ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Personal Finance Website Review - The Motley Fool

Updated on July 19, 2009

Have you heard of The Motley Fool? Or fools really, two brothers David and Tom Gardner started a finance business in 1993. In fact one of the first financial books I ever read way by The Motley Fools. In the past sixteen years they have become some of the most well known finance gurus. Their website Fool.com has just about everything a person could be interested in, with the exception of frugal living.  Their tag line is "The World's Greatest Investment Community."

The Gardner brothers have written numerous books and have a weekly newspaper column as well. They have newsletters, the website with an amazing number of great articles, and forums where you can get help with any question involving personal finance. The website has sections on investing, personal finance, retirement, and the forums. I do find their website heavy on the investing side of things. This doesn't apply to me so much, but it does apply to many people out there and it isn't the only thing covered by any stretch of the imagination.

The personal finance section is divided into sections of saving and spending, credit and debit, home and real estate, death and taxes, and Mint personal finance. Each section has numerous articles with tons of information about each topic. The retirement section has sections on IRAs, 401ks, and asset allocation. The investing section is the largest and is divided into ten parts; basics, brokers, ETFs, options, small cap, dividends and income, high growth, value, mutual funds, and international. Didn't I say it was heavy on the investing?

I have read several of their books, but it has been years. A couple of weeks ago, I came home with another book. I read almost the whole thing, but found that most of it didn't apply to me. We don't really invest other than the school retirement program. Also, I found that I disagreed with some of what they had to say. In fact, they believe opposite of some of the things I believe in; mainly frugal living. The Motley Fool pretty much says not to sweat the small stuff and just concentrate on the big things.

Think about it though, how many times does something big happen to you? How many times does something small happen to you? Big purchases and decisions typically only happen a handful of times and if you can save a few thousand on the big stuff great. But if you don't think the small stuff matters, you are wrong. Think of all the small purchases you make in a week. Dozens typically, maybe even upwards of a hundred dollars. If you can save even two dollars per decision or purchase, that adds up to almost $200 in one week, or $800 a month. Yet they say the small stuff doesn't matter.

That complaint being covered though, it is really the only complaint I have. They know there stuff and their website covers just about everything you ever wanted to know about all sorts of financial areas. There are calculators galore and the forums are an incredibly knowledgeable and friendly place to visit. I have learned over the years that a person should not follow any one financial expert completely. There are so many out there and each person's situation is different. What has worked for me is to read many books on personal finance and frugal living and pick and choose the things that interest me or will work for me. At different times in my life I will find different things that will work.

I do think that The Motley Fool, their books, website and newsletters, have a lot to offer. Whether you are struggling to pay the bills or have money coming out of your ears, you will benefit from the Gardener brothers. If you haven't checked out their site yet, now is the time. They will help you get control of your finances.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      comp command 

      8 years ago

      Really useful Hub. It's like i read a article from Forbes magazine.

    • profile image

      john 

      8 years ago

      I used to hate when we would have the investment people in at work. They would talk to the guys on the floor about investing even $10,000. . convert euros to pounds .I would always talk to them afterward to remind them that they were talking to people that were working paycheck to paycheck, they should focus instead on how much they could have in the long run if they invested even $5.00 a paycheck

    • Neil Ashworth profile image

      George Poe 

      8 years ago from United Kingdom

      Good hub.

    • profile image

      ipodmovies 

      8 years ago

      I followed their stock picks for a little while. I dont think it is anything special. There are many other independent research firms that do a lot better.

    • Hmrjmr1 profile image

      Hmrjmr1 

      8 years ago from Georgia, USA

      I concur with the review above by steadyhubs, You get good thinking from them and like all advice, but especially financial, you have to determine if it's best for you to take it. Great Hub..

    • SteadyHubs profile image

      SteadyHubs 

      9 years ago from Georgia, USA

      Like you, I was first introduced into the world of finance through the "Fools". Also like you, I don't fully agree or fully follow everything they lay out (call it "guru-phobia" or something), but I do believe that they offer some decent investing principles. Good, balanced review.

    • JYOTI KOTHARI profile image

      Jyoti Kothari 

      9 years ago from Jaipur

      Excellent hub. all info about investment. I rated it up1

      Jyoti Kothari

    • profile image

      Dawn 

      9 years ago

      I used to hate when we would have the investment people in at work. They would talk to the guys on the floor about investing even $10,000. . .I would always talk to them afterward to remind them that they were talking to people that were working paycheck to paycheck, they should focus instead on how much they could have in the long run if they invested even $5.00 a paycheck.

      I agree with you that the small things make a big difference.

    • barryrutherford profile image

      Barry Rutherford 

      9 years ago from Queensland Australia

      me too !

    • wesleycox profile image

      wesleycox 

      9 years ago from Back in Texas, at least until August 2012

      This was an interesting hub. I am going to check out the fools. Sounds like their book covers alot of the basics

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)