ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

What is a Tubular Skylight? Tube Skylight Review

Updated on April 2, 2016
My kitchen skylights on a rainy day. On a sunny day, the whole room is bright, while you don't even notice that the skylights are there.
My kitchen skylights on a rainy day. On a sunny day, the whole room is bright, while you don't even notice that the skylights are there. | Source

Add Natural Lighting to Your Home

One of the best decisions I have made in home improvement was to install tubular skylights to let natural light into my kitchen. These lights, also called tube lights, are a way to go green as they will make a huge difference in how often you have to resort to using your electric overhead lighting.

My kitchen has only a small window to the north, so it gets very little direct sunshine at any point during the day. Since I had my skylights installed, I no longer have to turn on my kitchen lights every single day in order to see what I'm doing in my kitchen.

Before my skylights, I frequently had to change my overhead light bulbs. Since the light covers are totally enclosed, I could only use incandescent bulbs, which seem to burn out much more quickly. So out I would come with the stepladder to change those pesky bulbs. Well, no more!

When I first broached the idea of installing skylights to my handyman, he suggested tubular skylights as opposed to regular skylights. He told me of the many advantages over traditional skylights, and I have learned them to be true firsthand. I am now saving time, money, and energy.


A kitchen before and after installing tubular skylights. What a difference!
A kitchen before and after installing tubular skylights. What a difference! | Source

Before and After Photos

You can see what my skylights look like on a dark and rainy day. (See above photo.) On a sunny day, the room is totally bright.

Unfortunately, I failed to take a before picture in my own kitchen, but the difference in the before and after was just as dramatic as the ones of the kitchen to the right. There are even more great examples of before and after pictures on the Horizon Energy Systems website where I found these photos. The lights can be installed in kitchens, bathrooms, dark hallways and closets--virtually anywhere!

The first photo reminds me exactly of my kitchen, how dark it was before and how bright afterwards. The differences are astounding. I no longer need any other lighting during the daytime unless it's a dark, dreary day outside.


Grow plants indoors with tubular skylights!

When I contacted the site owner of Horizon Energy Systems to ask permission to use his before and after photos, he said that he also is "pioneering indoor growing of vegetables and fruits using tubular skylights." What a great idea! I now am already able to give live plants the light they need in my kitchen--something I couldn't do before installing tube lights.


Diagram of how a tube light works from roof to ceiling
Diagram of how a tube light works from roof to ceiling | Source

Other advantages of tubular skylights

  • Tube lights emit more evenly dispersed light, as it comes through highly reflective tubing.
  • Tube lights block harmful UV rays.
  • There is no fading of furniture as when the sun hits through traditional skylights.

Tube skylights are more flexible

When first contemplating what kind of lights to install, my handyman conveyed to me that the tube lights would be easier to get through my roof, my attic, and to the spots they needed to be. There is no major construction, no cutting through shingles and beams and ceilings. Unlike a traditional skylight which would have to shine straight down, the tube-shaped hose can be moved to get through to the ceiling.

After sunlight hits the globe on the roof, it goes through a tube down to the diffuser on the ceiling, where the light is distributed into the room. The light that comes through, too, is just as bright as what comes through larger skylights, even though it passes through a much smaller area.


Tube lights are leakproof

Not leaking is another advantage that my handyman pointed out to me. The way these tubes are inserted on the roof under the shingles with a globe on top makes them virtually leak-proof. Going through a round instead of square hole requires no need for seams that must be tacked as on traditional skylights.

Tubular skylights are cheaper!

Okay, handyman, you’re got my attention now. Sure, he gave some great reasons to go with his idea, but when he told me that the tubes were cheaper, I was sold. I paid him a total of $700 for installing two of these little green wonders in my kitchen. That’s only $350 apiece (labor included) as opposed to what might cost a couple of thousand dollars just for one traditional skylight.

If you can install them yourself, the cost would be even cheaper than what I paid for the parts plus labor. Another money-saving benefit is saving on the electric bill and stash of replacement light bulbs--all while enjoying natural sunlight.

DIY Video: Installing Tube Skylights--in just about 2 hours!

I love my tubular skylights!

5 stars for Tubular Skylights

A brighter kitchen

Since my tubular skylights were installed, I rarely have to turn on my regular lights during the day. As a matter of fact, it was some time before I got over reaching for the light switch to "turn off the light."

Only on dark days when I really need to see what I’m doing do I flip on that light switch. I am loving not having to get out the stepladder frequently to change out my overhead bulbs. Natural light fills my kitchen during daylight hours and offers a faint glow on a moonlit night. I am absolutely thrilled with my decision.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      2 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Kristen, I'm glad, too. This isn't a traditional skylight in that I can't see outside. The tube just brings in the light, which is wonderful. I like a bright kitchen!

    • Kristen Howe profile image

      Kristen Howe 

      2 years ago from Northeast Ohio

      Victoria, I'm so glad they worked out that way for you. I love skylights.

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      2 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Kristen, I agree. I thought it was well worth it. It has made such a difference with bringing in light. I love them!

    • Kristen Howe profile image

      Kristen Howe 

      2 years ago from Northeast Ohio

      I think so, Victoria. But it's pretty cool.

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      2 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Kristen--Did you mean inexpensive? I thought it was very reasonable. I've really enjoyed the improvement! I used to change my kitchen lightbulbs all the time. Now I rarely do!

    • Kristen Howe profile image

      Kristen Howe 

      2 years ago from Northeast Ohio

      Victoria, great hub. It sounds so cool and expensive. Thanks for sharing this review!

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      drpennypincher--It is great! One of these days I may invest in more for some of my other darker rooms! Thanks for reading and commenting!

    • drpennypincher profile image

      Dr Penny Pincher 

      5 years ago from Iowa, USA

      Interesting product- you get free lighting, at least during day time. This seems like a great idea for rooms that don't have windows. Thanks for the review!

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Thanks, teaches! It's great in my kitchen. I would really like one in my bathroom, laundry room, and hallway, too. One of these days, perhaps! I'm sold on tube lights!

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      5 years ago

      I would love to have one of these in my kitchen. Very nice share and well written.

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Yes, Eddy, these tube lights are VERY useful! Thanks for reading!

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 

      5 years ago from Wales

      Interesting and useful.

      Thanks for sharing.

      Eddy.

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      random--You're welcome! I hadn't heard of this option either until my handyman mentioned it. I love these lights and am seriously thinking about getting more to brighten up my house!

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Howard--I've really thought about getting skylights in a couple of dark bathrooms. We'll see. I'll take that plug for your related article. :-) I'd love to check it out. Thanks!

    • randomcreative profile image

      Rose Clearfield 

      5 years ago from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

      Thanks for the detailed overview of this lighting option! I'd never heard of it before, but I'm intrigued now.

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Thanks, prasetio! I am so very pleased with my skylights. These things are amazing. Thanks for the compliments!

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      mary615--Do you have the tube ones, too? I love them!

      Mhatter--You are so welcome!

    • Howard S. profile image

      Howard S. 

      5 years ago from Dallas, Texas, and Asia

      In my remote 12-volt solar powered house (plug for related article), we had a skylight over the bathroom. The bathroom had no window, so this provided light without draining our precious batteries. It was not tubular, however, but corrugated like the rest of the roofing.

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      ktrapp--Yeah, I had never heard of them before. I think they're amazing little things! They are pretty bright. I love them and have thought about having more installed. They would be great in bathrooms. Natural light is great for really being able to see how things really look--like makeup! :-)

    • prasetio30 profile image

      prasetio30 

      5 years ago from malang-indonesia

      Wow...I really enjoy this hub and I think it useful for us. I learn something new here about Tubular Skylight. I also enjoy the video as well. Nice review, my friend. Good job and voted up!

      Best wishes, Prasetio

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for this fascinating product review.

    • mary615 profile image

      Mary Hyatt 

      5 years ago from Florida

      I love skylights. I have two in my kitchen, too. They have never leaked which was my biggest fear.

      Voted UP, etc.

    • ktrapp profile image

      Kristin Trapp 

      5 years ago from Illinois

      These are fantastic, Vicki. In fact, they almost seem brighter than electric light fixtures. How nice to not have to turn on the lights on most days - good for the environment and your wallet. I'm was shocked when I read that they are flexible. I can see how that makes installation much easier and more cost effective than traditional skylights. Voted up and useful.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)