ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Everstar Portable Air Conditioner Review

Updated on September 6, 2011

Introduction to Everstar Portable Air Conditioners

Everstar portable air conditioners are movable appliances that can be used to cool down any room in the house without being forced to crack open a window with a bulky air unit. There are many different models and brands of portable ac units by Everstar, and while many people have their own personal favorite company or model, on many review sites there are two Everstar portable air conditioning units that consistently appear on the top 10 lists. These units are made in multiple strengths, as Everstar models can be found in 8000 BTU, 10000 BTU, 11000 BTU, and 12000 BTU strength levels. This creates a wide range of choices when it comes to finding the right portable ac unit for your specific needs. The best part is, with these models many people can have access to quality AC even if they live in places that don't allow for traditional window units. A good Everstar portable air conditioner can definitely make the difference between a comfortable or miserable summer.

The Most Popular Everstar Portable Air Conditioner Models

There are many different models of the Everstar portable air conditioner, so many so that I can't really spend the time to give them all a thorough review as I would like.  While individual experiences with air conditioners and air coolers can vary greatly, there are 2 Everstar portable air conditioner models that tend to consistently rank above their cousins in consumer websites and comparisons across the world wide web.  Obviously the chances are better that consumers will have less problems and more positive things to say about these 2 particular models than other of the less popular models.

The Everstar MPK-10CR Portable Air Conditioner is the 2nd most popular model, and generally will run just short of $500 at retail, but there are many places where this unit can be found for much cheaper. This is a 10,000 BTU Everstar air conditioner that has three fan speeds, removes up to 76 pints of moisture from the air per day, and weighs 81 pounds (but obviously has wheels on it to make it portable).  This unit gets high marks for being incredibly effective at cooling spaces, but some people have had issues with gathering condensation or water drippage.

The Everstar MPA-08CR Portable Air Conditioner unit is the only one that competes with the MPK-10K. This portable ac unit is a little weaker and so won't be able to as effectively cool the same sized area, as it's designed for recycling air through smaller areas as the 8,000 BTU rating indicates. These models can be found for under $400, and provide a decent cooling solution for smaller apartments or areas.

So What's the Verdict on Everstar Portable AC?

While some of these air conditioners get good reviews from many customers, there are also several reports of even those 2 most popular Everstar portable air conditioner having defects or issues. While no model is ever perfect, most types of Everstar units fall somewhere in the middle category, but occasionally when it comes to portable air conditioning, they shine. Ask locally to get the most up to date opinion from individuals who deal with portable AC units in your area and may be able to give you an up to date and informed recommendation. While some people have been really huge fans of this particular brand of portable air conditioning units, as always there were some others whose reviews were not so glowing. Try to get both sides of the story before making an informed decision on the matter for yourself and chances will be extremely good that you'll be a lot happier with your final decision, regardless if that's with an Everstar portable air conditioner or some other brand of portable air conditioning.

Comments on This Everstar Portable Air Conditioner Review

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      nancy hope 7 years ago

      I bought a used Everstar MPK-10CR 10,000 BTU portable ac from a pawn shop last summer. I tell you what this little filly lives in SW TX where the temp is a normal 100-105 degrees all summer. I put this puppy in my LR (leaving the old window unit in the bedroom) and it cooled the LG LR of this uninsulated farmhouse just GREAT. This year I am replacing the BR with an Everstar portable.

    • abinavis profile image

      abinavis 7 years ago from Bat Island

      Thanks for reviewing this air con. Very informative. At least I know how Everstar performance looks like. Good job.

    • profile image

      Justin Lewis 7 years ago

      Everstart air conditioners are bomb :D Thanks a lot for this great review. Great hub :D

    • portableac7 profile image

      portableac7 8 years ago

      "We have a portable air conditioner that we use in a room in our house that the central air doesn't keep cool, but we have to exhaust the heat from the unit out a window."

      It's no big problem for me. One big downside of portable ac models is about the loud noise! So I cannot install and use these models into my office room. Some other guides on internet that I found suggest to choose portable evaporative ac unit and it's not too bad idea I think!

      Just sharing my opinion!

      Thank you.

    • Jerry G2 profile image
      Author

      Jerry G2 8 years ago from Cedar Rapids, IA

      The heat still goes out a window, but as opposed to having the entire unit sitting out the window (which is impossible in many apartments I've lived in with windows that open horizontally instead of vertically), just a hose can work. Or it can go into a sink. There are "air coolers," but I don't recommend those because they just don't do as good a job, IMO. Out of these models, the Everstar portable air conditioner 8000 BTU and 10000 BTU models are the ones that are best from this company and/or brand.

    • aleksander bryson profile image

      aleksander bryson 8 years ago

      So where does the heat go if not out a window?

      We have a portable air conditioner that we use in a room in our house that the central air doesn't keep cool, but we have to exhaust the heat from the unit out a window.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 8 years ago from London, UK

      Thank you for your good advice and well written hub.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)