ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Nonfiction»
  • Biographies & Memoirs

The Perfect Nazi - Book Review

Updated on April 20, 2018

I first came across the book 'The Perfect Nazi' when browsing through the shelves of the History section of my local library. I've always had an interest in modern German history; it intrigues me how a country could get into such a situation where perfectly normal, respectable people can allow such atrocities to happen and how much the average citizen actually knew of what was going on.

What particularly drew me to this book is the fact that it's not your average history book, written by somebody with an external view of the situation. The author, Martin Davidson, first came up with the idea of writing this book after finding out parts of what his grandfather, Bruno Langbehn, the Nazi of the title, did during the Second World War. It's the fact this is such a personal topic for the author that drives this book along so well and adds some real emotion to the narrative. Imagine discovering that your grandfather was a member of the Nazi party and the SS. That is what the author had to deal with.

Martin Davidson works for the BBC in their History programming department. As a child he knew that his German grandfather Bruno was involved in the war, but didn't know any details and it wasn't a subject he felt he could broach with him. It was only after Bruno's death that Davidson finally found out some details from his mother. He then decided to research further and the result is this book; a comprehensive account of what led Bruno to make his choice and join the Nazis' push for power.

The book is written in chronological order from Bruno's youth, through the turmoil of post World War 1 Germany and the rise of the Nazi party, through World War 2 and finally what happened after the war. It is an extremely well researched book and draws upon many sources, ranging from academic work to actual records from the time that Davidson has managed to track down. It also contains family photos charting Bruno's life, both pre- and post-war.

Overall, this is an extremely fascinating book, charting the story of a fairly average German man and his seduction by the ideology of Hitler and his Nazi party. It will have you simultaneously engrossed and shocked, and give you a fantastic insight into what shaped Germany and her people in those fateful years between the wars.


The author, Martin Davidson, discusses his research into his grandfather's past.

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • David3142 profile image
      Author

      David 3 years ago from West Midlands, England

      @SciTechEditorDave: Thank you. I really appreciate the feedback.

    • SciTechEditorDave profile image

      David Gardner 3 years ago from San Francisco Bay Area, California

      Interesting .... Some of my cousins have been digging around in our family's early history -- and it's sort of fascinating (and sometimes creepy) what they find. My folks are predominantly from English, German, Dutch on my dad's side and from French, German, English, Russian and my mom's side. To add even more confusion for my kids, my wife's folks are of Indonesian, Malaysian, Chinese, Spanish, Irish, Filipino background. When my wife and I got married, our dads had an interesting time at the reception chatting "war stories" -- they both had been in WWII in the Pacific -- my father-in-law in the jungles of the Philippines and my dad as a sailor on a U.S. LST (which eventually landed in the Philippines). I wish I had recorded their conversations. Might have made an interesting book. This is a good review -- the personal touch to a snippet of history makes for more involved reading. Congrats on a great lens.

    • David3142 profile image
      Author

      David 3 years ago from West Midlands, England

      @Heidi Vincent: I agree. Thanks for the comment and Squidlike.

    • David3142 profile image
      Author

      David 3 years ago from West Midlands, England

      @topclimb lm: Thank you for the comments and the Squidlike. Really appreciated.

    • topclimb lm profile image

      topclimb lm 3 years ago

      This is a great lens. Really like your narrative and I have added the book to my must read list. Thanks!

    • Heidi Vincent profile image

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      Great choice of history book and review, DoinMaths! I can just imagine how painful it must have been for Martin Davidson to learn of his grand father's involvement and have that fact cemented with his research.

    • MariaMontgomery profile image

      MariaMontgomery 3 years ago from Central Florida, USA

      This sounds like a good opportunity to get inside the head of a Nazi. I find them creepy, but somehow interesting from a historical point of view. I minored in history, and still have the book by Shirer (one of the books you have advertised). It was required reading for a course on the history of Germany, along with several others. I can only imagine how horrifying to learn that a family member was involved in that incredibly horrible organization called Nazis.

    • David3142 profile image
      Author

      David 3 years ago from West Midlands, England

      @ChocolateLily: Thank you.

    • profile image

      ChocolateLily 3 years ago

      I've read a few books about this time period, but they were all geared toward children (Number the Stars, Hitler Youth, etc). It is so hard to imagine how someone could be sucked into such a regime. I don't know if I would ever be able to read this book, but it looks very insightful. Great review!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)