ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

True Strength by Kevin Sorbo | A Book Review

Updated on October 2, 2014

Who is Kevin Sorbo?

This book is about a man who played the hero role on TV and in movies, while in reality he was secretly dealing with a sudden illness that nearly took his life. It took true strength for Kevin Sorbo to overcome three unexpected strokes; he credits his sickness and the period of time it took for him to get better for giving him a more positive perspective in life and the ability to focus on what matters. This book is an inspirational journey about how one man overcame a debilitating condition and became a better person because of it.

Kevin Sorbo has had many roles in his life: He’s played a Captain on the TV show Andromeda, and he played a Demi-God on Hercules: The Legendary Journeys. He has worked as an actor, a model and even a bouncer. In recent years he wrote his autobiography which revealed something new and shocking about himself: He is also a stroke survivor. For people familiar with Kevin Sorbo and his work, it is shocking to learn this truth. In 1997 he suffered from an aneurysm which caused him to have three strokes. He lost a percentage of his vision in both his eyes, he nearly lost his arm, and he could have died.

Hercules: The Legendary Journeys

This all happened between the 4th and 5th seasons of Hercules: The Legendary Journeys and while he was on tour promoting his newest movie Kull The Conqueror. He describes in his book how everything was going perfect for him at the time of his strokes: He was at the height of his career; He was the lead in a popular television show, which was being watched all over the world; He was dating the woman of his dreams; His movie career was about to take off; and most importantly he was in peak physical condition. He discusses how hard he worked his whole life to get to where he was, he talks about only sleeping 4 hours a night, working out for several hours a day. He didn’t smoke or drink. He was considered a healthy person, living a healthy lifestyle. Which is why when he suffered 3 strokes from a blood clot, it was completely unexpected. His life changed completely, he was resigned to bed, unable to walk, he could barely move.

The book describes his ups and downs he was forced to deal with. For the sake of the show’s future, everyone on Hercules: The Legendary Journeys television show felt it was necessary to downplay how severe his illness was. In fact, even close personal friends of his did not realize how severe his illness was and what he was dealing with. More surprisingly people did not realize how sick he was because on the outside he looked fine, but on the inside his brain had suffered a tremendous blow, and he wasn’t the same person he had been. He played his role so well on the show that even he could not distinguish between himself and the legendary Hercules. He faced tremendous adversity overcoming his strokes and rehabilitating his brain.

As a Kevin Sorbo fan, this book has provided me with a newer appreciation for Sorbo as a person. He also also describes what he has had to do to get well, and his positive attitude is really something to be admired. Life has been unfair to him but Kevin Sorbo remains positive and continues to work hard to achieve his goals. We really get a sense of the sacrifices that were made for him to overcome his illness. He talks about how playing the character Hercules has made people think of him as a perfect specimen that couldn't be hurt.

Kevin Sorbo: True Strength | Who do I Recommend this Book too?

This book is perfect for two types of people: First it is great for those that are Kevin Sorbo fans and were fans of the Hercules television show. He focuses a lot of time on how his image as Hercules really impacted his healing process as well as deals with the concessions that the shows cast and crew had to make in order to help hide Sorbo’s condition. Fans of both Hercules and Xena would appreciate some of the stories and insights he provides into the shows. Some of his costars from the show have even written chapters in his book.

The other type of person that this book is good for are those that have dealt with a serious illness like the strokes that Sorbo went through, or know someone who did. He offers incredible insight into the mind of a person with this type of affliction, and the hurdles that they face. These are things that many people might take for granted and it’s an interesting reminder of how frail even the strongest of us are. At the same time he is so positive in his attitude and approach that I was amazed at the strength of the human spirit.

Are You a Kevin Sorbo Fan?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)