ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review - You're Broke Because You Want To Be

Updated on November 21, 2009

How To Stop Getting By and Start Getting Ahead

 

Larry Winget has a great new book out You're Broke Because You Want To Be - How To Stop Getting By and Start Getting Ahead. This is the most straight forward book about finances that I have ever read. If you need a good push to get you started making the changes you need to make, this is the book for you.

The premise of this book is that you are where you are based on the choices you have made and continue to make every day. Every time you choose to eat out, smoke a cigarette, buy a new pair of shoes, go shopping, etc., you are making the choice to spend money unnecessarily instead of investing in your future. Every time you surf the internet, watch TV, go to the movies, etc. you are wasting valuable time that you could be using to better yourself.

Keep in mind that Winget is talking to people who are broke, in debt, have no savings, worry about how they are going to pay the bills, etc. If you are barely getting by, living paycheck to paycheck, have maxed out credit cards, and spend more than you earn then you are who he is talking to in this book. For the most part, if you are in this situation it is because you have chosen to spend money that you don't have instead of saving money for yourself and your family. If you are in this situation, then it is time for some different choices. Instead of choosing to go out to eat, put the money that would have been spent towards your credit card debt. Instead of buying a new outfit, put that money in savings.

I am a firm believer in the saying that if you keep doing what you are doing, you will keep getting what you are getting. If you aren't getting anywhere now, you can't keep doing the same thing and expect to get somewhere. You have to make changes. Winget believes that a person should be constantly trying to improve themselves by reading, taking classes and learning new things. Of course many people say they don't have the time for that. This is where the no TV or internet comes in. At night when you typically watch TV and veg out, you could be reading a book or working to make more money.

"Don't think something is too insignificant to make a difference. Everything in your life either moves you closer or farther away from where you want to be. Nothing is neutral. No conversation, decision, or action. Every book, magazine, and television show moves you closer to or farther from your goal. Every friend you have moves you closer to your goals or farther away from your goals." p.103

Larry Winget is a very hard worker and believes that if people would work harder to make more money they would get ahead too. Some of the things Winget did to make more money included tying macrame, trimming trees, painting houses, sweeping floors and selling blood. To me that is a serious drive to get out of debt and get ahead. There is no job beneath you when you are in debt.

Winget believes that in order to get ahead you have to sacrifice. You have to cut expenses and increase your income. If you are barely scraping by and have no savings then you need to take drastic measures to improve your situation. That is, if you are ready to stop being broke. If you want to continue being broke, then just keep doing what you have been doing. If you want to be rich, if you want to stop worrying about money, and if you want to provide more for your family this book will motivate you.

This book was very motivating for my husband and me. I did not ask him to read it, but when he saw it he had to read it too. It was a race each night after putting the kids to bed to see who could get the book first. I eventually gave up on reading it until he was done. It was worth the wait though. It is a fast read, has great advice and will give you the kick you need to change your life.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Rebecca E. profile image

      Rebecca E. 

      7 years ago from Canada

      well done, I found that book as well in teh library and I did like his style.

    • profile image

      funky23 

      7 years ago from Deutschland

      thx your article is interesting

    • GL Bell profile image

      GL Bell 

      8 years ago from Monterey, CA

      Great review! Over the years I have found many people stuck in the never ending cycle of 'Broke-ness' Looks like a good read!

    • profile image

      kristen 

      10 years ago

      DH and I love Larry and miss his show on A & E!

    • Create Your Dream profile image

      Mary Gallagher 

      10 years ago from Folsom

      Well, Jennifer, the library idea has paid off! I had to request it to be sent to me from another library, but got the book yesterday and am moving through it quickly.

      Thanks for the great idea. So, now I am doing something different from what I've always done! And more to come! Thanks for the good idea to use all the great resources in our society that allow us to live a better life at less cost.

      Best, Mary G.

    • vitallywell profile image

      vitallywell 

      10 years ago from Bloomington, MN

      Everybody is responsible for where they are financially. You are either willing to do what it takes or whining.

    • Create Your Dream profile image

      Mary Gallagher 

      10 years ago from Folsom

      Wow, your library is on top of it! Excellent idea, doing a local library search now! Best, Mary

    • babybrownfox profile image

      babybrownfox 

      10 years ago

      This great book. worth time to read.. My father always told me that life has to move on, don't just move around and around. Take a direction for a better future..

    • Jennifer profile imageAUTHOR

      Jennifer 

      10 years ago

      I absolutely borrowed this from the library! There aren't many books I buy.

    • The Phantom Blot profile image

      The Phantom Blot 

      10 years ago

      So, did you buy this book or get it from a library then?

    • Create Your Dream profile image

      Mary Gallagher 

      10 years ago from Folsom

      Thanks for your review, Jennifer. Another person I greatly admire, Leo Quinn, who teaches about the practical ways to pay bills, save and get free of debt in his ebook, How to Own Your Paycheck Again, also highly recommended this book. Since I am on a "Use what you already have in your learning library before investing in another self-development product" kick, I am putting this on the Waiting List for my next Amazon Gift Ceritficate purchase!

      Again, Thanks for confirming I am on the right track...

      All the Best,

      Mary Gallagher

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)