ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Personal Finance»
  • Frugal Living»
  • Household Expenses

Electric Providers in Austin, Texas Areas

Updated on April 17, 2017

Welcome Home

Congratulations on your new home! There are a lot of things to take care of now but first, you’ll need to set up utilities. After all, you can't unpack in the dark.

So, who do you call for electric, water, sewer, trash, cable, and internet? Not to worry, you've got choices (in most cases).

Within the City of Austin, residents will set up service through Austin Energy or City of Austin. However, if you have purchased a home outside of Travis County, it’s good to know that you may now be part of an unregulated area, which means you can choose who you want for electric service. For example, if you live in Round Rock, Hutto, Pflugerville, or Cedar Park, you can compare rates and then select an electric provider that best suits your needs.

Power to Choose

Power to Choose is a great website for comparing multiple electric providers that service in unregulated areas. Visit www.PowertoChoose.org to learn more about your options but here are the most popular electric providers for those unregulated areas.

Source

Electric Providers

If you are a resident of Round Rock, Hutto, Pflugerville, or other surrounding Austin areas, you may have a choice in the electric provider you select for service in your new place.

Ambit Energy | ambitenergy.electric.com | 877-672-5405

Amigo Energy | amigoenergy.com | 877-668-2640

Austin Energy | austinenergy.com | 512-494-9400

Bartlett Electric Co-op | bartlettec.coop | 254-527-3551

Bluebonnet Electric | bluebonnetelectric.coop | 512-272-4690

Bounce Energy | bounceenergy.com | 888-452-6862

CenterPoint Energy | centerpointenergy.com | 800-427-7142

City of Austin | coautilities.com | 512-494-9400

City of Georgetown | gus.georgetown.org | 512-930-3640

City of Round Rock | roundrocktexas.gov | 512-218-5460

Direct Energy | directenergy.com | 855-461-1926

Just Energy | justenergy.com | 800-451-1668

Pedernales Elec | pec.coop | 844-886-9798

Reliant Energy | reliant.com | 866-222-7100

TXU | txu.com | 800-818-6132

Water Companies

For the most part, water is serviced by your water district. Choosing a water provider is not common as your address will be serviced by a specific company.

Austin Energy | austinenergy.com | 512-494-9400

Brushy Creek MUD | brushycreekmud.com | 512-255-7871

Chisholm Trail SUD | ctsud.org | 254-793-3103

City of Austin | coautilities.com | 512-494-9400

City of Cedar Park | cedarparktexas.gov | 512-401-5300

City of Georgetown | georgetown.org | 512-930-3555

City of Jonestown | jonestown.org | 512-267-3243

City of Leander | leandertx.gov | 512-259-1142

City of Pflugerville | pflugervilletx.gov | 512-990-6100

City of Round Rock | roundrocktexas.gov | 512-218-5460

Hurst Creek MUD | hurstcreekmud.org | 512-261-6281

Jarrell-Schwertner Water | jswatersupply.com | 512-746-2114

Jonah Water SUD | jonahwater.com | 512-759-1286

Lago Vista City | lagovistatexas.org | 512-267-1155

Lakeway MUD | lakewaymud.org | 512-261-6222

Manville Water | manvillewsc.org | 512-856-2488

Point Venture WCID | vopv.org | 512-267-1641

Southwest Water Areas | swwc.com | 866-654-7992

Cable, Internet, & Satellite Providers

Though choices are limited in the Austin area, you do have a few options available for cable service, internet service, and satellite service.

AT&T DISH Network | godish.com | 866-582-7666

Century Link | centurylink.net | 877-837-5738

Direct TV | directtv.com | 800-531-5000

Grande Communications | mygrande.com | 512-220-4600

SuddenLink | suddenlink.com | 877-794-2724

Time Warner (now Spectrum) | timewarnercable.com | 800-892-4357

Verizon | Verizon.com | 800-837-4966

Source

Gas Companies

When it comes to setting up gas or propane services, here are the top Austin companies.

Atmos Energy | atmosenergy.com | 888-286-6700

CenterPoint Energy | centerpointenergy.com | 800-427-7142

Ferrell Gas | ferrellgas.com | 888-337-7355

TXU Energy | txu.com | 800-818-6132

Texas Gas Service | texasgasservice.com | 800-700-2443

Texas Community Propane | texascommunitypropane.com | 512-272-5503

Who is Your Favorite Electric Provider?

See results

Was This Info Helpful?

5 stars for Utility Company Options in Austin Area

Disclaimer

The information provided here is public information that has been compiled by Sydney Spence. Information is subject to change. Spence does not earn commission on any referenced provider.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    Click to Rate This Article