ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

National League Cy Young Award Winners by Year—1990s

Updated on December 11, 2008

Tom Glavine

Greg Maddux

The National League Cy Young Award was dominated in the 1990s mostly by Atlanta Braves pitchers Tom Glavine, John Smoltz and Greg Maddux. But there were a few other stellar seasons thrown in. Here is a list of those pitchers who won the award in the 1990s by year:

1999-Randy Johnson, Arizona Diamondbacks

Even though Houston's Mike Hampton won 22 games in 1999, Arizona's Randy Johnson won the first of four consecutive NL Cy Young Awards that season. Despite less wins (he went 17-9), Johnson had a lower ERA than Hampton (2.48) and more than twice the number of strikeouts (364) and only 70 walks in 271 innings of work.

1998-Tom Glavine, Atlanta Braves

Tom Glavine edged out San Diego closer Trevor Hoffman for the NL Cy Young in 1998, by going 20-6 with a 2.47 ERA and 157 strikeouts. It was Glavine's fourth 20-win season. Glavine also only gave up 13 home runs in 229 innings pitched.

1997-Pedro Martinez, Montreal Expos

The year before he went on to superstardom with the Boston Red Sox, ace righty Pedro Martinez won the NL Cy Young while with Montreal. It was one of only three NL Cy Youngs in the decade not won by a member of the Atlanta Braves. That season, Martinez went 17-8 with a 1.90 ERA and 305 strikeouts to just 67 walks in 241 innings of work, adding 13 complete games with four shutouts.

1996-John Smoltz, Atlanta Braves

The Braves had one of the best pitching staffs in baseball history in the nineties, and in 1996 John Smoltz won his only Cy Young and the sixth straight for the Braves. That season, Smoltz went 24-8 (oddly, his only 20-win season) with a 2.94 earned run average. In 253 innings pitched, Smoltz struck out a career high of 276 batters while walking just 55.

1995-Greg Maddux, Atlanta Braves

In 1995, Greg Maddux won his fourth consecutive NL Cy Young Award by posting possibly his best overall season. Maddux went 19-2 with a microscopic 1.63 ERA and 181 strikeouts in 209 innings of work. But perhaps even more astonishing was Maddux' great control, as he walked only 23 batters.

1994-Greg Maddux, Atlanta Braves

In a strike shortened season, Greg Maddux still managed to win 16 games, going 16-6 with a career low 1.56 ERA. He struck out 156 batters and walked just 31 in 202 innings pitched on his way to winning his third consecutive NL Cy Young.

1993-Greg Maddux, Atlanta Braves

Amazingly, Greg Maddux only won 20 games in his career twice, and this was one of those seasons. In 1993, Maddux went 20-10 with a 2.36 earned run average. He struck out 197 batters while walking only 52 in 267 innings pitched in winning his second consecutive NL Cy Young Award.

1992-Greg Maddux, Chicago Cubs

Greg Maddux won the first of his four consecutive NL Cy Young Awards by going 20-11 with a 2.18 ERA and 199 strikeouts to 70 walks in 268 innings of work.

1991-Tom Glavine, Atlanta Braves

In a season that saw the Braves go from worst to first and come within one game of a championship, they also won the first of six consecutive NL Cy Young Awards as lefty Tom Glavine took it home. It was Glavine's first of two in the decade, and he won it by going 20-11 with a 2.55 ERA and 192 strikeouts to just 69 walks in 246 innings pitched.

1990-Doug Drabek, Pittsburgh Pirates

In winning 20 games for the only time in his career, Pittsburgh's Doug Drabek posted great numbers en route to winning the first NL Cy Young Award of the decade. He went 22-6 with a 2.76 earned run average, with 131 strikeouts. Drabek also had 9 complete games and three shutouts.



    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • allshookup profile image

      allshookup 9 years ago from The South, United States

      True, he was a Cub :/ Not one of my favorites, but he helped the team. I'm a Mitch 'wild thang' Williams fan. Love him!! Maddux retired right? I didn't care for him since he dissed the Cubs because he wanted to go to the Braves so he thought he'd be on a better team. Then where does he end up? The Cubs. UGH! Don't dis my Cubs!! Great hub as always!

    • Nashville G-man profile image

      Nashville G-man 9 years ago from Madison, Wisconsin

      thanks for the heads up, will change now!

    • profile image

      Michael Plyler 9 years ago

      You guys have Greg Maddux the 92 Cy Young winner as pitching for the Braves that year. He pitched for the Cubs that year and went to Atlanta the next year.