ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Heated Mattress Pad Review - warm those feet!

Updated on December 20, 2013
Elyn MacInnis profile image

Elyn spent the last 30 years in China, coming home in the summer to cook American food and have fun doing craft projects with her family.

Sleeping in a cold bed? Here is your solution: A Heated Electric Mattress Pad

Do you hate to sleep in a cold bed?

Are your feet blocks of ice when you go to bed at night? Do you hate going to bed because it is so cold it feels like sleeping in a refrigerator?

Keeping your house at cooler temperatures can mean suffering when it is time for bed and the sheets feel like the walls of a refrigerator. And when your bed is freezing cold, your feet can be blocks of ice for the whole night long.

The good news is your bed can be toasty as a warm oven when you hop in it, and you can float off to sleep in heavenly warmth. How? By using a heated mattress pad! Heated Electric mattress pads make sleeping in cooler temperatures divine.

How do I know this?

I live in Shanghai China, where the temperatures can hover near freezing for days, where it is bone chilling cold and damp as well, and where the house itself has no proper heating except reverse air-conditioners that will only bring the temperatures up to 50-60 F but not much more. I consider myself a real expert. And my bare feet are the test objects. If they can get warm in under five minutes, I consider it a success.

Let me introduce you to my favorite kind of heated mattress pad, and the best thing is that it is perfectly safe.. You will be so happy to have one - AND you don't have to worry about sleeping with something that is creating electrical fields - the good thing about these mattress pads is that you can turn them off as you get into bed, so you are never exposed to bad electrical fields when you are sleeping.

But first - one important question, and some considerations

The most important question: Is a heated matress pad safe?

My favorite heated mattress pad has a "power inverter" that changes the AC current to DC, which is safer than the regular AC current. The only problem with the converter is that some people can hear a high pitched high frequency sound that is emitted from the converter. Other reviewers have found that if you cover the inverter, the sound is not so noticeable.

I have another solution. I like to heat my bed using the highest setting for about an hour before I go to bed, and then turn it off when I actually go to go to bed. ?This solves the problem of electromagnetic fields completely, since there is no electricity involved. If you go to bed and the bed itself is completely warm, you will be able to fall asleep quickly, and your body will begin to create its own warmth as long as you have sufficient covers.

What size do you want?

This mattress pad is not the kind you can just put on top of the bed. It is a proper mattress pad with stretchy edges that fit around your bed. So you will want to make sure that you order the right size to fit your bed exactly. You will be grateful. When they just started to have heater pads in China, the pad was just that - not a proper mattress pad. It didn't fit well on the beds, and if the pad shifted in the bed, your feet could become icy cold. It's not pleasant! So do make sure you pick the right size of pad, because you will want it to fit perfectly on your bed.

Things to think about

  1. Is it waterproof?
  2. What kind of electricity does it use? (AC is more dangerous than DC if you have a short.)
  3. Are the heating wires thin enough so you don't feel them?
  4. Is it safe to sleep with pets?
  5. Is the covering comfortable?
  6. In a queen-sized bed, will you be able to adjust the heat on both sides so one person could be warmer than the other?
  7. Is there a preheat option?
  8. Will the heat shut off after a certain time?

Do you have a heated mattress pad? Have you ever considered one? - Let us know your experience

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • SusanRDavis profile image

      Susan R. Davis 

      5 years ago from Vancouver

      I hadn't considered one. My husband likes it colder than I do and I am always wanting to keep the heat higher at night. What a great solution - warm the bed, as you say, instead of the house.

    • Scriber1 LM profile image

      Scriber1 LM 

      6 years ago

      I tend to be pretty warm-blooded, so a heated mattress pad would probably be too warm for me. However, I thought you did a great job presenting all the things to look for in a heated mattress pad. Nice lens!

    • Elyn MacInnis profile imageAUTHOR

      Elyn MacInnis 

      6 years ago from Shanghai, China

      @Sylvestermouse: It is a great thing for people who tend to be cold. I get cold at night because our apartment is very cold, so when I hop into bed, if the heater has been on, it is like going to the beach or getting warmed in an oven or something equally delicious. I bet you would like it.

    • Sylvestermouse profile image

      Cynthia Sylvestermouse 

      6 years ago from United States

      I have never owned a heated mattress pad, but I am indeed quite tempted since I am always cold.

    • Wealth-seekers LM profile image

      Wealth-seekers LM 

      6 years ago

      Warm and Comfortable, cozy idea this bed foot warmer on cold nights. Makes for an easy sleep! Thanks

    • ItayaLightbourne profile image

      Itaya Lightbourne 

      6 years ago from Topeka, KS

      Don't have one but it sounds wonderful for preheating the bed on cold winter nights. Great article! :)

    • artbyrodriguez profile image

      Beverly Rodriguez 

      6 years ago from Albany New York

      I've heard of electric blankets, but not of heated mattress pad....great idea. Well done lens.

    • Elyn MacInnis profile imageAUTHOR

      Elyn MacInnis 

      6 years ago from Shanghai, China

      @BLemley: There is always the option of putting one more pad on your bed over the heated one if the wires are noticeable. That can take the edge off big wires. Might be worth a try before you go out and buy another one.

    • SusannaDuffy profile image

      Susanna Duffy 

      6 years ago from Melbourne Australia

      I've never considered a heated mattress pad (it doesn't get very cold where I live) but I certain ly appreciate your very clear review

    • BLemley profile image

      Beverly Lemley 

      6 years ago from Raleigh, NC

      Great lense! I appreciate having the things to look for to find a good one, and I like your idea of heating it before you go to bed, that way, you may be good for the night. Wonderful! B : )

    • BLemley profile image

      Beverly Lemley 

      6 years ago from Raleigh, NC

      I don't have one ~ but I like your presentation of why one might be better than an electric blanket. We have bought the heated mattress pads for our children, but the wires were pretty big and they didn't like them too much. I may have to look for one with smaller wires. I like that it would be saving money versus a heating blanket. B : )

    • Elyn MacInnis profile imageAUTHOR

      Elyn MacInnis 

      6 years ago from Shanghai, China

      @Mickie Gee: They aren't so expensive - you earn back the money you put out by electrical savings in less than one year if you turn down the thermostat at night - which you can do if you have a really warm bed to hop into. Thanks for coming by!

    • flicker lm profile image

      flicker lm 

      6 years ago

      Never tried a heated mattress pad, but it sounds like a good solution to those cold night. I especially like the way you are able to "preheat" the bed and then turn the heat off.

    • Elyn MacInnis profile imageAUTHOR

      Elyn MacInnis 

      6 years ago from Shanghai, China

      @BuckHawkcenter: I think you will love it. Hard to imagine how toasty it can be in a preheated bed.

    • Elyn MacInnis profile imageAUTHOR

      Elyn MacInnis 

      6 years ago from Shanghai, China

      @flicker lm: Preheating the bed is so nice. If you turn it on an hour ahead of time, the heat has thoroughly penetrated the bed, and you have deep heat reserves to draw on. And - you save money by not using it all night. And - you don't have any kind of electromagnetic radiation to cope with in any form at all.

    • mbgphoto profile image

      Mary Beth Granger 

      6 years ago from O'Fallon, Missouri, USA

      I love our heated mattress pad. It is great to slide into a warm bed at night.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      6 years ago

      sounds like a great idea I have cool feet

    • BuckHawkcenter profile image

      BuckHawkcenter 

      6 years ago

      Alright, you have convinced me! I really need a heated mattress pad!

    • Mickie Gee profile image

      Mickie Goad 

      6 years ago

      I have only owned a heated blanket. Since heat rises, I think a heated matress pad would have been a better choice.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)