ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Best Features of the Hamilton Beach Commercial 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Updated on January 24, 2013
MarleneB profile image

Marlene relies on customer reviews to make informed decisions. When she discovers a valuable product or service, she shares her experience.

Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker
Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker | Source

The Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker

While on a two week vacation, the condominium where I stayed had a Hamilton Beach® Commercial 12-Cup Coffee Maker. I discovered that this type of coffee maker is called a BrewStation™ because instead of having to pour coffee into the coffee cup, this type of coffee maker dispenses coffee directly into the coffee cup. Prior to using the Hamilton Beach coffee maker, I had only seen this type of coffee maker in self-serve coffee establishments, so I was excited to try it out, and after brewing a cup of coffee in the Hamilton Beach Commercial BrewStation, I now want one of my very own.

Whether you are a coffee enthusiast who only makes one or two cups of coffee a day, a coffee house, or restaurant, the commercial BrewStation may be just the coffeemaker you need to make consistently flavorful coffee recipes.

Hamilton Beach Coffee Maker Parts
Hamilton Beach Coffee Maker Parts | Source

The Best Features of the Hamilton Beach Coffee Maker

For me, the best features are:

  1. Rounded coffee filters - The coffee maker uses standard coffee filters – the kind that are rounded at the bottom (not the cones).
  2. Easy to assemble - The coffee station is easy to assemble and brew a perfect cup of coffee.
  3. Easy to brew the perfect number of cups - I poured four cups of water into the coffee tank to brew a small pot of coffee. It took about five minutes to brew four cups of coffee.
  4. Easy to dispense coffee - After brewing, all I had to do is push my coffee cup against the dispenser button and out flowed a cup of coffee that was heated to a temperature that was just right for sipping immediately. The coffee tasted as good as I get at the major coffee houses.
  5. The warming feature - The warming feature of the coffee maker keeps the coffee warm without scorching and ruining the flavor.
  6. Front window - The BrewStation has a window in front, which I like because it lets me see how much coffee is left in the coffee pot.
  7. Automatic shut-off - The BrewStation is designed to keep the coffee warm for up to two hours and then, as a safety feature, the unit shuts down automatically.

After enjoying my first cup of coffee, I poured a second cup (about a half hour later) and again I was amazed at how fresh the coffee tasted even after half an hour of staying heated. I expected a little bitterness, but I found no bitter flavor at all. It tasted as fresh as when I first brewed it earlier.

Instruction Photos

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Step 1: Fill coffee tank with water.Step 2: Pour water into reservoir.Step 3: Place coffee tank on heating element.Step 4: Place coffee grounds into filter.Step 5: Close BrewStation and press the "ON" button.Step 6: Press coffee mug against dispenser button.
Step 1: Fill coffee tank with water.
Step 1: Fill coffee tank with water.
Step 2: Pour water into reservoir.
Step 2: Pour water into reservoir.
Step 3: Place coffee tank on heating element.
Step 3: Place coffee tank on heating element.
Step 4: Place coffee grounds into filter.
Step 4: Place coffee grounds into filter.
Step 5: Close BrewStation and press the "ON" button.
Step 5: Close BrewStation and press the "ON" button.
Step 6: Press coffee mug against dispenser button.
Step 6: Press coffee mug against dispenser button.

Instructions for Making Coffee with the Hamilton Beach BrewStation

  1. Fill the coffee tank with cold water. Do not exceed the water MAX level.
  2. Pour the water from the coffee tank into the water reservoir.
  3. Place the coffee tank onto the BrewStation heating element.
  4. Fill the filter basket with a coffee filter, then fill the coffee filter with coffee grounds. Place the filter basket on top of the coffee tank.
  5. Close the BrewStation lid and Press the ON/OFF button once to turn the unit on.
  6. Push your coffee cup against the dispenser button to receive your freshly brewed coffee.

Note:

I brewed four cups of coffee and the brewing time was approximately five minutes.

Product Details and Features

Product Details and Product Features of the Hamilton Beach BrewStation:

Product Details

  • Size: Medium
  • Color: Black
  • Brand: Hamilton Beach
  • Model: D43012B
  • Dimensions: 15.60" h x 11.50" w x 11.80" l,

Product Features

  • Commercial 12-cup coffeemaker with enclosed brewing system
  • Thermal-insulated tank and gentle warming heater keep coffee hot and fresh
  • 1-handed dispensing; no carafe means no pouring, no spills, and no hotplate
  • Front window with measurement markings; 2-hour automatic shut-off for safety
  • Measures 11-1/2 by 11-4/5 by 15-5/9 inches

Price Range for the Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker

As I searched the internet for price ranges, I found that the Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation sells for prices ranging from $81.00 to $170.00. It depends on where you purchase it. I was able to find it on Ebay (new) for $81.25.

Personal Rating

5 stars for Hamilton Beach Commercial 12-Cup Coffeemaker

My Conslusion: Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker

I was on vacation when I had my experience with the Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation and I am glad I was able to try it out prior to purchasing it. There are models of this same appliance with features such as a clock and timer. The BrewStation I used did not have elaborate features, however it served the most important function I expect in a coffee maker; it brewed the perfect cup of coffee. I would recommend the Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation to anyone looking for a great coffee maker that will not only brew coffee, but will keep the coffee warm. Oh, and I need to mention that this coffee maker is very easy to clean.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MarleneB profile imageAUTHOR

      Marlene Bertrand 

      5 years ago from USA

      Hi alocsin, yes (hahahaha) a 12-Cup capacity might be a little bit of overkill. It is for me, too. The positive side to this unit is that it can make one or two cups at a time, as well. Would you believe my parents gave me a Cuisinart coffee maker for Christmas this year (2012). I should have mentioned I didn't need a coffeemaker. Oh well, that just gave me another appliance to review. My money is still on the Hamilton Beach. We'll see!

    • alocsin profile image

      alocsin 

      5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      I'm seeing this as a great addition to an office breakroom, since it has such a large capacity. I don't know that we'd buy this since it's a bit of overkill for a two-cup-a-day household. Voting this Up and Useful.

    • MarleneB profile imageAUTHOR

      Marlene Bertrand 

      6 years ago from USA

      Thanks Brett. That window feature is quite handy because like you say, on other models, you just can't tell how much coffee is left. Plus, I like that I can make the coffee and forget about it. The machine shuts itself off after some time. I am honestly amazed at the flavor. Thank you for your comments and for sharing.

    • Brett.Tesol profile image

      Brett Caulton 

      6 years ago from Asia

      It sounds very useful. I like that it has an automatic off timer, as I am a little forgetful in the mornings lol. It also helps to have that window, as so many machines you have to open and peer through the steam to see the level.

      Shared, up, useful, pinned and tweeted.

    • MarleneB profile imageAUTHOR

      Marlene Bertrand 

      6 years ago from USA

      Hi urmilashukla23, I am glad it was helpful. I didn't really need a commercial grade unit, but I am happy with the size of it. Plus, it makes the best coffee and that's so important to me.

    • urmilashukla23 profile image

      Urmila 

      6 years ago from Rancho Cucamonga,CA, USA

      I was looking to buy a coffee maker and this looks like a great selection. Thanks for the product review and posting the article.

    • MarleneB profile imageAUTHOR

      Marlene Bertrand 

      6 years ago from USA

      Hi katyzzz and oceansider, thank you for your feedback. I have been fairly happy with my Mr. Coffee. But, I always enjoyed going out to coffee houses for a "good" cup of coffee. I know that I don't need a commercial level coffee maker, but it sure does make it worth having.

    • katyzzz profile image

      katyzzz 

      6 years ago from Sydney, Australia

      Great for coffee drinkers which I am not, but one day I'll get something like this so I can make my friends a good cup of coffee instead of the usual tea or juice I provide. Interesting and unusual hub

    • profile image

      oceansider 

      6 years ago

      Hello Marlene,

      Thanks for this interesting article on the Hamilton Beach coffee maker.

      You did a really good and thorough job of presenting this coffee maker and all of the details about it.....and you found by using on vacation that it was just what you wanted.....I have a Mr. Coffee coffee maker...I had a Black & Decker for years and it just died, so I picked up the Mr. Coffee one for a decent price a couple of weeks ago....

      Well done article, as is usual for your articles! Voted it up and interesting, useful. Take care, Helen

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)