ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

World Series Winners By Year 2000s

Updated on January 25, 2008

Manny Ramirez (courtesy

Derek Jeter (courtesy

Results for 2000 decade World Series

2007-Boston 4, Colorado 0--The Red Sox won their second title in four seasons after a previous 86-year drought. After the upstart Rockies rolled through the last 2 weeks of the regular season, and then won a one-game playoff with San Diego before sweeping Philadelphia and Arizona, they had an 8-day layoff before the Series started. That hurt them, because while the Red Sox were eliminating the Cleveland Indians, 4-2, they were causing their NL opponents to get rusty. MVP: 3B Mike Lowell, Boston

2006-St. Louis 4, Detroit 1-There are two things this series may be best known for. One, the Cardinals had the worst regular season record of any Series champ in history. And the upstart Tigers had an incredible regular season and two playoff rounds before poor fielding cost them games and eventually, the series. It was a team effort on the side of the Cardinals, but SS David Eckstein won MVP honors by hitting .363 with 4 RBI, including a 4-5 performance in Game 4. After splitting the first two games in Detroit, the Cardinals swept the next three in St. Louis to become the first team in four years to clinch on their home field. MVP: SS David Eckstein, St. Louis

2005-Chicago White Sox 4, Houston 0-For the second year in a row, the World Series was a sweep. And it was the Sox' first championship since 1917. OF Jermaine Dye propelled the Sox with a .438 average, a home run and three RBI including a run-scoring single against Astros closer Brad Lidge to win Game 4 and complete the series sweep. Four different pitchers notched wins for Chicago, and closer Bobby Jenks collected 2 saves. MVP: OF Jermaine Dye, Chicago

2004-Boston 4, St. Louis 0-After an improbable comeback against their rival New York Yankees in which they won four straight games after an 0-3 deficit, the Red Sox rolled into the World Series and stayed on fire. The Sox swept St. Louis 4-0 to win their first World Series since 1918 and effectively put an end to the so-called "Curse of the Bambino." OF Manny Ramirez won the MVP by hitting .412 with a home run and 4 RBI in the Series, overcoming his usual sloppy play in the outfield. Oddly enough, the Game 4 win came on the night of a lunar eclipse, and 18 years to the day that the Red Sox lost their last World Series appearance to the New York Mets. MVP: OF Manny Ramirez, Boston

2003-Florida 4, New York Yankees 2-While the Yankees were appearing in their sixth World Series spanning the past seven seasons, the Marlins were making their second appearance in their 11-year franchise history. After turning their season around under new manager Jack McKeon, the Marlins won the National League Wild Card and then beat the Giants and Cubs in the NL playoffs before rolling over the Yankees. Marlins P Josh Beckett pitched brilliantly in the Series, and a tough-luck loss in Game 3 was forgotten when Beckett pitched a five-hit, complete game shutout in the clinching Game 6 to win the MVP award. MVP: P Josh Beckett, Florida

2002-Anaheim 4, San Francisco 3-In the first match up ever between Wild Card teams in any World Series, the Angels won their first championship in franchise history. This was one of the most exciting Series in recent memory, as the Giants had a commanding 3-2 lead in games, and a 5-0 lead in Game 6 before succumbing to an awesome Angels comeback. Anaheim scored six runs in the last three innings to win 6-5 and then took Game 7 as well to clinch the series. Angels 3B Troy Glaus took home the MVP award with 3 homers, 8 RBI and a .385 batting average for the 7-game series. MVP: 3B Troy Glaus, Anaheim

2001-Arizona 4, New York Yankees 3-This was an exciting series that was played one week later than planned, due to the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. New York's appearance in the Series may have helped to ease a city dealing with catastrophe, but the Diamondbacks spoiled any thoughts of a victory parade in the Big Apple. Arizona won their first championship despite it being only their fourth year in existence, sweeping all four games at home and taking Game 7 on a walk-off hit by Luis Gonzalez off Yankees closer Mariano Rivera. D-backs pitchers Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling shared MVP honors, with Johnson winning 3 games and Schilling winning one and pitching seven strong innings in the clinching Game 7. MVP: P Randy Johnson and P Curt Schilling, Arizona

2000-New York Yankees 4, New York Mets 1-In the first "subway" series since 1956, the Yankees overpowered their cross-town rivals in winning their third straight championship and 26th overall. By hitting .409 with 2 home runs, 2 RBI and 6 runs scored, Yankees SS Derek Jeter took home the MVP award. One of Jeter's homers came in the clinching Game 5 against Mets P Al Leiter. MVP: SS Derek Jeter, Yankees


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.