ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

NL Cy Young Award Winners By Year 2000s

Updated on December 21, 2007

Jake Peavy

Brandon Webb

Chris Carpenter

The National League Cy Young Award was won in 2007 by San Diego's Jake Peavy, who put together a monster year with 19 wins and 240 strikeouts. Unfortunately, Peavy's Padres fell just short of making the postseason when they lost a one-game playoff to the eventual NL Champion Rockies. But I'm sure he'll take this award. Here is the complete list of NL Cy Young winners in this decade:

2007-Jake Peavy, San Diego Padres

Peavy won 19 games against just 6 losses, with a 2.54 ERA and 240 strikeouts to just 68 walks. He gave up just 169 hits in 223 innings of work. The best part about this hard throwing right-hander is that he's just hitting his stride at the age of 26.

2006-Brandon Webb, Arizona Diamondbacks

Though the D-backs weren't nearly the potent team they were in 2007 when they won the NL West division, Brandon Webb became a force in the league. He only won 16 games against 8 losses, but considering his team's 76-86 mark, that's pretty good. Webb beat out San Diego closer Trevor Hoffman for the NL Cy Young by winning the 16 games, with a 3.10 ERA and 178 strikeouts.

2005-Chris Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals

It's hard to believe with the great career Chris Carpenter has had, that 2005 is his only season with 20 or more wins. He went an astonishing 21-5 that year with a 2.83 ERA and 213 strikeouts to just 51 walks. Carpenter edged out Florida's Dontrelle Willis by 20 points in the voting as Willis won more games (22) but also lost more (10).

2004-Roger Clemens, Houston Astros

After telling the Yankees he was retiring in 2003, Roger Clemens had a change of heart and came back with his hometown Houston Astros in 2004. And what a year it was, as he went 18-4 with a 2.98 earned run average with 218 strikeouts, all at the age of 41. It was Clemens' seventh overall Cy Young Award.

2003-Eric Gagne, Los Angeles Dodgers

Dodgers' flamethrower Eric Gagne only went 2-3 in 2003, but it was his prowess as the team's closer that earned him the NL Cy Young Award in 2003. That's because Gagne saved 55 games in 55 chances (the 55 saves also tied an NL record). And in 77 appearances and 82.3 innings of work, Gagne struck out 137 batters with just 20 walks, and had a microscopic ERA of 1.20. He won the award in a landslide over the Giants' Jason Schmidt.

2002-Randy Johnson, Arizona Diamondbacks

This was lefty Randy Johnson's fourth straight NL Cy Young Award, and his fifth overall. It was at a time that he was really coming into his own during a really spectacular career. In 2002, Johnson went 24-5 (the wins were a career high) with a 2.32 ERA and 334 strikeouts and 71 walks in 260 innings of work-all at the age of 38.

2001-Randy Johnson, Arizona Diamondbacks

This was Randy Johnson's third straight NL Cy Young, and he won it by going 21-6 with a 2.49 ERA and a career high of 372 strikeouts. This was also the year Johnson helped the D-backs to their first World Series title.

2000-Randy Johnson, Arizona Diamondbacks

What can we say that we haven't already about this incredible left-hander? In 2000, Randy Johnson went 19-7 with 347 strikeouts and a 2.64 ERA. It was his second straight Cy Young and third overall. What might be most amazing about Johnson, however, is the fact that he struck out 1417 batters in the four-year period (1999-2002) that he swept the NL Cy Young.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.