ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

NFL Total Points Leaders By Year—2000s

Updated on February 7, 2008

Mason Crosby

LaDainian Tomlinson

Shaun Alexander


When you look at who is leading the NFL in total points scored, it's interesting to see that it's usually either a kicker or a running back. With touchdowns being worth six points, it's equally difficult to rack those up when compared to kicking opportunities. Well, depending on if your team reaches the end zone more or has to settle for field goals. Here is a list of those points leaders by year in the current decade:

2007-Mason Crosby, Green Bay Packers (141)

Rookie kicker Mason Crosby of Green Bay came into the league and had a stellar year in 2007, converting 31 of 39 field goal attempts, and 48 of 48 extra points for a total of 141 points. With touchdown totals down league-wide, having a kicker lead in points was no surprise, but having a rookie who kicks a lot in cold weather lead the league was doubly impressive.

2006-LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego Chargers (186)

With San Diego running back LaDainian Tomlinson leading the league and breaking the NFL record with 28 rushing touchdowns, it's no surprise that he also led the league in total scoring in 2006 with 186 points. Tomlinson scored the 28 rushing TDs and added another 3 as a receiver, for 31 total. He also rushed for a league-leading 1815 yards.

2005-Shaun Alexander, Seattle Seahawks (168)

Before LT broke the touchdown record in 2006, Shaun Alexander of the Seahawks tied Priest Holmes' record in 2005, with 27 rushing TDs. Alexander rushed for a league high 1880 yards and scored 28 TDs total (1 as a receiver), giving him 168 total points to lead the NFL.

2004-Adam Vinatieri, New England Patriots (141)

Always a steady kicker, especially in the clutch, New England's Adam Vinatieri led the NFL in scoring in 2004 with 141 total points. Vinatieri converted 31 of 33 field goal attempts (93.9%) and 48 of 48 extra points.

2003-Jeff Wilkins, St. Louis Rams (163)

Jeff Wilkins played on those great Rams' offenses, and was the beneficiary of that to a point. In 2003, Wilkins led the NFL in scoring with 163 points. He kicked 39 of 42 field goals, and 46 out of 46 extra points. But what might be most amazing about Wilkins is that he hasn't missed an extra point since 1998, and is 495 of 498 in that category for his career (99.4%).

2002-Priest Holmes, Kansas City Chiefs (144)

The year before Priest Holmes broke the NFL record with 27 rushing touchdowns, he led the NFL in scoring, in 2002, with 144 points. Holmes rushed for a career high 1615 yards with 21 rushing TDs and another 3 TDs as a receiver.

2001-Marshall Faulk, St. Louis Rams (128)

In his second straight year in leading the NFL in points scored, Rams' running back Marshall Faulk put up 128 total points. Faulk rushed for 12 touchdowns, and added another 9 as a receiver, giving him 21 total. He also had 2147 all-purpose yards (1382 rushing and 765 receiving), and had one two-point conversion.

2000-Marshall Faulk, St. Louis Rams (160)

In 2000, the Rams were in the midst of a run of some great offensive teams. Part of that was running back Marshall Faulk, who led the NFL in points scored that season with 160. Faulk rushed for 1359 yards and league-high 18 touchdowns, with another 830 receiving yards and 8 more TDs. The 26 total TDs gave him 156 points, and Faulk added two two-point conversions to give him 160.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Bug Mee profile image

      Bug Mee 9 years ago from Great Midwest

      Thanks for the info!!