ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Tales of Beedle The Bard Book Review

Updated on April 7, 2018
TreasuresBrenda profile image

Brenda is an Ottawa native who runs a small eBay store called Treasures by Brenda where she sells new, used & vintage Lego sets & much more.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling - 2017 Edition.
The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling - 2017 Edition.
The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling, original U.S. Edition.
The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling, original U.S. Edition.

A Book Review of The Tales of Beedle The Bard

The Tales of Beedle The Bard is a small book comprised of five wizarding fairy tales written by J.K. Rowling the net proceeds of which benefited the Children's High Level Group. The first seven books of this title were handcrafted and sold for millions; this review is of the mass market or standard edition available to you and me.

Harry Potter was a huge part of our lives as my sons grew up. It was natural that we would be interested in further writings by J.K. Rowling. We devoured every book in the Harry Potter series. We enjoyed the movies; they were entertaining, but they were definitely no match for the books. We wished silently for more Harry Potter books.

This Christmas, my oldest son Douglas gifted The Tales of Beedle The Bard to his fifteen-year-old brother, Ian. Ian immediately placed it on his bedstand and read it right away. You will find his review later on this page.

Then I discovered that this book has quietly or somewhat quietly managed to creep into bestseller status. At the end of December, 2008, Amazon had it rated Number 5 on the bestseller's list. For me, that was surprising. I needed to check it out so I stole the book from my son's room and now it is on my bedstand.

To hear what I thought of this book, Ian's opinion and other reviews about this little book by J.K Rowling, read on!

The Tales of Beedle The Bard, The Standard Edition. The first cover shown above is the new, 2017 U.S. edition. The second one shown above is the original U.S. edition. The blue one show below is the Canadian edition that we read in our home in Canada.

"The Tales Of Beedle The Bard

by J.K.Rowling

...is a delight from start to finish."

- Blog Critics Magazine

The Standard Edition includes:

  • The original five fairy tales, "The Tales of Beedle the Bard."
  • J.K. Rowling's new (for the standard edition) introduction.
  • Illustrations that have been reproduced from the original book.
  • Professor Albus Dumbledore's commentary on each of the tales.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling Canadian Edition.
The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling Canadian Edition.

"J. K. Rowling has the magic touch. About half the book is Dumbledore's commentary which, with many references to events and elements in the Harry Potter series for fans to catch, will bring joy to hearts that have been forlorn since the final book was finished."

- Common Sense Media

Review From Me

A Mom

Excellent, entertaining stories fill this little volume of fairy tales. Dumbledore comments after each story, explaining and relating each one to the Harry Potter series and to the lives of witches and wizards and J.K. Rowling explains terms or facts that us muggles might not understand. I enjoyed reading this book. It made me want to see the fully illustrated originals or even the limited collector's edition.

This book is the book that topped Amazon's 'Most-Wished-For Products' list for 2008.

Guest Review from a Fifteen Year Old Harry Potter Fan

Fairy tales as they were told to wizarding children. There are no damsels in distress or knights in shining armour here. The only knight in all five stories is in fact in distress himself. The Tales of Beedle the Bard is a new insight into the life of a young wizard. Mentioned several times in the Harry Potter series, we were never really told what the stories were. By reading this book, we are able to get a glance into the stories that shaped the imaginations of the growing witches and wizards.

The Tales were both illuminating and fun to read. I would recommend the book The Tales of Beedle the Bard to any and all who enjoyed the Harry Potter series.

"The stories are great fun, and provide just enough of that old Potter feeling to take the edge off for those suffering withdrawals."

- The Trades

Guest Review from a Voracious Reader, a Teacher and an Aunt

The Tales of Beedle the Bard was thoroughly enjoyable. Not only did I enjoy the fairy tales for the magic born, but Dumbledore's comments were enlightening. I particularly enjoyed the play on French words in the story of "Bobbity Robbity and her Cackling Stump." As per usual, Hermione did a wonderful job with the translation!

A bonus is that a portion of the book's selling price goes to a very worthwhile charity, Children's High Level Group.

The Launching of This Book

The Tales of Beedle The Bard was launched at a party at the National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh, December 4th, 2008. Attendance was limited to 8 to 11 year-olds from the area who were chosen by ballot in the local newspaper. A few tickets were also given away through contests by Scholastic, Bloomsbury and Amazon.

More The Tales of Beedle The Bard Book Reviews

The Tales of Beedle The Bard Book Reviews
The Tales of Beedle The Bard Book Reviews

It's your turn! What did you think of The Tales of Beedle The Bard? Please add a comment or a review of the book.

What did you think?

If you have read it, rate it!

On a scale of 1-5, what did you REALLY think?

See results

What was the most memorable story in the book for you?

See results

© 2008 Treasures By Brenda

Have you read this book? What did you think?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • lemonsqueezy lm profile image

      lemonsqueezy lm 

      7 years ago

      You might have inspired me to add this to my reading wish list. I like all of the family reviews that you included here. Very fun.

    • daoine lm profile image

      daoine lm 

      9 years ago

      So good to see a variety of opinions - 3 review for the price of one! Welcome to Harry Potter Fun & Games Headquarters :-)

    • profile image

      julieannbrady 

      9 years ago

      Gosh, for just a minute, I was thinking what fabulous a lensmaster J.K. Rowling might be! What a talent.

    • KimGiancaterino profile image

      KimGiancaterino 

      9 years ago

      Wonderful lens... this is a great gift idea for several people on my list.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      9 years ago

      wow, this review is way in depth. i really like all of the extra reviews and pictures you have to support your writing! nice work!

    • AlisonMeacham profile image

      AlisonMeacham 

      9 years ago

      I really enjoyed the innovative way you presented this review. Angel Blessings to you. I hope you are going for Giant Squid this time???

    • LouiseKirkpatrick profile image

      LouiseKirkpatrick 

      9 years ago from Berkshire, United Kingdom

      Excellent review! I bought this book for my son for Christmas, so I'll be reading it when he's finished it :)5* and featured on British Literature Headquarters

    • religions7 profile image

      religions7 

      9 years ago

      Great lens. I especially liked the video of the launch party :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)