ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review - The Wealthy Barber by David Chilton

Updated on March 26, 2011

I have heard of the book The Wealthy Barber frequently over the years, but something prompted me recently to finally read it. The tag line on the book is Everyone's Common-Sense Guide to Becoming Financially Independent. After reading the book, written by David Chilton, I have to agree. The ideas are very good, if people can rearrange their budget to accommodate them.

You always hear that we should be saving 10% of our income. I have heard mixed things about where that savings should go and what it should be used for. Personally I don't consider it true savings if the money is already earmarked for something like an annual insurance payment. I have always thought that true savings is savings that isn't designated for anything. Chilton must agree. He is one of the few people I have ever heard of talk about saving 10% of your income and also cover all the other miscellaneous expenses that come up all the time without dipping into that 10% fund.

Most people seem to want a quick fix to their problems and to get rich quickly. The Wealthy Barber has a plan that will eventually get you everything you want, but it will be a slow and steady course. If you are willing to wait you could be wealthy too, in fact the longer you have the better. It is all about steady investing, over a long period of time and compound interest. Sounds easy enough right? Are you willing to save 10% of your income for the rest of your life? Can you save 10% of your income? That would be the question for us. Even with no debt other than our mortgage we are not able to save 10% of our income.

I am a very frugal person, but there are so many other things we have to save money for right now (roof and minivan are at the top of the list at the moment) that I just keep thinking someday. You see the 10% savings Chilton is talking about is above and beyond what you should be saving for retirement. By the time you take out retirement savings (assuming you are putting 10% aside for that) and the 10% fund, you are suddenly required to live on only 80% of your take home pay.

Seeing as most people, especially in the United States, have been living beyond their means for the past few years and have only recently stepped up their savings I don't see many people able to do this. Oh I am sure everyone wants to be rich in the end (who doesn't right?), but are they able to make the sacrifices now to reach that goal? Are they willing to? Am I willing to? Believe me, since reading The Wealthy Barber I have been thinking about this and trying to figure out a way.

That is one of the things I loved about this book. It made me think and it made me want to change the way I have been doing things, for my long term benefit. The Wealthy Barber is written as a story (fictional) of a man and his two friends that get financial planning help from their barber each month. It is very well written and entertaining. Learning the ins and outs of personal finance is surprisingly easy when reading this book.

One point that really stood out to me was when on page 156 Roy (the wealthy barber) announced that "First, a dollar saved is two dollars earned." He clarifies this point by talking about how if you got a two dollar raise at work, after taxes, health care costs and other deductions, the average person would really only take home one dollar. This is where frugality comes into the book. By saving money on items that you purchase you are saving yourself a lot of work. So by saving a dollar on something, you are saving yourself two dollars worth of work. A very good point! This has made me watch my pennies a bit closer.

The Wealthy Barber is an excellent book and I think it would be an especially easy financial book for beginners to read. It is very easy to understand. Less than 200 pages, it is a fairly quick read, although I liked to stop and think about each chapter before heading on to the next. I tried to read a chapter a night and it worked very well. I would highly recommend The Wealthy Barber.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Daphne 

      7 years ago

      Thanks. Voted up and useful.

    • James 0608 profile image

      James 0608 

      8 years ago from Southern Ontario

      It was a long time since I had read The Wealthy Barber. And as I was reviewing my own hubs, I noticed your review. I cannot recommend this book enough for everyone. I also believe that it should be added into the High Schools as a must read. Common sence + patience = success

      Great hub!!

    • dxszzcylm profile image

      dxszzcylm 

      8 years ago from China

      Good book and Good review.

    • profile image

      rosetta stone french 

      8 years ago

      Just read this book, really like it, this is a challenge, to save more than 10% of the income and savings, 10% of the tenth, but this book is full of passion.

    • profile image

      rosetta stone spanish 

      8 years ago

      A good book review

    • wannabwestern profile image

      Carolyn Augustine 

      8 years ago from Iowa

      I read this book over 10 years ago. I really enjoyed it then. It is quite a challenge to save 10% of your income above and beyond retirement savings and in my case, a 10% tithe, but this book is highly motivational. Thanks for your excellent review. I think people who are actually saving 10% of their earnings for retirement in the U.S. are way ahead of the curve. But fewer big screen TVs and McMansions would also help. Regards.

    • profile image

      Bruce Everitt 

      8 years ago

      Not only is this a good book review, it is an excellent book. Although it was writen several years ago, if my memory is correct, none of the concepts are dated.

    • Dottie1 profile image

      Dottie1 

      9 years ago from MA, USA

      A good book review with lots of ideas to get you thinking and motivated.

    • sophieqd profile image

      sophieqd 

      9 years ago

      Book Review The Wealthy Barber by David Chilton

      Great Hub! Very informative with lots of sound advice. Works for me!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)