ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Home»
  • Kitchen»
  • Kitchen Electronics

Product Review: Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven

Updated on October 8, 2014
MarleneB profile image

Marlene relies on customer reviews to make informed decisions. When she discovers a valuable product or service, she shares her experience.

Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven

Inverter Microwave Oven
Inverter Microwave Oven

Cooking with an Inverter Microwave Oven is Easy

I never knew the value of microwave ovens until my old microwave oven broke. I contemplated living without a microwave oven until boiling water on the stove for hot tea and reheating leftovers in a skillet became more of a challenge than I was willing to continue. After two weeks of “cooking” without a microwave oven, I went in search of a new microwave oven. My search brought me to the discovery of a concept called inverter technology.

With conventional microwave ovens, only one power level is used and the microwave energy is either on or off. For example, let’s say you set your microwave oven at 70% and push the start button. With a conventional microwave oven, the oven cooks the food at full power for 70% of the time and then remains idle for the rest of the time. With an inverter microwave oven, the oven cooks the food at low, medium, and high power levels, delivering more even cooking. With my conventional microwave oven, sometimes I found the food cold in the center and hot around the edges. With my inverter microwave oven, the food is cooked evenly every time.

At Walmart, I purchased the Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven with the Genius Sensor and 1250 watts. I paid around $155.00 (including tax).

The feature I find most attractive about the inverter microwave oven is the Inverter Turbo Defrost™ feature. It defrosts food using a sequencing system which distributes microwave energy in a new and efficient way. Recently, I placed a whole frozen chicken into the inverter microwave oven; I pressed the Inverter Turbo Defrost™ button and was prompted to enter the weight of the chicken, which I did, of course; I pressed the “Start” button and when the process was completed, I took the chicken out of the oven and found it fully thawed, with no cooked edges (many times, with my conventional oven, I found cooked edges after using the defrost feature).

Another fabulous feature of the Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven is Sensor Reheat. This feature is used to reheat food without the user having to enter a cooking time. Just cover your food with a lid or vented plastic wrap (to let the steam out); place your food into the inverter oven; push the “Sensor Reheat” button; and then the “Start” button. As soon as the inverter oven senses steam rising from the food, the oven alerts you that your food is warm.

I am very pleased with the Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven and believe I will never go back to using a conventional microwave oven.

Reviewer's Update 2014

I wrote this original review on July 17, 2012. Today is July 30, 2014. My microwave still looks like new. The exterior finish still looks as sparkly as the day I purchased it. The interior surfaces still look white and clean. I have had other microwave ovens where the interior became bubbly-looking and stained. The experience with this microwave oven is much better. I am still a raving fan of the Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven.

Microwave Oven Interior

Microwave Oven Interior 2014 - Two years later with minimal cleaning.
Microwave Oven Interior 2014 - Two years later with minimal cleaning. | Source

Inverter Microwave Oven Door Maintenance

Possible solution to fixing a microwave oven door that sticks.

Much thanks to a reader who mentioned that the door on his/her microwave oven began to stick after some time. After about a year and a half, I discovered that the door to my microwave began to stick, too. Since the same thing happened to another owner of this microwave, I thought it would be beneficial to share my experience with the same issue.

My husband explained to me that there was nothing wrong with the door. He explained that when the microwave is new, the pins that go into the slots to lock the door are shiny and lubricated. He went on to say that over time, the pins naturally dry out. The pins that go into the locking slots move up and down as they engage with the clip inside the slot that holds the pins tight. The contact with the clip should be smooth. When the contact between the pins and the clips inside the slot is not smooth, it can cause the connection to be a little rough, creating resistance and the inability of the door to close properly.

Tip for Lubricating the Pins

You do not need a lot of lubricant. A little dab will go a long way toward lubricating the pins.

The only treatment we needed to do in order to get the door to function properly was to lubricate the tip of the pins. We sprayed a small squirt of silicone lubricant on the pins. We opened and shut the door five times to transfer the lubricant to the clips. After doing this, the microwave door began to operate beautifully right away.

I have included pictures so that you can see the pins and where to place the lubricant.

If the door to your inverter microwave door begins to stick, there is possibly a quick solution. Try spraying a dab of silicone lubricant to the tip of the pin. Open and close the door a few times to distribute the lubricant. Hopefully, this will fix the problem.

Photos of Microwave Pin and Slot

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Microwave oven pin in the "down" position.Microwave oven pin in the "up" position.Microwave oven slot. See the clip inside the slot. This is what holds the pin in place.The pin goes into the slot. Lubricate just the front surface of the pin.Top view of the microwave pin and slot.
Microwave oven pin in the "down" position.
Microwave oven pin in the "down" position. | Source
Microwave oven pin in the "up" position.
Microwave oven pin in the "up" position. | Source
Microwave oven slot. See the clip inside the slot. This is what holds the pin in place.
Microwave oven slot. See the clip inside the slot. This is what holds the pin in place. | Source
The pin goes into the slot. Lubricate just the front surface of the pin.
The pin goes into the slot. Lubricate just the front surface of the pin. | Source
Top view of the microwave pin and slot.
Top view of the microwave pin and slot. | Source

Video to Help Fix a Bad Closing Inverter Microwave Oven Door

The following video may be helpful if your bad closing inverter microwave oven door needs more attention than just spraying a silicone lubricant.

NOTE: I did NOT take my microwave oven door apart as shown in the video. All I did was spray the lubricant. I would recommend that you try spraying the lubricant first to see if that fixes the problem, then if not, perhaps follow the techniques shown in the video, or hire a professional microwave oven repairman to repair the door for you.

How to Fix a Bad Closing Door for the Inverter Microwave Oven

Disclaimer

I must add a disclaimer that I do not guarantee that this solution will work. I am not a microwave oven mechanic and I am only sharing what worked for me, which may or may not work for you. I just hope it does work for you as it did work for me.

Personal Rating

5 stars for Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 18 months ago from Northern California, USA

      Hello Sheila E. I wish I could tell you why the glass dish does not rotate. I have not had that problem yet. One place you might look for help is YouTube. I have found a lot of solutions there. Good luck. I hope you get your dish to turn.

    • profile image

      Sheila E 18 months ago

      Could you tell me about the microwave glass dish that has ceased to circulate?

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 2 years ago from Northern California, USA

      Hi Abhi. I am glad you feel the same way I do about the Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven. I am really happy with this purchase.

    • profile image

      Abhi 2 years ago

      The best oven is something that is specific to the needs of its users. Just like the 3 picks that we have made here. When space and style is not of particular concern and sheer performance is what you are looking for, Panasonic Inverter Microwave Oven will be the ultimate performer. http://www.mybestcookwarereviews.com/

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 3 years ago from Northern California, USA

      Hello Trixie. I think I might have a solution to your microwave door issue. Thank you for sharing your situation with me. I have added an additional section to this review with the hope that it will help you enjoy your microwave oven again. Please read the final section of this review titled, "Inverter Microwave Oven Door Maintenance." I have also added photos to help you see how the pins and slots to the door operate and the solution that I believe will help your door operate as it did when you first purchased it. Please try my solution and let me know if it works. I must add a disclaimer that I do not guarantee that the solution will work. I am not a microwave oven mechanic and I am only sharing what worked for me, which may or may not work for you. I just hope it does work for you as it did for me.

    • profile image

      Trixie 3 years ago

      We purchased a microwave oven exactly like yours and we've recently had a problem with the door sticking and not shutting. I am very disappointed, first time I buy a microwave brand new and it doesn't last even half as long as any I have purchased used! ugh.

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 3 years ago from Northern California, USA

      That's such an interesting and valid question, Inez Montoya. I'm still very happy with my microwave oven. Food is cooking very well. I don't think I'll ever go back to using a regular microwave oven.

    • Inez Montoya profile image

      Inez Montoya 3 years ago

      I'd agree that Inverter is the way to go for microwave oven.

      But how has your experience been after more than a year of using it? Does it still perform as well as when it was brand new? The reason why I'm asking is because I've heard of stories that after a year, the cooking quality starts to degrade. Not sure if you are experiencing the same issue?

      But overall, very informative review. Thumbs up!

      -naomi

      http://ovenreviewshq.com

    • MarleneB profile image
      Author

      Marlene Bertrand 4 years ago from Northern California, USA

      To be honest, alocsin, I had not even heard of an inverter microwave oven until I was in the market to buy microwaves. Once I read up on what they were, I knew I had to have one. Maybe your next microwave will be an inverter microwave - that is, unless technology advances so much that inverters are, at that time, a thing of the past. Thank you for your comment.

    • alocsin profile image

      alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA

      I wish I'd seen this review when we were buying microwaves. It might have changed our mind to buying this one. Voting this Up and Useful.