ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

American League Cy Young Award Winners by Year 2000s

Updated on December 20, 2007

CC Sabathia

Johan Santana

Bartolo Colon

Even though he had a horrible series against the Red Sox in the ALCS, C.C. Sabathia of the Cleveland Indians did enough in the regular season to beat out Red Sox ace Josh Beckett for the 2007 American League Cy Young Award recently. As we did with the MVP winners, we'll take a look here at all of the AL Cy Young winners from this decade beginning with C.C.

2007-C.C. Sabathia, Cleveland Indians

It's hard to believe that C.C. Sabathia is only 26 years old and just finished his seventh big league season. And while he's always had a ton of potential, Sabathia finally delivered the season everyone was waiting for in 2007, by going 19-7 with a 3.21 ERA and 209 strikeouts to just 37 walks. The wins and strikeouts are a career high, as are the 241.0 innings pitched, as Sabathia helped Cleveland reach the postseason for the first time in six years.

2006-Johan Santana, Minnesota Twins

In winning his second Cy Young Award in three seasons, Twins ace lefty Johan Santana cemented his place as one of the game's best pitchers. In the 2006 season, Santana went 19-6 with a 2.77 earned run average and 245 strikeouts to only 47 walks. Santana's Twins won the division but wound up losing in the ALDS to Oakland.

2005-Bartolo Colon, Los Angeles Angels

Like Sabathia, Colon came up with the Cleveland Indians amidst a world of promise. But weight issues and injuries kept him from realizing his full potential until 2005, when he went 21-8 for the Angels with 157 Ks, and a 3.48 ERA. Colon won the Cy Young in a landslide over Yankees' closer Mariano Rivera.

2004-Johan Santana, Minnesota Twins

As good as Santana's 2006 season was, his best year was 2004 when he went 20-6 with a 2.61 ERA, 265 strikeouts to just 54 walks. Amazingly, Santana only gave up 156 hits in 228 innings of work.

2003-Roy Halladay, Toronto Blue Jays

The year after he finished 19-7 but came nowhere near winning the AL Cy Young Award, Blue Jays pitcher Roy Halladay ran away with the award in 2003 by going 22-7 with a 3.25 ERA and 204 strikeouts to just 32 walks. Halladay also pitched 266 innings and had 9 complete games.

2002-Barry Zito, Oakland Athletics

In just his second full season as a big league pitcher, A's lefty Barry Zito had a stellar season in 2002 that was his best body of work so far. Zito beat out Boston's Pedro Martinez by going 23-5 with a 2.75 earned run average and 182 strikeouts. Since then, Zito has pitched fairly well but has never won more than 16 games.

2001-Roger Clemens, New York Yankees

This was Roger Clemens' sixth AL Cy Young Award (he won one more with Houston in 2004), and a testament to his hard work and longevity as a big league pitcher. And it was one of Clemens' best seasons ever, as he went 20-3 with a 3.51 ERA and 213 strikeouts, all at the age of 38. Clemens won by a wide margin over Oakland's Mark Mulder.

2000-Pedro Martinez, Boston Red Sox

In an era when he was dominating hitters, Boston right-hander Pedro Martinez won his second consecutive AL Cy Young Award in 2000. That year, Martinez went 18-6 with a miniscule 1.74 ERA and 284 strikeouts to just 32 walks. Martinez only gave up 128 hits in 217 innings of work.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.