ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

American League MVPs by Year—2000’s

Updated on April 12, 2013

Alex Rodriguez

Justin Morneau

Vladimir Guererro

With the announcement that Alex Rodriguez has just won the American League Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award again, it's a good time to look back at recent winners in that category. Here, we'll take a look at all of the American League MVPs for the current decade:

2007-Alex Rodriguez, New York Yankees

Alex Rodriguez, otherwise known as A-Rod, put up one of the best seasons for a big-league player ever in 2007. A-Rod clubbed 54 home runs with a career high of 156 runs batted in. He hit .314 with a .422 on base percentage, .645 slugging percentage, and even added 24 stolen bases. It's the eighth time Rodriguez has hit .300 or better, and the eleventh time he's hit over 100 RBI. The only thing that continues to dog this man is that he has failed to produce in the postseason with any consistency. Still, this is A-Rod's third AL MVP Award.

2006-Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins

In only his fourth big-league season, Twins first baseman Justin Morneau took home the AL MVP Award in 2006 by hitting .321 with 34 homers and 130 RBI. It was a close race, as Morneau edged out the Yankees' Derek Jeter by just 14 points. Morneau also had 37 doubles in '06.

2005-Alex Rodriguez, New York Yankees

In another close vote, A-Rod edged out Boston's David Ortiz by a slim margin, but in the end was named MVP by hitting .321 with 48 homers and 130 runs batted in. He also had a .421 on base percentage and .610 slugging percentage, and played in all 162 games.

2004-Vladimir Guerrero, Anaheim Angels

In his first season in the American League, Vladimir Guerrero did not have personal bests in the major offensive power categories. But he did put together his most complete season, hitting .337 with 39 home runs and 126 RBI. And he did actually equal a career high with 206 hits, including 39 doubles. Guerrero also stole 15 bases, and he edged out Toronto's Carlos Delgado, who finished second.

2003-Alex Rodriguez, Texas Rangers

Maybe it was the fact that he knew he would be traded if he put up great numbers, and although A-Rod did not break any personal marks in 2003, he put together quite a season in winning his first AL MVP Award. That season, Rodriguez hit .298 with 47 homers and 118 RBI, which was enough to beat out Carlos Delgado of the Blue Jays.

2002-Miguel Tejada, Oakland Athletics

Though he had a better season with Baltimore in 2004, shortstop Miguel Tejada was beat out that year in the MVP race by Vlad Guererro. But in 2002, Tejada put up enough numbers with Oakland to win the AL MVP. That season he hit .308 with 34 home runs and 131 RBI, and 204 hits including 30 doubles. Tejada also played in all 162 games.

2001-Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners

In a very close vote, Ichiro Suzuki edged out Oakland's Jason Giambi by just 8 points. It was Ichiro's first season in the American major leagues after coming over from Japan, and he marked the occasion by hitting .350 with 127 runs and 50 stolen bases, almost revolutionizing the leadoff position. He also had 8 homers, 69 runs batted in, 34 doubles and 8 triples with a .997 fielding percentage.

2000-Jason Giambi, Oakland Athletics

Jason Giambi had a few very productive years before joining the Yankees. In 2000 with Oakland, Giambi won his first and only AL MVP Award by hitting .333 with 43 homers and 137 RBI (the latter two are career highs). He also had a .476 on base average and .647 slugging percentage.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MrMarmalade profile image

      MrMarmalade 9 years ago from Sydney

      MLB have a significant MLB media guides of these teams Interested?