read the book yet but will put it on my reading list. I saw it in Starbucks a few days ago. :)

    • TheBookGarden1 profile image

      TheBookGarden1 

      10 years ago

      It was a good book and I'm looking forward to seeing the film, but I'd been spoiled by being introduced to the area and people in the awesomely amazing book Shantram.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)