ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

National League Rookies of the Year—1990s

Updated on December 21, 2007

Scott Williamson

Kerry Wood

Scott Rolen

Just like with the AL Rookie of the Year nineties list we compiled, there are names on this National League list you might recognize as star players, and others you may have forgotten about completely. Here is a complete list of NL Rookies of the Year from the 1990s:

1999-Scott Williamson, Cincinnati Reds

Scott who? Yeah, I don't remember him either. But in a fairly close vote over Florida's Preston Wilson, pitcher Scott Williamson won the NL Rookie of the Year in 1999. He did so by going 12-7 as a reliever with 19 saves, a 2.41 ERA and 107 strikeouts in just 93 innings of work. Williamson is still a major league pitcher but has been a journeyman reliever since 2003.

1998-Kerry Wood, Chicago Cubs

Flame throwing right-hander Kerry Wood has been in the league for almost 10 years? Wow. But while Wood has battled injuries for most of his career, there is no denying he was electrifying in his rookie year, winning the NL Rookie honors by a close margin over Colorado's Todd Helton. Wood went 13-6 with a 3.40 ERA and fanned 233 batters with just 85 walks in 166 innings pitched.

1997-Scott Rolen, Philadelphia Phillies

Most people associate Scott Rolen with the St. Louis Cardinals, but before that he had several great seasons with the Phillies. That included his rookie year of 1997, when Rolen won the NL Rookie of the Year Award. He did that by hitting .283 with 21 home runs and 92 runs batted in, 35 doubles, 16 stolen bases and a .469 slugging percentage.

1996-Todd Hollandsworth, Los Angeles Dodgers

In garnering 15 first place votes, Dodgers outfielder Todd Hollandsworth took home the NL Rookie of the Year honors in 1996 by a close margin over Florida's Edgar Renteria. Hollandsworth hit .291 with 12 homers, 59 RBI, 26 doubles and 21 stolen bases. He also had a career high .348 on-base average, and this was the fifth straight NL Rookie of the Year for the Dodgers' franchise.

1995-Hideo Nomo, Los Angeles Dodgers

In barely beating out Atlanta third baseman Chipper Jones for the NL Rookie of the Year in 1995, Japanese sensation Hideo Nomo became the fourth straight Dodger to win the award. Nomo won 13 games against 6 losses, with a 2.54 ERA and 236 strikeouts to just 78 walks in 191 innings of work. Nomo also had four complete games and three shutouts.

1994-Raul Mondesi, Los Angeles Dodgers

In a landslide with 28 first place votes, the Dodgers' Raul Mondesi won the NL Rookie of the Year Award in 1994, becoming the third straight Dodger to win it. Mondesi hit .306 with 16 home runs, 56 runs batted in, 27 doubles, 8 triples, 11 stolen bases, and a slugging percentage of .516.

1993-Mike Piazza, Los Angeles Dodgers

Catcher Mike Piazza remains one of the greatest offensive catchers of all-time, and he began his great career in 1993 with the Dodgers, a team that was boasting their second of five straight NL Rookie of the Year Awards. That season, Piazza batted .318 with 35 homers, 112 RBI, 24 doubles and a slugging percentage of .561. He went on to play for Florida, the New York Mets, San Diego and is currently with Oakland in 2007.

1992-Eric Karros, Los Angeles Dodgers

With 22 first place votes, Dodgers' first baseman Eric Karros won the NL Rookie of the Year in 1992, in what would become the first of five straight such awards for the Dodgers. Karros hit .257 with 20 homers, 88 RBI and 30 doubles. He also committed only nine errors, posting a .993 fielding percentage.

1991-Jeff Bagwell, Houston Astros

First baseman Jeff Bagwell began a stellar 15-year career in 1991 with the Astros, taking home the NL Rookie of the Year honors that season. Bagwell hit .294 with 15 home runs, 82 RBI, 26 doubles and a slugging percentage of .437. He also had a fielding percentage of .992.

1990-David Justice, Atlanta Braves

With 23 of 24 first place votes, Atlanta outfielder David Justice took home the NL Rookie of the Year Award in 1990 by hitting .282 with 28 home runs, 78 RBI, 23 doubles, and 11 stolen bases. Justice also posted a slugging percentage of .535.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.