ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Prince of Wales' Highgrove Garden: Review

Updated on June 12, 2015
The Garden at Highgrove: Prince Charles' garden
The Garden at Highgrove: Prince Charles' garden | Source

Highgrove Garden book - a beautiful gift for a gardener or enthusiast

I just received an email from my step-mother in the UK. We sent her this book via Amazon the other day and she's absolutely thrilled. As soon as we saw it, we knew that she - and my dad - would love it and we couldn't wait for a birthday or the holidays, so we sent this as an 'anytime gift'.

Gorgeous photographs

My dad and step-mother love to be out in their own garden. Whilst it isn't as grand as Highgrove, they spend a great deal of time working on it and so we knew they'd enjoy this book.We first found out about it from a TV documentary - you can see it all in the video below.

Enthusiasts too

The book gives fabulous inspiration but it's for people who love gardens too; not necessarily those with a green thumb. Our own 'smallholding' is a series of a few pots containing herbs but we were nevertheless captivated by the wonderful area Prince Charles has created at his family home.

Fifteen royal acres

A fascinating aspect is that Prince Charles, who started this project thirty years ago, has divided the area into several different and exciting gardens - some are eminently practical and others are deliciously ornamental. There is a complete kitchen garden that provides vegetables, fruit and herbs for the household. There's also a completely natural meadow, created from scratch.

Organic

The Prince of Wales' views on organic gardening, sustainability and the environment are well known and well documented. Thirty years ago, when he began this project entirely based on his principles he was seen, frankly, as being something of a nutcase. Organic? Sustainable? Composting? Recycling water waste? Is the Royal Family showing a distinct streak of insanity?


Time has proved the prince to be correct

And that is so evident in this amazing book.

For the gardener, the book features extensive lists of the plants used - you too can emulate this wonderful place.

For the enthusiast, it's a great read and the photographs are simply beautiful.

Further reading

Read more about the prince's ideas and philosophies.

Harmony: A New Way of Looking at Our World
Harmony: A New Way of Looking at Our World

I admit that there was a time when I thought Prince Charles was a little extreme in his views but time has put me right.

After all, he is one of the best-traveled people in the world, he received the best education and graduated from Cambridge having read history, anthropology and archaeology.

The man knows whereof he speaks. This is an excellent companion piece to the above book.

 

See more

If you'd like to take a tour of the magnificence of the grounds at Highgrove House, you're in for a treat. This is a full-length documentary.

Visit Highgrove

If you're lucky enough to be in the UK, or visiting, then you too can tour Highgrove and its magnificent garden and grounds.

There are two tours which I'm sure will delight you.

The first is the champagne tour where in addition to seeing the gardens, you'll be served organic tea and even a glass of champagne to make your visit even more special. You can also arrange group tours. The gardens have their own catering facility for refreshments, lunches and afternoon teas.

If you don't have a large group, but are looking for individual tours, there are regular guided tours of twenty six people which you may join.

Do be sure that you call ahead to book - entry is only available with a pre-booked ticket. Tours do not necessarily take place in the winter months when the weather can be harsh.

Call 0207 766 7310 for full information.

There are even regular events with guests. These might include demonstrations, wine tastings and luxurious dinners.

In the local village, you'll find the Highgrove shop which is located in an old brewery with many of its original features preserved and a variety of wonderful goods that will make the perfect souvenir of your day.

Do note that all profits from the Highgrove businesses - the shop, the tours, the farm - are donated to the Prince of Wales' Charitable Trust. This organisation supports a wide variety of charities.

A
Highgrove house, Gloucestershire:
Highgrove House, Doughton, Tetbury, Gloucestershire GL8 8TN, UK

get directions

© 2013 Jackie Jackson

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • LiteraryMind profile image

      Ellen Gregory 

      4 years ago from Connecticut, USA

      Looks and sounds like a beautiful place. The fact that it is organic and sustainable makes it even more wonderful.

    • tfsherman lm profile image

      tfsherman lm 

      4 years ago

      Since I can't visit the gardens right now, at least I can comment on this beautifully laid out lens. I love your bold subheadings. They really break up your text, making it more readable and more attractive as well.

    • chrisilouwho profile image

      chrisilouwho 

      4 years ago

      Thank you for the review, what an amazing cover photo. I know a few people who would love to receive this as a gift. And thanks for including information about the documentary, I'm looking forward to watching it.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @Merrci: Thank you! The book is truly gorgeous. It has taken the prince many years to create his gardens and they are very much a labour of love.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @sousababy: Indeed we do. The prince believed in sustainability before anyone else even knew the word.

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      It looks like such a beautiful book! The cover photo alone makes me want to visit. Wonderful book to review and well done of course!

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 

      4 years ago

      Any gardener would appreciate this gift. (Nah, the Royal family hasn't shown any signs of insanity when it comes to the environment). I'm glad that the Prince of Wales didn't waste resources the way a man in his position could have 30 years ago. Sustainable living is what we all need to be striving for.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)